We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the rate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for the rate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stay in Marseilles all the time. The pool is great you walk right on to the beach and the staff are great! Love Miami, Love Marseilles! They recently upgraded their rooms and it looks great! The lobby is also renovated with new decor and lounge areas. Great job!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Outstanding Guest:

Thank you very much for letting us and
others know about your stay.

Yes, we are excited to know that you stay with us
all the time and that you love our pool, just foot steps
away from the beach. It's definitely a pleasure to
know that you "love" our hotel. As you noted, our rooms
were recently renovated and look great.

Overall, you said we do a great job, and still yet, we always
strive to do better: it's all for you.

Thanks again,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    217
    141
    104
    98
See reviews for
149
189
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rates are great, the only bad thing is they dont let you spend money for a cot bc its a fire hazard (completely understandble). The entire vacation, we had to use the public bathroom bc ours got clogged after EVERY FLUSH!! Julienne and Pedro were awesome! Julienne was nehind the desk and he was super sweet!!! We definitely annoyed the [--] out of him im sure but he was fun! Pedro was the bellhop (I think) and he was super sweet as well!!! Even though we had a few bad things with our room, we would all still stay there again. The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach and it only takes about 15mins to walk to Ocean Dr. We will see you again next year Julienne and Pedro! Until then, enjoy the Ciroc! ;)
-Your New York Girl, Jen! xo

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to comment on you stay.
We are very happy that you think our rated are great
and that we are at a great location near the beach.

Thanks again and hope to see you during your next
visit to Miami.

Regards,
Everton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great hotel! Loved my stay and was close to ALL the excitement thats for sure! Everything was within walking distance. There was also the metrobus for only $2.35 if needed to go anywhere! Friendly staff too! I have no complaints about this hotel whatsoever! This place has been renovated too so you can forget about those negative reviews! Bed was comfy, room was clean and couldnt ask for anything better! Very impressed with it all and for being on SoBe, price was GREAT! Rosa and Julian very nice! I will most DEFINANTLY stay here again when I came back to visit SoBe from Chicago! Thanks for a great time Marseilles! I stayed Aug 22-25 2013 in 616 oceanview room! Which was spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and I can assure you that is not a hotel for families with kids. The rooms don't have refrigerator nor microwave and there's no way of getting hot water for the feeding bootle inside the hotel. We were 5 adults and a kid and occupied 2 rooms with front sight. The windows were old and rusty and there was no way of opening them.
It has no parking and they offer a garage to leave the car that is one block from there and really expensive. We had to pay 30 per day. Though that information was available in the website we thought that maybe the parking was within the hotel itself.
Also, it says it has guest laundry but it's not inside the hotel. You have to go to a near hotel... That is not a service to offer in my opinion.
The beds were comfortable. The swimming pool was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all thank you for taking the time to comment
on you stay.

We would like to apologize for not pleasing you as we do most
of our guest. Depending on the type of room you reserve, many
of our rooms come with refrigerators and micro wave. However,
upon request, we do provide mini refrigerators to our all our guest
in our economy rooms, and also provide the use of a micro wave.
In addition, we have an on site restaurant where the staff is always
willing and eager to assist in the provision of Food and Beverage
services to all our guest. For the security and safety of our guest and
their children, we tend to lock the windows. We do have a laundry
machine and a dryer at our sister property just across the street
where we provide free detergents for all our guest who choose to
do their own laundry.

We are very happy that you enjoyed sleeping in our comfortable
beds and find our pool to be nice.

Once again thanks for your feedback; it's feedback like yours that
makes us strive even harder to please all our guest. We do hope
that you will give us another chance to WOW you like we do most
of our guest.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights on the fourth floor. Room 408 is nice. Clean room and bathroom. The balcony is not all that the view was another building but the bed was very comfortable sheets were clean. Only thing was the pool was dirty or maybe I went too early ( 9am) for a swim. The frozen margarita bar closer to the beach were good too 2 fo $12. Front desk were very nice and helpful I would go back and definitely stay there in that same room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are very happy that you find our hotel to be a cool spot.

As you rightly noted, we take great pride in making sure that
our rooms and bathrooms are very clean and acceptable.
As for our staff, we carefully select hospitality professionals
who have a strong for people in general: they are nice and
helpful. Our pool is tested, chemically treated, and cleaned
daily by a Certified Pool Attendand who is there from 8AM to 4PM.

We are very please that you intend to return during your
next visit to Miami Beach.

Thanks again!

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was an excellent choice for me and my girlfriends last summer. We were looking for a place right on the beach that wouldn't cost us and arm and a leg. From the minute we walked through the front doors we felt welcomed. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. One front desk staff member in particular that helped our group out all week was named Julian. He made sure that we had everything we needed to have an enjoyable week for our first time in Miami. From showing us around the hotel, giving us daily directions on how to get around south beach and to making sure our room was up to par, Julian was a great additive to our wonderful trip. There is nothing better than a friendly staff while you are on vacation! If I return to Miami again I will defiantly be staying here. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay.

We are very please to know that you think that our property
is a great hotel that doesn't cost an arm or a leg: yes we give
you exceptional value at an affordable price.

Like most of our guest, we are very happy that you find
our staff to be friendly and that some of our employees will even
go above and beyond to ensure that you will have a great stay.
Here at the Marseilles Hotel, it's all about our guest.

Thanks again, and hope to see you here during you next visit
to Miami Beach.

Respectfully yours,
E, Hewitt, CHA
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked this hotel on Orbitz and was a little concerned after reading the bad reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the hotel is dated but so are the rest of the SOBE hotels. At the end of the day it's all about location and this hotel is right in the thick of it. We walked to the mall and to all of our eateries. The hotel has a decent pool with no DJ, however, the hotel next door did so it worked itself out. The happy hour (literally one hour) was unbeatable ($1 drinks). The staff was helpful and pleasant. The room was small but it was clean and getting towels was not a problem. My party consisted of three women so it got a little crazy when it was time to get ready for the club. The room has central AC and was very comfortable, not too hot or too cold the entire three day stay. The lighting in the room could be better and the unnecessary furniture could have been removed (empty armoire). The room had a nice size flat screen on the wall but all channels were not working not that it mattered. We had a draining problem the first night in the shower and it was after hours when it occurred. There was no emergency maintenance at night. I asked for a plunger and fixed it myself. I thought it was funny that security brought plunger wrapped in paper towels in the shape of an upside down rose. Overall the hotel was better than I expected, their were no extra fees and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for your review.

We are please that you were pleasantly surprized while
staying at our property. As you rightly mentioned, we are at
a great location. Our decent and quiet pool along with
$1 happy hour drinks is highly favoured by many of our guest.

Your comments about our friendly staff and clean room are
greatly appreciated and make us even want to do much better.

Thanks again for your feedback, and hope to see you again
during your next visit to South Beach.

Regards,
E. Hewitt
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.