We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not very nice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Good location but not very nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

*Real review* The location is really good and the pool is nice . Also the beach is a short walk from the back side of the hotel . Now for bad . Bathroom is so small you can barely get in and out of it , lost hot water for a whole day and they said do to a burst in the city lol . Umm yea we still had water the city doesnt supply hot water , the doors slam so hard , a lot of the room are under heavy construction and the one right next to us was and it was so loud even first thing in the morning , asked for a iron and had to call twice so it took almost 6 hours to get , hallways haven't been renovated and are so nasty , besides the pool this hotel has nothing going on .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    216
    137
    98
    100
See reviews for
157
194
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 days there for Valentines Day. The Hotel is a true Art Deco hotel nestled in the heart of South Beach. The one suite that we reserved had a stunning view of the ocean on the 7th floor. The hotel was clean and offered a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was also across the street from a great Sushi restaurant and 4 doors down from the SLS hotel and the Delano which are hot spots for celebrity sightings. We had an amazing dinner at the SLS with the most delicious sushi.

Room Tip: Do not use valet- park in the parking garage on 16th street- much cheaper $16 versus $30-
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're excited about nice accommodations, this won't be your best pick. Our room looked nothing like the pictures, the carpet was dirty, the walls were scuffed, the furniture was raggedy, and the television was oddly placed in relation to the bed. They're undergoing a renovation, so during our stay there was quite a bit of noise, and occasionally there were dirty ceiling tiles on the floor in the hallway. Whatever the maids use to the clean the rooms is pungent, and will leave the room smelling very strange. No iron. No hangers. Also, there was none of the typical information in the room about Miami, the hotel, room service -- in fact I'm pretty sure there wasn't room service. If there was, I would prefer not to eat it. It was like staying in a partially completed facility. I can't see any reason to stay here again. The location is great, but there are plenty of perfectly-located hotels in Miami Beach. I would pay extra and stay in one of those.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good location @ Collins & 17th, great value and nice pool. Spacious rooms; we had one with a new mattress given its recent renovation. Dark, narrow corridors, but that may be how most of these old shotgun style deco hotels were built. Helpful and attentive staff. We didn't dine here, but it's only a $7 cab ride to Joe's Stone Crab, and easy walk to Lincoln Mall. WE paid extra for parking, which is to be expected in Miami Beach. While in town, we had friends pay $300/night more than we did for a marginally nicer facility two blocks south - - and they, like us, spend more waking hours out of their room than in it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We used a drop-in coupon to get an ocean-view room for an excellent price so we could explore the Art Deco district. At first the walk down the hallways had us concerned, as they we dingy, but when the opened the door to the room we were happy to see a bright, clean room that was nicely set-out. The bathroom was tiny, but very nicely designed. The beds were compact, but comfortable, and the view was wonderful.

The best thing about this hotel was the service. I had one of the best mojitos I've had to date in the bar in front of the hotel, dinner was delicious and reasonably priced, and other staff were friendly as well. The hotel is a comfortable walk to the Lincoln outdoor mall and is about a 10 minute walk to the Art Deco district.

Others have mentioned problems with construction noise, but we didn't hear anything. We did notice the fan didn't turn off in the unit, which was a bit annoying, but when we called the service person he was able to adjust the setting so that it stayed off for most of the night (apparently each floor shares one heating unit, which is why you don't get control of the fan in individual rooms, although the vents into the room do open / close to get your room to your desired temperature.)

Considering the price - $139/night on a Sunday in high season - was significantly lower than others in the same area, this was great value overall. (If you want to get the discount rate from hotelcoupons.com, call ahead to make sure they have rooms at those rates and get there early to book. We would have been stuck with a smoking room if we hadn't arrived just before noon.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a room that had just been renovated. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom, very little room to move around in but nicely done. Front desk staff were helpful. Happy hour was offered both nights I was there but no one showed up to serve. Outdoor facilities were outstanding, beautiful pool area and nice area in the shade. Hotel is located in an area that is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, lots to do, great shopping. Handicapped persons beware. Would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've been coming to SoBe for over 40 years at least twice a year to visit family and friends, without question, the staff and management at the Marseilles are the nicest on the beach. Period. They will go out of the way to make sure you are satisfied. This is not the W or the SLS of course, so don't expect total luxury. Do expect very clean rooms and baths. Do expect that you will get a great value, the best on the beach. I am also a travel professional and will highly recommend Marseilles to anyone looking to be in the heart of the action in SoBe near everything, yet coming away feeling like they stayed someplace that feels like a small European boutique hotel and treats them as a member of their family. Keep your expectations in line with the price and location and you too will be returning year after year. BTW they are going thru some reno work so who knows, in a year it may feel like the W, but they assure us the value will remain. Don't let the reno work scare you. The only I heard was from about 11 am to 3 pm when you'll be at the beach anyway!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator (so not 06/07). I had a very large room with a little cute balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.