We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small beds, good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, small beds, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a double room with two double beds for us (2 adults, 2 kids), but when entering the room, the beds were so small that even the two kids in one bed was very uncomfortable. After a night without any sleep (you can imagine how my husband and I slept in that small bed), I asked the front desk to give us bigger beds, or an extra bed for one of the children. They responded positive and got us a bigger room, so they were able to place one extra bed for one child. Disadvantage was that this room was at the front of the hotel, and due to the airco being constructed in the window, with gaps in between, we could hear every sound loud and clear. Restaurants are across the street, with live music until midnight, so pretty noisy. The sound of the airco tempered it somewhat, but imagine the sound of the airco. But they helped us, so no complaints about that. Parking your car with valid is very expensive, 35$ per day.
The pool and the garden area were reconstructed, and looks very nice. Even though the garden area with the small 'spa' pools were not finished yet, it will be very pretty once finished.
The location is great, just walk to Collins avenue and the boulevard, there are plenty of restaurants and many great cars to watch.
Free drinks at Happy hour 7-8pm, just 1$ tip per drink.
Breakfast is not so good, better to go across the street, great breakfast there. Wifi was broken for a full day, they fixed it only in the evening.
All in all, a happy customer

Room Tip: at the front you have lots of steet noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing Hotel Marseilles. It was a pleasure to have your family as our guests. I am glad to see that we were able to get you a more spacious room with an extra bed. Indeed, we are in a prime South Beach location with steps away to many great restaurants, bars, and locations to see beautiful cars and people. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again on your next trip to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    287
    189
    112
    116
See reviews for
217
238
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, good service, , friendly staff, located in the middle of all the action, walking distance to SOBE and Lincoln Rd , shops and restaurants everywhere , try to get room in the 7. 8 or 9 floor great view of the ocean!! Do not pay the $39 p/d parking in the hotel, the hotel allows u to unload yr luggage and then 2 blocks away there are 2 parking lots that only charges $16 per day.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and mentioning our friendly staff. We are happy that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our prime South Beach location. Yes, the beach access is just steps away, as is exciting nightlife, restaurants and many local points of interest. Heartfelt thanks for the great review. It was our pleasure to have you and we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a fun boutique hotel near lots of action. The lobby is beautiful, as is the pool and lawn area. Very sleek and modern. The jacuzzi renovation is almost complete. It was so relaxing laying in the hammocks and walking on the beach. Definitely take advantage of the free drinks at happy hour (plus $1/drink tip). Billiards table is fun entertainment. Front desk representatives are always welcoming and helpful.

While I realize the building is from a previous era, and is therefore, not going to be perfect, you might want to pack a bottle of mildew be gone and some plastic flip-flops. The bathroom has been remodeled, but there is a fair amount of mildew, so wearing your flip-flops in the shower will help. You might want to spray the bathroom down with the mildew be gone when you arrive, then venture out on Collins Street for some people watching, while it cleans up the ick.

It looks like the carpet has been replaced not too long ago, but for some reason, is already dingy and stained. The beds are comfortable. The window air conditioner unit droned on noisily all night, but in a way, that was beneficial, because it dampened the honking and other street noise which went on until 2:00am for weekend night (12:00am for week night).

Our room did not have a mini-fridge, so we transformed our ice bucket to accommodate a couple of beverages. If you want midnight snacks, be sure to bring them with you, as we didn't see a vending machine on the premises.

