We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One and done” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One and done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here about a year ago before I knew about this site. It was the first time I stayed in Miami Beach and got a good package deal on one of the travel site. I read the reviews and saw about the construction that they were doing and figured that I would try it. The construction wasn't bad until bout 9am then it could wake you up. We had a renovated room and it was nice. the shower was big and bed was comfortable. There were a lot of partiers staying at the hotel and it could get loud when all the clubs closed and they came back. My girlfriend and I are not partiers and would be in bed at 2am. The breakfast was not good and the valet parking that they had with another hotel was terrible. If your gonna party and not be in til late then go to this hotel also a family let there child scream every morning at 7am.

Room Tip: Don't let the good deal sway you. keep searching unless you don't mind the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Miami Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. I would like to apologize about the inconvenience with the noise that you encountered. Also, I would like to add that we have self parking here at our hotel. We give all of our guests multiple options to choose from in regards to parking and valet at the hotel next door is one of the options. It is unfortunate that you have a "one and done" attitude towards our hotel as we would like to make up for your last stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    229
    144
    100
    101
See reviews for
168
201
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Marseilles hotel for 1 night. I had a good size room with a very comfortable bed . Aircon worked perfectly well, power shower and bathroom area clean and modern. If that’s what you need from a hotel then stay at the Marseilles.

The reason I wont stay here again is that it doesn’t offer the “Miami south beach hotel experience” the lobby is tired and boring there is a small area where you check in but no concierge services. This hotel is surrounded by landmark hotels such as the Raleigh, the SLS and the Betsy grab a coffee at anyone of these hotels and you will see what the Marseilles hotel is missing.

During my stay the lift system was broken with only 1 lift working for the whole hotel. This meant it took me 15 minutes to get from the 4th to ground floor .

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Miami Beach. We appreciate all the nice things you said about our hotel. As far as the lobby being boring, we just newly renovated the entire lobby front desk and the lobby bar that consists of a happy hour every day that is anything but boring. Regarding the lift situation, we were in the process of renovating the inside of both lifts. One was already finished however the other was being worked on. We apologize for the inconvenience but we are doing our best to make our hotel spectacular for you. Thanks again for staying with us.

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We, 3 adults , stayed at the Marseilles Hotel on Collins Ave., Aug. 16-23 for 7-nts. in a Superior DBL/DBL P.O.V RM. #505. The Hotel was getting a new front desk area that week, which actually will add a nice touch. Room was ready when we arrived around 230pm. The room, #505, looked like it was freshly renovated. New window treatments,new bedding, comfy beds, flat screen t.v., modern upgraded bathroom. The room was on the small side, as was the bathroom. This is an Art Deco Hotel ,so the rooms are usually smaller than hotels nowadays. A few points with the room: No Ventilation in this bathroom. No fan/exhaust and the window didn't open. Got VERY humid/steamy esp. with 3 adults sharing the accommodation, but we managed. The wall-to-wall carpet needs to be ripped out! Why are there still hotels in warm/humid climates that INSIST on using wall-to-wall in the rooms? A tile floor MUST be easier to keep clean ( hello beach sand!) and I would think guests would prefer tile. Thank God there was no moldy smell, but the carpet was stained in some areas. Now the A/C....well this was running a little warmer than we would have liked. We had the "engineer" come and take a look at it and whatever he did made it a bit cooler but surely not enough for the 90 deg. temps outside last week. We managed once again. Rm. #505 is directly across from the ONLY ICE MACHINE (so we were told) in the Hotel, so it was quite noisy at times. It probably wouldn't have been so bad if the door to the room didn't have a louvered panel on the lower part of the door which we found BIZZARE. You could hear EVERYTHING going on in the hallway, but again, we managed. Yes, the POOL is non-existent. The beachside area of the Hotel is all dug up. I am sure it will be AWESOME when it is done. In the meantime, you have access to the SOUTH SEAS hotel's pool right next door, which is very nice and access to the GORGEOUS BEACH with TOWELS/PADDED BEACH LOUNGES (red ones are best!)/UMBRELLAS included for hotel guests with your beach cards that you get every day at the front desk along with pool access wristbands.
We enjoyed the FREE HAPPY HOUR in the LOBBY BAR nightly between 7p-8p. All you need to do is tip $1 per drink. Yeah, it's House Brand Liquor, not Call, but you can get a discount on Top Shelf booze/Beer if you want. The 2 bartenders, ASHLEY & SARA, are both sweethearts and GREAT mixologists! Thanks Girlz! :) Oh yeah, just a tip...you should have some munchies on the bar during HAPPY HOUR. Popcorn/Pretzels. Nothing fancy.:)
Our overall stay was very nice and we all said we would definitely stay @ Marseilles again in the future. The LOCATION is PERFECT for SOBE and central to all the sights. You can walk to everything. Once the POOL AREA is done, the hotel will be AWESOME!
Thanks for a nice stay! :)

