We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good location @ Collins & 17th, great value and nice pool. Spacious rooms; we had one with a new mattress given its recent renovation. Dark, narrow corridors, but that may be how most of these old shotgun style deco hotels were built. Helpful and attentive staff. We didn't dine here, but it's only a $7 cab ride to Joe's Stone Crab, and easy walk to Lincoln Mall. WE paid extra for parking, which is to be expected in Miami Beach. While in town, we had friends pay $300/night more than we did for a marginally nicer facility two blocks south - - and they, like us, spend more waking hours out of their room than in it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    211
    133
    96
    96
See reviews for
152
190
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We used a drop-in coupon to get an ocean-view room for an excellent price so we could explore the Art Deco district. At first the walk down the hallways had us concerned, as they we dingy, but when the opened the door to the room we were happy to see a bright, clean room that was nicely set-out. The bathroom was tiny, but very nicely designed. The beds were compact, but comfortable, and the view was wonderful.

The best thing about this hotel was the service. I had one of the best mojitos I've had to date in the bar in front of the hotel, dinner was delicious and reasonably priced, and other staff were friendly as well. The hotel is a comfortable walk to the Lincoln outdoor mall and is about a 10 minute walk to the Art Deco district.

Others have mentioned problems with construction noise, but we didn't hear anything. We did notice the fan didn't turn off in the unit, which was a bit annoying, but when we called the service person he was able to adjust the setting so that it stayed off for most of the night (apparently each floor shares one heating unit, which is why you don't get control of the fan in individual rooms, although the vents into the room do open / close to get your room to your desired temperature.)

Considering the price - $139/night on a Sunday in high season - was significantly lower than others in the same area, this was great value overall. (If you want to get the discount rate from hotelcoupons.com, call ahead to make sure they have rooms at those rates and get there early to book. We would have been stuck with a smoking room if we hadn't arrived just before noon.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a room that had just been renovated. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom, very little room to move around in but nicely done. Front desk staff were helpful. Happy hour was offered both nights I was there but no one showed up to serve. Outdoor facilities were outstanding, beautiful pool area and nice area in the shade. Hotel is located in an area that is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, lots to do, great shopping. Handicapped persons beware. Would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've been coming to SoBe for over 40 years at least twice a year to visit family and friends, without question, the staff and management at the Marseilles are the nicest on the beach. Period. They will go out of the way to make sure you are satisfied. This is not the W or the SLS of course, so don't expect total luxury. Do expect very clean rooms and baths. Do expect that you will get a great value, the best on the beach. I am also a travel professional and will highly recommend Marseilles to anyone looking to be in the heart of the action in SoBe near everything, yet coming away feeling like they stayed someplace that feels like a small European boutique hotel and treats them as a member of their family. Keep your expectations in line with the price and location and you too will be returning year after year. BTW they are going thru some reno work so who knows, in a year it may feel like the W, but they assure us the value will remain. Don't let the reno work scare you. The only I heard was from about 11 am to 3 pm when you'll be at the beach anyway!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator (so not 06/07). I had a very large room with a little cute balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

At the very last minute, my boyfriend and I decided to spend a night in Miami Beach. As most hotels were overpriced or fully booked, we decided to get one of these mystery deals offered by bookit.com. Mystery deals are offers made my tour operators and travel agents, and basically work like this: you know the location, the price, the hotel's star rating, but you ignore the name of the property you have been assigned until after you paid; and so we found out we were staying at the hotel Marseille, on Collins Avenue! We couldnt hope for a better location!! We got at the hotel pretty late, around 9pm, and were welcomed and greeted by a lovely receptionist. After giving our booking details and confirmation number we were surprised to find out that our booking was nowhere to be found! While I was trying to reach Bookit.com (completely useless as the wait time was approx. 45 mins, and they never did pick up!), the receptionist, seeing our disappointment and our urge to check in as we were expected for dinner, called for her manager, a young gentleman who immediately took action: he offered for us to check in and promised the hotel will solve the problem directly with the travel agent, as I had paid my room, and that any internal disfunction should not impact on our stay! He instructed the receptionist to check us in, and left us in good hands! It was his birthday that night, and we did not feel like he was rushing to get rid of us, at the contrary, he took the time to sort out our problem, and we felt given the attention any guest deserves! We then proceeded to check in, and again surprise: the receptionist upgrades us to a suite! We paid a pretty low rate to start with, but seeing all the stress we had gone through, she just had the kindness to make our stay a little better! The room was stunning! Huge space, jacuzzi, super comfortable bed, excellent amenities, the lighting contributed to making the room even more stunning! I believe the suite we had was at 5 star standards! During the night, we were assisted by the front desk when we wanted to order a late meal, he provided us with the menu from a nearby italian restaurant who delivered directly to our room, helped us find the closest grocery store, etc.. The morning after, we presented ourselves for check out over an hour late, the manager did not charge us any extra, he conveyed the message that everything was sorted with the travel agent, and proceeded with the check out. We asked if we could still use the hotel's pool and beach access for the day and he accepted without discussion: "make yourselves at home!" was his answer. What all of these lovely people working at the Marselles ignored, is that my boyfriend and I are both hoteliers working in Hotels in Florida, and having worked in a bunch of hotels, we could totally assess their level of service. At no point have we mentioned anything about us working in the industry, we were just a couple of guests having a bad time with their travel agent, and yet, I can tell the way the situation was handles was EXEMPLARY! I have worked in 5 star hotels mostly, and I wish our FO staff was as caring and guest oriented! The charm of this hotel is incredible, yet its staff takes it to another level! Great level of service, great value, a MUST TRY! If I hadn't moved to Miami permanently, I would have stayed at the Marseilles every time I would have gone for a visit!

Room Tip: Worth every penny you spend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I booked into hotel for 2 nights but only stayed 1 night as I was generally disappointed with the hotel as it appeared to be undergoing a major refurbishment and the builders were noisy, the air con was faulty and couldn't be turned off leading to a cold and noisy night. On check out I was offered a suite but didn't want to stay. Management were called to authorise a refund on wifi but they didn't want to speak to me which doesn't demonstrate a good attitude to customer services. The bedroom was fine and the ensuite was very good and I'm sure that the hotel will be much improved when all the works are complete. The hotel also has a pleasant little garden which has some relaxing hammocks and a gate leading straight onto the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a perfect place. We had to have 3 rooms for 1 night. We were all extremely surprised and very pleased with our stay. After reading reviews, we knew that there would be construction, but honestly, we did not hear anything. Since we were not in the room that much but on the beach / pool / shopping. We did get 3 of the renovated rooms and they were beautiful. Julien at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. We ate lunch in the front area and were extremely surprised at how good the food was. For the price and location, it was a great stay. I hope that they do not increase the price too much after the renos are complete because we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;