We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with very good services!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sloten, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with very good services!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Me, my husband and son stayer for 4 nights in this ***hotel for 4 nights.
I'd recommend this place in the hart of Miami Beach. Clean and nice room, 6th floor.
Breakfast is poor and not included. We did several excursions arranged by the hotel, very very good! Lincoln Road and restaurants nearby!

Room Tip: We've got a renovated room in the 6th floor, nice and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you
find our property to be cleand, nice and recommend
us to others.

As for your personal dissatisfaction, with the breakfast,
I will definitely convey this to the Chef who is always interested
in getting feedbacks from his customers: based on customers
needs and wants, he always go the extra mile to deliver
the greatest food and beverage experience.

Thank again feedback.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    226
    140
    99
    100
See reviews for
165
197
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel mid May,,it wasn't what we were expecting,,,,there was no parking,,for starters,,,30 bucks a day for the time we spent there,,,,,after we got checked in there wasn't anything in the room to tell you what services were or were not available at the hotel no phone or anything,,,no hotel directory,,,,The pool area was quiet nice and the shaded rest area as well.....the so called "restaurant was laughable,,,,,,we went there for a quick bite to eat,,ordered spaghetti and ended up leaving after a 40 minute wait and still no sign of any food arriving,,,,,the capony over the ahemm restaurant leajks like a basket as well found..

Room Tip: Try another hotel,,lots more in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all apologize for not pleasing you
like we do most of our guest, and thanks for taking
to let us know.

Feeback like yours are very important to us because
we are in the business of giving our guest the greatest
experience, and if one guest is not satisfied, we
immediately evaluate the situation and move towards
correction and improvement. Here at the Marseilles,
it's all about our you. Rest assure that your comments are
well taken, and thanks again for taking the time to let us
know.

Respectfully yours,
E. Hewitt
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I 'd recommend this place if you are looking for an accommodation that is basic, IT has a swimming pool but I 'd suggest you'd rather enjoy the miami waters instead. The hotel is on the beach front. You can get out from the back of the hotel and you are on the beach making it very convenient. The rooms have basic facilities - nothing lavish . If you are looking for a cozy or sophisticated place to stay, this is not for you. They have a good restaurant outdoors facing the road . You can walk to Lincoln Road from here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to let us know
that you were overall pleased with your stay
at our property.

Hope you will stay with us again in the event
you return to Miami Beach.

Thanks again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great location near the beach and shops! The room we got was clean, new / renovated which was nice.
The hotel only have a few parking spots available which is located nearby. We were lucky to get one but it's a bit expensive; 29$ + tax per day. The breakfast they offer in their restaurant is not worth the money. Most of the staff at the hotel were friendly but the service level could definitely be improved.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The room was third world terrible! There was poop in the toilet and hair! Yuck!!! Stay away from this poor excuse for a hotel! The manager yelled at me when I tried to explain how filthy my room was! Additionally I was on the phone with Orbitz for two hours trying to get a different room in the same hotel that included the amenities I originally had asked for. The hotel front desk told me if I paid them additional money, they would give what I originally requested!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First they do not give me the type of room I paid for.
So I check out after one night and they do not refund my money.
Don't go anywhere near this hotel.
The rooms are terribly small.
The view is only partial.
It smells of cigar smoke all over.
The staff is most unhelpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We have a great reputation for pleasing most
of our guest and very sorry that we did not meet
your expectations.

Almost all the time, we assign rooms to our guest
based on the type of room they reserver, and quite
frequently, based on our availability, we give them
upgraded rooms without additional charge. Our
room sizes are a little bigger than most rooms in
the area and stacked with many amenities. And, based on
the comment from most of our guest, we are proud
to say that our staff are extremely friendly and polite.

Although we and most of our guest do not agree with
your comments, we do respect your opinion and
would love for you to contact us to discuss your feedback
in details. We value all our guest's comments and
always strive to do even better because here at the Marseilles
Hotel, it's all about you.

Please contact: we care!

Regards,
E, Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Positives: the rooms where new and renovated and clean. The beds were comfortable.
Good location and near the beach and shops.

Negatives: Poor service except for 2 women the next day and both of us had to return lunch as it was obviously old meat that had been reheated. Didn't eat there after that and we are not that fussy, it was just a chicken salad.
Pool area wasn't clean from the previous night.

For the price, we should have booked earlier and gone to the Richmond where we stayed before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback in letting us know that
our newly renovated rooms are clean and with comfortable
beds. In regards to the restaurant, we are sorry that you did
not enjoy the meal: we will definitely convey this to our Chef
who is very concerned about what guest think about our food
and service.

We are also pleased that you agree that we are at a good
location near the beach and shops.

We hope that you will stay with us again should you return
to Miami.

Thanks again!

Your,
E. Hewitt, CHA
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.