We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNDER CONSTRUCTION!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“UNDER CONSTRUCTION!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Here now for a business trip and came a day early to relax by the pool and on the beach. Well, that's not happening! They don't bother to tell you when you make your reservation or even when you check in that the pool and entire area towards the beach is completely demolished! The hotel inself isn't under construction, but there is no outside access except the front patio. To get to the beach you have to go through the hotel next door or go down the street. When I booked an oceanfront hotel I assumed I'd have easy access to the beach, nope. It's a nice place and the staff is great, but be fore-warned, don't stay here if you want to do anything pool related...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank crazyinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Staff were all helpful and friendly.. Breakfast out front was good. Rates compared to other hotels in area made us choose this one, and we were happy. Don't know that I would upgrade to the "Oceanview" next time, didn't realize we would be so far from ocean, and that we were overlooking the empty pool, construction zone. Bed was comfortable, modern bathroom with shower only. No fridge or microwave, but maybe that is normal in Miami. Doors all slam shut, gets loud all evening. Like trying new places, but would definitely consider this hotel again. Thank you for a great first visit to Miami.

Room Tip: To save money, maybe skip "Oceanview" don't know that I consider it worth it for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for the weekend with my girlfriend. At first glance this hotel appears to be just like the many others in the area, plain with nothing special. Upon first entering the room we discovered they had given us a room with two double beds (due to our reservation being made with Hotwire). Not a good start to our romantic weekend in Miami. The front desk informed us that there were no more rooms with king size beds available. We just made due and pushed the two beds together. After settling in we discovered that the pool was closed for renovation, but thankfully a deal was made with the hotel next door to use theirs. Decent pool with a outdoor bar. The windows in the room were screwed shut, which I found odd since our room was only on the second floor.

Anyways, what makes this hotel special is it's prime location on Collins Avenue and the incredibly friendly restaurant staff. Especially Damien, Roberta, Wided, and Mecka. Those guys really made us feel very welcome and were exceptionally accommodating! A true asset to the hotel! I would absolutely stay in this hotel again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Worldwide293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel had a strange smell upon entering that hit you every time that you entered, ugh. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The eating area outside food not so good, staff very pleasant. Rooms were very nice, clean, no complaints. We read reviews that said pool under construction. But, then their was a review that said the construction was done and pool area was beautiful so that's why we booked it. Unfortunately that was not true. In fact no one had worked on the pool area the whole time we were there. So not sure if the construction was halted or not. If looking for south beach I would choose another hotel if you want the pool atmosphere. Otherwise for the price it was a good deal. It seems that everywhere you are at South Beach there is construction!!!

Room Tip: King size bed suite was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schwendy547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Yes, we know the hotel is going through a renovation and the pool was not available, but this is the second time we have stayed briefly at this hotel. The staff could not have been more accomodating (Julien at the front desk is great). The rooms are clean and the location of the hotel is perfect. We did have use of the hotel next door pool if we wanted, but chose just to go to the beach itself. This is our hotel of choice. Clean Rooms - Reasonable Rates - Accomadting Staff. That is not what you always get in Miami Beach hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We only stayed for one night in late December. The hotel is lovely, very clean, in excellent location and with fantastic facilities.
However, the staff at the front desk is so rude, unhelpful, and ignorant, that they seem to lack any basic service industry training.
We needed a lot of help on arrival as their car parking facilities were full, their pool was under reconstruction etc, but nobody could have been bothered to answer our questions or advise on parking options as my boyfriend was sitting in the car obstructing the busy Miami street traffic,getting the worst of looks.
The main problem being, in my opinion, that the staff could not actually speak or understand any proper English, which made it so much harder to communicate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25luciaB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spent our vacation here in Christmas week and was almost perfect. Almost because the pool was close and we didn't know when we chose this establishment. But everything else was O.K. Clean room, nice bathroom, good room service. Needs new windows by the way. If the pool will be on then will be perfect. That next time. Keep going Marseilles!

Room Tip: The parking is close with $29.00/day plus tax. Don't forget another stupid tax for Miami Beach w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Decebal-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#107 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#135 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hotel
#148 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marseilles Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing