We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay considering price and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place to stay considering price and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Marseilles isn't as terrible as some of the reviews on here. Granted it's not a 4 star resort, but you definitely get what you pay for at this hotel. The location is perfect, you can walk most anywhere and the pool/beach area was great. I would recommend parking on 16th street...cheap at $16/night. When we got there on a Friday night, the hotel's lot was full, so they recommended the public parking on 16th St. It's safe and easy in/out.
The hotel itself was fine...honestly you're not there to sit in your hotel room anyways. The room was clean, and was a good place to sleep. We booked our rooms through a special with bookit.com and no issues with our reservations. I would stay here again, the price was right compared to other pricey hotels in the same location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Let me first of all thank you for taking the time to give a feedback on your stay.
It's great that you noted that our property is not terrible and that to the contrary ,it's
a great property at a great location and economical. We appreciate your comments
about our clean and comfortable rooms and are very happy you would stay with us again.

Thanks for choosing and we are looking forward to accomodate you again.

E. Hewitt
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    288
    189
    112
    116
See reviews for
217
239
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

if you like tiny bathrooms, no parking, paper thin walls, dirty carpet, no mirrors except for the one in tiny bathroom, no control of thermostat (management controls the temperature in your room), hearing the noise from the street below as if you are staying on the roof, THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Let me first of all apologize for not pleasing you as we do most of our guest.
It is always our goal to give all our guest a great stay while with us but
some how came short in you case.

Some of our bathrooms are standard and many are much larger depending
on the type of room. If you had rented one of our suites, you would have seen
the difference. Many of the bathroom sizes in South Beach are very similar to
ours and some are even smaller. Our property is located on Collins Ave., and
eventhough our windows are constructed to reduce noise, on the weekend, South Beach
comes alive as many travelers from all over the world enjoy the festivities that the
City has to offer. Once again, we would like to apologize for not WOWING you
as we would like to but hope you would give us another chance to show you why
many of our guest are excited about the Marseilles Hotel.

Nevertheless, thanks for you feedback: it helps us to be even better because here,
it's all about you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hotels on Collins avenue are expansive and always a coin toss as to the quality. We stayed one night and our over all experience was good. Aaron was a duty manager and checked us in and was professional and kind, a tough job and he is calm and good at it. Our room was a big, clean and well appointed. The week end we booked a lot of hotels had 3 night minimums which is why we selected to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us and others.
We are very pleased that you had a great stay and appreciate
the performance of our Manager On Duty.

We hope to see you again when you return to Soutj Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a spacious jr. suite for less than $200 for the night right in the heart of South Beach with a great view of the ocean. Great location just over a block from Lincoln Rd., comfortable room, nice pool, easy access to the beach, but a bit noisey. You could here doors open and closing as well as people talking in the hallway. Staff is friendly and helpful. Park your car and you are within walking distance of all that South Beach has to offer.

Room Tip: Jr. suite was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great hotel if you do not like sleeping; rooms are comfy but you can here everthing in the corridor, staff are frendly keep away from floor 5 there is a ice making machine and there is a constant noise, I must be getting old

Room Tip: Avoid floor 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you don't mind paper thin walls and a strong musty smell, this is the hotel for you! You get what you pay for at this hotel.

Checking in took forever and no valet to park our car. Once we got in the room, had to call maintenance to fix the broken AC and a leaking toilet. They fixed the toilet but the AC never really worked. Thankfully we were not facing Collins street so the only noise came from all of the drunk people from 2am-5am.

If you stay out all night and sleep all day, book this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

*Real review* The location is really good and the pool is nice . Also the beach is a short walk from the back side of the hotel . Now for bad . Bathroom is so small you can barely get in and out of it , lost hot water for a whole day and they said do to a burst in the city lol . Umm yea we still had water the city doesnt supply hot water , the doors slam so hard , a lot of the room are under heavy construction and the one right next to us was and it was so loud even first thing in the morning , asked for a iron and had to call twice so it took almost 6 hours to get , hallways haven't been renovated and are so nasty , besides the pool this hotel has nothing going on .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#103 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#146 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#123 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#68 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.