We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again on our next trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
UpstateNY
1 review
“Will stay here again on our next trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed in the Marseille Hotel on a business trip for meetings in downtown Miami. It
was worth the drive to stay at this hotel on south beach. The staff was very cooperative with our special requests. You could tell that they were anxious to go the extra mile as we are a challenging group (see Juan or Rose ,she was extra sweet.) Our rooms were just fine, well furnished and .not too small like many in the area. My bed was terrific, like a foam type, in one of the Jr suites. Good idea to ask for these Jr. suites as the extra cost was minimal . Had a nice break and the end of each working day at the pool bar,grill. Fun loving attendant and group there. P.S. Do not miss the outdoor breakfast.Way above average. Hallways need carpet replacement which they say is coming soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    225
    140
    99
    100
See reviews for
165
196
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We reserved a king bed with an ocean view only to find two doubles with an ocean view. The staff changed our room immediately with no problem.
The hotel does have a distinct odor and the walls are very thin, so we heard everything going on around us, and the bed was uncomfortable. The dj's at the pool turned a lovely spot into a disaster for someone who wanted to relax and soak up some sun.
The parking situation deserves mentioning - it is $25 a night a block and a half away - and they share a lot with another hotel or apartment building. Unfortunately we went to park after being out and found people not registered at the hotel using the lot, so we had no where to park after paying the hotel $25 a night. The hotel staff graciously took our keys and let us park out front, and when there was a spot open they moved our car without waking us. This was wonderful.
In summary, the staff was wonderful, but the accommodations were not.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Location is very good, away from the nightly noise and, at the same time, close to everything. Rooms were clean and nice, even if we had to ask to change it, after the 2nd day, because of the noise of the laundry machines, located at the first floor. We were at 2nd floor, other hotel's roof view, we have been moved to 6th floor, ocean view.

Satifsfyed of our staying.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I stayed at Marseills Hotel for 3 nights during July 2009 while traveling with my family, total of 6.
The service was horrible, so is the smell.
Almost no one knows how to speak English, only Spanish. Prepare your self !!!
The air condition in the room could not be turned off, so we freeze at night.
There are two elevators, but is seems only one is working.

I must admit that hotel's location is great.

I would not recommend this hotel for any one !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

My friends and I traveled to the first time together and what wonderful service we received at the Hotel Marseilles. The front desk staff, cleaning staff, and conceirge were of exceptional help and attended to our every need. The best person who stood out the most was Roberto the pool attendant. He helped accomodate us in the pool, brought us fresh towels, and was very helpful in telling us where to visit at the local hot spots. I would definately come back to see his smiling face once again.

Yours truly,

Raquel Colon

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

When we first arrived I lost my baggage and I was very upset and a gentleman named Orlando greeted me with a perfect smile and very warm as well as welcoming. I then went to check in and there was a man named TIGER who was totally amazing with our room details as well as our request. If i ever were to stay in Miami again I would stay here at this hotel. It's amazing. The staff is friendly and hospitable and totally AMAZING. I give it 6 stars out of 5....get my drift.... :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Asst. General Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2009
We are happy to know our employees and our service are making an imact on the lives and stays of our guests. Both Tiger and Orlando have that passion for hospitality, and we are happy to know our guests are experiencing that! Thanks for letting the world know how important our guests are to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

On Friday and Saturday June 13,14 stayed at hotel next door. Had to put up with so called dj that is you hired you wasted your money. If the purpose of the dj is to entertain the people that are staying at the hotel I believe he failed. If the purpose was to bring in outsiders than he did that. Friday afternoon about 4:30 2 females had a disagreement and a fight broke out. They were from the beach not your hotel. No security broke them up and only one boy stepped in after awhile to escort them away. On Saturday night a young lady was found passed out in the grove behind your hotel, again no security present. A man and woman staying at the same hotel I was from New Jersey helped her to her hotel, which was 2 blocks down the street. Back to the dj his music was not very diverse and did not appeal to everyone, but for a city with so many good dj's he wouldn't hold a candle to many.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.