We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place offering basic facilities, clean and its on the beachfront !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good place offering basic facilities, clean and its on the beachfront !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I 'd recommend this place if you are looking for an accommodation that is basic, IT has a swimming pool but I 'd suggest you'd rather enjoy the miami waters instead. The hotel is on the beach front. You can get out from the back of the hotel and you are on the beach making it very convenient. The rooms have basic facilities - nothing lavish . If you are looking for a cozy or sophisticated place to stay, this is not for you. They have a good restaurant outdoors facing the road . You can walk to Lincoln Road from here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to let us know
that you were overall pleased with your stay
at our property.

Hope you will stay with us again in the event
you return to Miami Beach.

Thanks again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    225
    140
    99
    100
See reviews for
165
196
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great location near the beach and shops! The room we got was clean, new / renovated which was nice.
The hotel only have a few parking spots available which is located nearby. We were lucky to get one but it's a bit expensive; 29$ + tax per day. The breakfast they offer in their restaurant is not worth the money. Most of the staff at the hotel were friendly but the service level could definitely be improved.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The room was third world terrible! There was poop in the toilet and hair! Yuck!!! Stay away from this poor excuse for a hotel! The manager yelled at me when I tried to explain how filthy my room was! Additionally I was on the phone with Orbitz for two hours trying to get a different room in the same hotel that included the amenities I originally had asked for. The hotel front desk told me if I paid them additional money, they would give what I originally requested!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First they do not give me the type of room I paid for.
So I check out after one night and they do not refund my money.
Don't go anywhere near this hotel.
The rooms are terribly small.
The view is only partial.
It smells of cigar smoke all over.
The staff is most unhelpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We have a great reputation for pleasing most
of our guest and very sorry that we did not meet
your expectations.

Almost all the time, we assign rooms to our guest
based on the type of room they reserver, and quite
frequently, based on our availability, we give them
upgraded rooms without additional charge. Our
room sizes are a little bigger than most rooms in
the area and stacked with many amenities. And, based on
the comment from most of our guest, we are proud
to say that our staff are extremely friendly and polite.

Although we and most of our guest do not agree with
your comments, we do respect your opinion and
would love for you to contact us to discuss your feedback
in details. We value all our guest's comments and
always strive to do even better because here at the Marseilles
Hotel, it's all about you.

Please contact: we care!

Regards,
E, Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Positives: the rooms where new and renovated and clean. The beds were comfortable.
Good location and near the beach and shops.

Negatives: Poor service except for 2 women the next day and both of us had to return lunch as it was obviously old meat that had been reheated. Didn't eat there after that and we are not that fussy, it was just a chicken salad.
Pool area wasn't clean from the previous night.

For the price, we should have booked earlier and gone to the Richmond where we stayed before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback in letting us know that
our newly renovated rooms are clean and with comfortable
beds. In regards to the restaurant, we are sorry that you did
not enjoy the meal: we will definitely convey this to our Chef
who is very concerned about what guest think about our food
and service.

We are also pleased that you agree that we are at a good
location near the beach and shops.

We hope that you will stay with us again should you return
to Miami.

Thanks again!

Your,
E. Hewitt, CHA
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibenik
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the location and unfortunately that was the only good about it. I spent 5 nights in it and I can not say that I slept at least one night. Air conditioning was blowing directly in my face and whatever I did it was impossible to switch it off. The shower did not have hot water and although I complained the entire time of my stay they did not fix this. And in the end, although I have, on departure from the hotel asked them to call me a taxi, they were obviously too busy to do it. I had to drag my luggage to the road to be able to hail a taxi.
Never again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of apologize for any inconvenience you
had while statying here. We always pay close attention
and go above and beyond to ensure that all our guest
have a pleasant stay.

It's generally our standard, and we do have many systems
in place, to ensure that everything in our rooms work perfectly.
Nevertheless, in the reare event something is not working
properly and it is brought to our attention while a guest is
occupying the room, we attend to it immediately and if necessary,
move the guest to another room. We do have a Bellman on staff
who is always eager and ready to assist our guest with their luggages
and to hail cabs for them. We are very concerned about your complains
and hope that you will give us another chance to show you that
the nature of you complains is definitely not the norm for us.

Thanks for taking the time to let us know abour you experience with
us.

Yours,
E. Hewitt, CHA
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a perfect location on Miami Beach. The problem was the bathroom was new, but the rest of the room was quite old. The gap under the door to the hallway was large enough for me to put my hand under. Also, no fault to the hotel, the hotel next door had an after party for ULTRA music festival. The problem was the windows in our room let in all the sound from outside even when they were closed. It looks like they are trying to fix this hotel, but right now its not worth the money you pay to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to let us
know about your experience at our
property.

We are pleased to know that you
think we are in a perfect location.
As you rightly noted, during your
stay, we were in the process completing
our property upgrading. Our
renovation is now completed and
we are very pleased to roll out
our upgraded rooms.

During the Ultra Music Festival, as you
noted, South Beach is all about music.
We do apologize for any disturbance that might
had been creared by our neighbouring hotels.
You will note that we did not have any loud
music coming from our property, and to
be frank, our windows are designed with
sound proofing provisions.

We appreciate you very much and would like to
have you here with us again in the event you
return to South Beach.

Thanks again,
E.Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.