Room Tip: higher floor rooms have better ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at the marseilles for 3 nights in Feb 2014 - the hotel is fairly dated and worn. Rooms need some new paint and updating. Staff was friendly and hotel is on the beach. However, the pool area was being renovated and so the whole back side was blocked and you had to walk through a neighboring hotel to get to the beach. So, really, it did not feel like it was on the beach. Because the back was closed, b-fast was at the front which was quite noisy with the street right there. Overall, I think there's other options and we probably won't be back and I would recommend against, at least until the pool area has been finished. Even then, the hotel felt worn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Miami Beach. We apologize that your stay with us was unsatisfactory and we appreciate your feedback as we look to improve in the areas you noted. Our pool being under construction can be a disappointment to our guests and we appreciate your cooperation while we try to make the guest experience better. We hope you change your mind and give another try in the future.

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed one night at Marseilles at the beginning of Aug 2014. The check-in went smoothly and the staff very polite and friendly. We stayed in a jacuzzi room which was lovely, cool and clean. The pool is under construction but we were encouraged to use the pool next door and we had free chairs and an unbrella at the beach, it was perfect. The hotel has the perfect location: walking distance to Lincoln Rd and Ocean Ave. The best surprise was the food at the hotel cafe was delicious! Great prices and excellent food quality! Thank you for a great stay, we're looking forward to coming back to the Marseilles!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

If you are thinking about booking this hotel..run away unless you like to be robbed and sleep with cockroaches!
We found few cockroaches in the room,which is pretty disgusting if u think about the fact that the are used to hide into beds. After this issue the hotel proposed us a refund of 200$ and they moved us into another room at the 2nd floor that was ok we haven't found any other palmetto bugs. During the tranfer to the other room,the security guy told us to leave our luggages open in the old room cause cockroaches were might hiding iside..during that night somebody stole from our luggagages items for 1500$. So basicly we paid 1300$ + 1500$.
After speaking with the front desk many many many time,we got to speak with the manager(aron) he told us they have no proof that those items have been stolen by a member of the staff of the hotel. So from his point of view they just magically disappear!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Miami Beach. We are extremely sorry about all the inconveniences you may have had while staying with us. Palmetto bugs are very indigenous to our area and sometimes find a way inside the hotel. We are very sorry that you had to encounter one but also glad we could change your room as soon as the issue came about. Now as far as the missing items from your room are concerned, we have surveillance throughout the entire hotel. While we conducted our own investigation, we found no evidence concluding that anything was stolen from your room.

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I would still recommend this hotel because of the location. It is in South Beach on Collins, beach front,close to Lincoln(shopping,food,Walgreens etc.), and the Art Deco Ocean Drive area. The pool is under construction(until October 2014) so you have to go to the hotel next door and use their pool. You do get free beach chairs and umbrella. We stayed in room 803 good and bad. It is a corner room and one small flight up to the roof. Not much on the roof but view is great. Room was clean and updated and I think bigger because it was on the corner. You could see the beach and street from the corner windows. Water pressure and temp was not that great but doable. Walls are thin I could hear my husband talking from the elevator and our rooms door was closed. I got a great deal on the price of the room so I was happy at the end of my stay with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.