We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but unhelpful and ignorant staff at front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Callander
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but unhelpful and ignorant staff at front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We only stayed for one night in late December. The hotel is lovely, very clean, in excellent location and with fantastic facilities.
However, the staff at the front desk is so rude, unhelpful, and ignorant, that they seem to lack any basic service industry training.
We needed a lot of help on arrival as their car parking facilities were full, their pool was under reconstruction etc, but nobody could have been bothered to answer our questions or advise on parking options as my boyfriend was sitting in the car obstructing the busy Miami street traffic,getting the worst of looks.
The main problem being, in my opinion, that the staff could not actually speak or understand any proper English, which made it so much harder to communicate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all apologize for not giving you
100% satisfaction and to thank you for taking
the time to comment on your with us.

We are however pleased that you find our property
to be a lovely Hotel that is very clean and in an
excellent location. It is customary for us to hear
great things about our staff', and we will definitely
investigate your concerns in an attemp to correct
any employee's conduct that does not meet our
high standards towards customer service.

Here at the Marseilles it's all about you. We hope
that you will give us another chance to show you
why the Maeseilles is extra special to most of our guest.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Yours,
E,. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    235
    151
    104
    104
See reviews for
173
204
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spent our vacation here in Christmas week and was almost perfect. Almost because the pool was close and we didn't know when we chose this establishment. But everything else was O.K. Clean room, nice bathroom, good room service. Needs new windows by the way. If the pool will be on then will be perfect. That next time. Keep going Marseilles!

Room Tip: The parking is close with $29.00/day plus tax. Don't forget another stupid tax for Miami Beach w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Location is phenomenal! Easy walk to Ocean Drive and shops/restaurants. Room was a nice size and had an updated bath, although not very well arranged with a window from the room into the bathroom (viewing the toilet... why bother with a door?) and the need for long arms to reach the toilet paper. I can deal with this... the problem was the whistling noise from the windows all night long! The caulking that had been done as a band aid on the problem didn't work. Replace the window. I did not sleep for the 3 nights I was there. Then the day before I left it rained all day. Water poured from the window to the floor. To notify the front desk I had to go down stairs... because the phone didn't work. Although the front desk person was quite polite and apologized (remarking that he would notify the manager) the problem was never addressed... they never offered anything to compensate for the fact that I mopped up water all day and listened to the sounds of a bad horror movie all night. Disappointing.

If they could work out the window problems and get a few other minor issues under control it would be a good, reasonably priced hotel. Didn't bother me that the pool is under construction and had to go next door to access beach and pool. Staff was pleasant, but not sure I will return due to the lack of response to what was a major issue during my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Terrific location on a small budget. Close enough to ocean drive to enjoy all the restaurants and the beach....without having to pay an arm an leg to be on Ocean Drive!
Nice view from the room and the roof...although they are not the nicest on the block. Didn't spend much time in the room however. Keep in mind these are boutique hotels and they have retained some old world looks...great value though..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for the feedback about your stay
at the Marseilles Hotel.

We are very pleased to know that you find our location
to be a great location that is close to Ocean Drive,
all restaurants, and the beach. Your comments about
the "nice view" from our property is one of the many reasons
why travelers, from all over the world, choose to stat with us.

We are very happy that you find our property to be a great value,
and we hope to see you again during your next visit to Miami Beach.

Thanks again!

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Booked a last minute trip to Miami for a girls weekend. Booked travel through Hotwire so got a good rate on the room. About the hotel, the location is awesome, in walking distance to Ocean Drive and plenty of places to eat or party. I read the reviews prior to going and I was a little hesitant. But any trip is what you make of it. The hotel is good, the service is outstanding. Julian from the front desk was very helpful. The walls are thin and the pool is under construction. But the arrangements with the property next door are fantastic. All in all, we had a good time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay.

We are very happy to know that you were pleased with our
great location and with our outstanding service.

Your feedback encourages us to the extra mile to ensure
that all our guest have a great experience while staying
with us. Here at our property, it's all about you.

Thanks again and best wishes to you during this holiday
season: hope to see you again.

Regards,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We couldn't have been happier with the services that were provided during our stay. The moment we arrived to the last second we left, your staff was superior! Everyone from your Bellman, Edward to Chris and Francesco at the Front Desk, Melissa and Nihi at your Bar area. We look forward to booking our next stay with you and enjoying the new pool!
Thanks so much to everyone at the Marseilles!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The only thing to love about this hotel is its location. Its next to some very nice hotels and its within walking distance to many bars restraunts and shopping hot spots. This hotel is undergoing heavy construction and remodleing which was never disclosed to me. They have a pathetic attempt at a bar out front which is not worth mentioning. The bartender was smoking behind the bar and blew smoke in my face like it was no big deal. There is no pool or work out room on site either. They try to send you to the hotel next door but its nothing speacial. The room was alright kind of on the small side. The bathroom was absolutley disgusting. Flies every where. I took pictures and mention this to the desk guy and all he offered to do was give me bug spray gee thanks!. Also if you stay here you better hope it does not rain. Every time it rains the street in front of the hotel and where u park your car floods. I'm talking almost to my knees one day and I'm six feet tall. They will charge you a 15.00 a day plus tax for a hidden resort fee which they do not disclose until you get to the hotel and try to check in. If you try to confront them about this fee they blame the service you used to book in my case hotwire. The fact that they charge you for aminietes that should be included is rediculous. In its current condition this is a 2 star hotel tops. They have a lot of nerve charging an extra fee when they are undergoing a massive remodel and the bars in the hotel suck. Maybe they can take that money and create a cool lounge/ bar concept. Crowd here was an older crowd and a lot of international people. Not really a good hotel for people under 50.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Let me first of all apologize for not pleasing you
in regards to your expectations. We are in the business
of pleasing our guest and always willing to go above
and beyond to ensure satisfaction.

We want you to know that we have completed our major
renovations within our lodging facility and maybe that is one
of the reasons you mentioned that your room was alright.
We are in the process of giving our guest one of the
most beautiful pool in South Beach, and in the mean time
have made provisions to meet their pool needs while
staying with us: we instruct all booking agents to disclose
this information to potential guest. Like all hotels in South
Beach, we charge for parking, and our rate is one of the
lowest in the area. As a matter of information, the entire
South Beach is at sea level, and although most of the time,
the City's Water Management Personel does an amazing
job in flood control, there're few time they are overwhelmd thus
resulting in a little flooding which does not last for long.

We do thank you for your feedback and pay close attention to
your concerns and endeavor to make necessary changes
unter our control.

We definitely would like you to stay with us again because
guest like you encourage us to be more excellent: our goal is
to please all guest.

Best wishes to you.

Yours truly,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.