We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not half as bad as the reviews say” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not half as bad as the reviews say”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at Marseilles hotel in Miami one night Mar 3-4, 2014 and had two rooms there. We were expecting the worst after reading the reviews - and maybe that made us excessively pleasantly surprised.
The service was wonderful. Everyone was helpful and cheerful. Yes there's construction and no access to the pool on the property but they give you access to all the amenities of the hotel next door - which is like a 30 second walk. Like if this was a bigger hotel, the walk to the pool would be longer than it is now to the hotel next door. The pool was awesome and the beach was fantastic. You get two chairs and an umbrella per room.

If you're expecting a five star hotel, maybe you'll find the carpets a bit old but really, for that price and location, this hotel is amazing.

Would totally stay here again!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I wanted to thank you for sharing your impression of your stay at the Marseilles Hotel. I couldn't be more pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your recent visit. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service the satisfaction of our guests is incredibly important to us all. I appreciate your mentioning for review reader that our temporary pool accommodations were convenient for you.

Also, I'm happy to report that we're already looking at new carpeting for the hallways.

Thanks again for staying with us and especially for taking the time so send in your thoughts. We hope to see you again when our beautiful new pool and cabana area is open.

Best Regards,
Chris Gorgoni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    282
    184
    111
    115
See reviews for
209
237
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked this directly with the hotel in October last year and were never advised that the pool was being renovated during our stay. We only found out via trip advisor and by that time it was too late to get a better deal.
However saying that we found our stay adequate, not exceptional.
We had a two bed room opposite the lifts which was very noisy during the night, also all the doors slammed and we had disturbed sleep every night either doors slamming or people shouting and banging on doors when they came in at 5am.
The lack of outside sitting space was disappointing it would have been nice to sit outside in the early evening but we were told we could only use the hotel pool area next door up to 6pm.
We used the pool next door and the beach which we found to be OK .
The room was clean and looked out to the next door hotel wall.
The window did not open and there was no ventilation in the bathroom which was rather uncomfortable as it was about 5 feet square and steamed up very quickly.
A coffee maker was provided which was appreciated.
We thought it was probably value for money as South Beach is very expensive, but don't expect anything more than basic.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs and ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Marseilles Hotel. We appreciate your patronage and your feedback.

We're keenly aware of the inconveniences posed to our guests by the renovation of our pool area. As you know, we have partnered with the hotel next door to provide our guests with pool and beach access while our rebuild is underway, but I certainly understand the inconvenience. I sincerely apologize that you did not receive advanced notice of the situation prior to your booking and stay.

I've made note of your comments about bathroom ventilation and hallway noise. The safety of our guests is among our highest ongoing concerns. Being a family friendly hotel, and having many families with children regularly staying with us, heavily influenced our decision to secure guest room windows.

I'm glad to hear your enjoyed your stay, that you found your accommodations clean/comfortable, and that you felt as though your stay was a good value. Thanks again for your comments. I hope you'll visit us again when our beautiful new pool area is complete and that you'll find your next stay with us nothing less than exceptional.

Sincerely,
Chris Gorgoni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed for business in February. The hotel is average. The pool area was under construction...and they charged for the facilities (extra). The service for breakfast was non-existent. The room windows do not open, and they should for the age and location of the hotel. The location is the only saving grace for this flophouse in South Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent stay and especially for your feedback. We are working hard to complete the renovations of what will be our beautiful new pool and cabana area. In the meantime, we're accommodating our guests with pool and beach access through a partnership with the neighboring hotel. The Resort Fee covers a number of amenities, including free passes for 2 beach lounges and umbrella (a $35 value), Wi-Fi, happy hour in the lobby bar, use of the business center computer/printer, and unlimited local calls. I apologize if it wasn't made clear for you all that was included in the charge as well as the inconvenience presented by our property improvement project.

Although it's an inconvenience for guests our that would like to enjoy the beach air, the windows in our guest rooms are secured to ensure the safety of our guests-- one of our highest priorities.

Needless to say, when a guest elects to use the word "flophouse" to describe our hotel, it prompts my complete attention and desire to know how we could be doing better. I would love for you to contact me at guestservices@gomiamibeach.com with more details on where we missed the mark for you, and how we might improve our services for a future stay.

Thanks again for your comments and honesty; they're both valuable and appreciated.

Best Regards,
Chris Gorgoni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked on line at Hotels.com. Beautiful pictures i must say.
paid a premium for valentines day week end. unfortunatly no one told us pool has been empty for several weeks and was undercontruction.
back of property was in such disrepair you have to go to an adjecent hotel to access beach!
not funny, no apologies made and no compensation offered.
i got royally screwed. dont let it happen to you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize that information regarding our pool renovations was not made available to you prior to booking your stay with us. While we are partnering with our neighboring hotel to offer our guests pool and beach access until the construction of is complete, I can certainly understand how not knowing about the situation before your arrival must have been disappointing, to say the least.

We provide all third party booking sites with information/updates regarding the pool renovation and timing. After reading your review, I double-checked the information that Hotels.com provides for our hotel and confirmed -- you are absolutely right.

I've sent a message to our internal offices so they can request that Hotels.com make the necessary clarifications. The notice is published on our hotel website and even though the information posted by other sites about our hotel is not 100% within our ability to control, I am sincerely sorry that you were not made aware of the pool construction before you checked in.

I hope you'll come visit again once the construction is done and let us wow you with what will be our beautiful new pool and cabana area.

Best Regards,
Chris Gorgoni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location right behind the beach but it's more of a 2 star not 4...way over priced, we paid over 260 for this place not worth 100. If you can get it for cheap price it's fine but don't waste 260 for it, much nicer hotels for less on beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Though you were pleased with our location, I'm sorry to hear that you were generally displeased with your recent stay. I would love to hear more about your stay and what you feel we could be doing better. If you have some time, please feel free to contact me at guestservices@gomiamibeach.com. I'd love to hear your thoughts on what how we could better meet or exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Chris Gorgoni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel's pool, workout room and other areas of the hotel are under construction and they still have the audacity to charge a $16.50 facilities fee. When I complained about this they mentioned that I could use the pool next door and the workout facility at another hotel two blocks away.
Nice location with okay rooms but they have little idea of what service means.
Somewhere between POOR and AVERAGE is about how I'd rate this place,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is on prime real estate with access to beach. At the time the beach access and the restaurant was closed - which I found out only after making reservation coming to check-in. The parking is $35/day, without valet service, one block away (self service as long as there is spot - open air parking). There was one person behind the front desk to take care of all check-ins, check-outs and complaints. Originally the reservation was not confirmed because on Sun afternoon, staff is not available.. so I lost 30 mins of day just standing in line. From the pictures, bathroom, etc seems upscale, but it is old hotel, maintained by minimum number of people. I got on the beach through hotel next by and saw single worker who was sleeping in reconstruction beach access.. Never again. I could understand the reconstruction but under different circumstances. And yes elevators are dirty, it seems like party hotel living on its own. As a cherry on top I made reservation to ocean front, and the room was not available, looking at dirty narrow alley, echoing all street noise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback about your recent stay with us. At the Marseilles Hotel, it's important to me that all of our guests have a pleasant and enjoyable stay and I'm very sorry to hear that you were left disappointed with your room and overall guest experience.

We've published alerts about the renovations on our website and and with our various booking affiliates and agencies. I certainly understand how the pool area reconstruction can be an inconvenience. For that reason, we've partnered with our neighboring hotel in order to provide pool and beach access while we finish what will be our new and beautiful pool / cabana areas.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to send in your thoughts. I will certainly keep them in mind as we go forward. If you're ever in the South Beach area again, I hope you'll stop by and check out the new pool area once it's completed. I would love another opportunity to "wow" you with our service and accommodations.

Best Regards,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.