Overall, our two days/nights were fun...happy hour, pool, beach, billiards.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, and your generous comments about our lobby, pool and the relaxing modern beach access area. You may need flip flops for the hot beach sand, however there should not be a reason to need them in our renovated bathrooms. I wish any such described issue would have been brought up to the management’s attention so that we could check the situation and correct any such inconsistency. Our property uses hypoallergenic, organic and natural product made from essential oils which kill mildew while providing respiratory benefits. The product does not sound like much until one see’s it in action. Should Mildew ever make an appearance we have a well trained staff which includes a young and enthusiastic mildew remediation team ready to obliterate any first signs of mildew foolish to show itself using the latest EPA approved equipment and techniques.
We are glad that overall you had a fun stay while in our prime beach location. We hope we’ll be able to welcome you back in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Three of my college girlfriends and I stayed at the Marseilles Hotel for a mini-college reunion. The price was good, for Miami Beach standards. Also, it was Valentine's weekend and Boat Show weekend, so it was difficult to find a 3-4 star hotel for a decent price. The rooms were bigger than we expected and very clean. We stayed in a room that had an inner room with a separate queen sized bed, so we all were very comfortable. The view was non-existent, but that didn't bother us much. The pool area was nice and a short walk to the beach. We had drinks at the pool...a bit pricey, but the bartender had a heavy hand, so I can't complain. The Happy Hour in the evening was nice too...free wine and simple drinks. The front desk staff was not friendly, but other staff members were nice enough. Overall, the for the price, the hotel was nice enough.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your time to post the review. You’re right, Boat show weekend and Valentine’s day are still considered to be inside the peak of high season in south Florida and some of the busiest times for the hotels. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay in a spacious room and that you have enjoyed our happy hour and amenities. We are putting finishing touches on the brand new cabana area along with the outdoor bar, so when you visit us next time I’m sure we will have an opportunity to “wow” you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We have selected this Hotel for price and location and stayed for one week. In that perspective it completely matched our expectations. The rooms were not super luxury, but were more than appropriate. It's very close to Lincoln (a main shopping and restaurant area) and the beach is just a few steps out of the door. The fantastic and newly designed and built pool just opened when we arrived. All of this and the great experience with the very friendly stuff makes it easy to return to that Hotel for our next Miami Beach visit.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. Indeed, we are in the heart of all the action on South Beach. Just a few steps to the beach, restaurants, bars and beautiful pedestrian zones. I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed our brand new redesigned pool area. Many improvements and changes are yet to come. Thank you for choosing Hotel Marseilles and I hope you will visit us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

total disappointment.. asked for a oceanview got the view of the next dirty hotel with the slightes t view of the ocean and got to see the whole pool renovation.. terrible I was told that was ocean view..had to use the sister hotel for pool .... no parking in the hotel had to park 2 blocks away, though the rooms were clean I didnt like the hallways reminded me of a dingy Manahattan hotel on the plus side the location was great but there are so many hotels in the area

Room Tip: if you want ocean view stress it before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2015
Thank you for the review. Foremost, I want to apologize that the swimming pool was not available. I see that you have stayed in January, and indeed, during that time our pool and back of the house was going through a multi-million dollar makeover. We are putting finishing touches to the beautiful new cabanas, however our pool is open and looks incredible. Our friendly front office staff always love to provide upgrades and best possible views to our guests; however it is something that is offered based on availability. I hope you will visit us again and try out our brand new pool and all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I loved the location of the hotel, right off the beach. The staff was very polite and accomodating. That was the good. The room however was average at best. We had a room that faced Collins street and not the view we wanted. The worst part was our neighbors next to our room. There was a group of women that must of been in a couple rooms. They were going back and forth all night and the doors would slam and shake our walls. It was so loud which made me realize these walls were paper thin. The room was clean but the AC was not working. So we were sweating in our sleep since it was 90+ degrees that day. That alone is reason to avoid this hotel. I sent them a similar review directly to them and have not heard anything back. Not that I am expecting anything but a simple apology would have been more than suffice. This place is probably cheaper than others, but there is a reason.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2015
Thank you for the review, as it provides us with valuable feedback. Please accept my apology for the disappointments you experienced during your recent stay at Hotel Marseilles. We work hard at pleasing our guests and most of the times we’re successful. However; there are those moments when things simply can go wrong- all at the same time. Bad traffic, noisy neighbors, and a record breaking temperature for a Spring day. We take any noise complaints very seriously and we have an all night security presence patrolling all floors at night. I wish this was reported right away, so the noise and the AC issue described would be taken care of promptly. Our AC was inspected less than a week ago by certified technicians, and no anomalies have been reported. Once again, I apologize for the disappointment and thank you for choosing Hotel Marseilles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#104 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#145 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#124 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#69 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#80 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.