We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had a Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a perfect place. We had to have 3 rooms for 1 night. We were all extremely surprised and very pleased with our stay. After reading reviews, we knew that there would be construction, but honestly, we did not hear anything. Since we were not in the room that much but on the beach / pool / shopping. We did get 3 of the renovated rooms and they were beautiful. Julien at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. We ate lunch in the front area and were extremely surprised at how good the food was. For the price and location, it was a great stay. I hope that they do not increase the price too much after the renos are complete because we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    232
    148
    102
    103
See reviews for
172
203
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thank you to all Marseilles staff , my bf and me when spend the holiday season and had the best trip, The restaurant is amazing good garlic shrimp and smoking salmon bagel for breakfast , european french owner really nice to talk with. The barman Sergio give the best service all type of great drink and the biggest shoots. Manager AAron really nice to talk to manage everything really good because all staff from luggage carrer, valet and ect or amazing. For sure going back, the acces to the beach and the pool in the back yard where great with hamak and litttle teepee in the back yard to relax. It was really cozy , a buch of liquors store 2 minutes walking.

All the clubs are accesible with a few minute walking no need no cabs, Walgreens two minute away for morning hang over (lol) you guys should sell advil or any headink relieve at the marseilles is the only correction i ll of bring. I saw at the back the doing a few renovation on the patio so im pretty sure thats the confort level will upgrade even if it was perfect for us. The room was amazingly clean no carpet nice clean floors, big flat screen ocean view room even if we didnt pay for this one when we reserve so thank you to everyone, from a canadien couple that is back in the snow but we be working hard all year to come back spend the holiday wirh you guys. Thanks to everybody Merci

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed and loved it! Although, construction did start early we have to remember that improvements are being made. We even stayed an extra night and there was no hassle. They have 2 bars and I highly recommend using the front bar. The staff was great and friendly. I am going back and I am staying again. The rooms were updated and the bathroom was awesome. The windows do not raise but I did have a view of the ocean. Make sure you get the key code from the front desk for after hour beach trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

LOCATION:
Location is great, close to everything in South Beach. The hotel is beach front so just walk across a small path and you're on the beach. This hotel doesn't have their own umbrellas or deck chairs so you have to pay extra to another company for them. Lots of places to eat and drink nearby.

SERVICE:
Good, not incredible though. Friendly staff that don't really go further than they have to in their job description, but they're perfectly happy. Unfortunately I was at the pool and tried to order drinks from the empty bar and charge them back to the room but the girl said 'oh I don't know how to do that'. Isn't that one of the most important things to know as the pool bartender? Anyway she worked it out after a while.

ROOMS:
The rooms are perfectly fine. The bathrooms are modern and fantastic, obviously updated recently! The rooms are very clean but the furniture is a bit dated and too dark for such light and bright rooms.

RESTAURANT:
The restaurant at the front is good, but not amazing. Lots of good places nearby.

Room Tip: Definitely get a beach front room if you're going to stay here. It would be a pretty depressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here during the BCS champinship weekend so this was one of the cheapest places we could find. Great location walking distance or a short cab ride to almost anything and it is ocean front. We did not know that they were going through a remodel and that they would start work around 8:30-9am. Not good when you are on a get away from the kids for a few days. The pictures of the rooms on the web site do not look anything like the room that we stayed in or any that I looked into (much much worse) the carpets were dirty and shower pressure was awful the walls are paper thin so we could hear the conversations and other things from our neighbors as I am sure they heard from us. Our toilet ran all day and night. The tiki bar was nice also the cabana and hammocks were a nice way to relax the pool was also very decent. We did not eat here so I cannot comment on the food quality. There were some younger kids staying here on our floor(lucky us) I doubt that they were legal age to rent a room but they were very loud late into the night and also someone was banging on our door one morning at about 0600. The beds were comfortable but again hard to sleep with all of the noise. So in closing , the value was decent not worth the condition of the place the location was great but if we visit South Beach again we will not stay here unless some major changes have been made.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was one of the best priced hotels I could find on Miami Beach and because I booked directy instead of through one of the travel websites I got a better deal. The reservation agent clued me in on the family suite which I wouldn't have known about otherwise and at a price cheaper than Travelocity for a regular room.

The room wasn't huge and the hotel is under renovation but it didn't effect our stay at all. The construction workers we saw were very considerate of the guests. Our bathroom was already remodeled but it could use another shelf to put the toiletries on instead of the back of the toilet.

The Pool is nice and there is a sandy area at the back of the property with hammocks and chairs which was very relaxing but it would be better if the beach bar was open during the week. I know it was heading into the slow season but we had to leave the property to sit with a beverage unless we wanted to be at the front bar by the street. Service in the hammocks would have been perfect.

When we checked in our room wasn't ready so we had to wait a bit but the staff was very friendly and took care of us with some free beach chairs on the ocean. The beach is great and just a short walk across the bike path. We rented some Deco bikes from the machine on the next block from the hotel and they were great for riding into South Beach for lunch.

It was a great stay with New Years Eve stolling up and down Ocean Drive, the FSU/NIU football game and some quality beach time. One thing I did learn is that Miami is expensive with food, drinks and cabs so a nice hotel at a fair price really helps.

Room Tip: We were in room 210, just a view of the hotel next door and quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The staff was great. The room was OK. I requested a high floor with oceanview-which we got...the "penthouse"...that being said-it was probably the best room at the property, but it is not a deluxe property.The staff was excellent and the room very clean. Sleep quality was just OK. The bed was not too comfortable, and being in Sobe it can get loud at night-which is expected, so I can't complain about that. The location is great-right on the beach. The pool gets a 5 out of 10...it is located right next to The South Seas Hotel-which I have frequented more in the past-so I just hung out there-their pool area is much better. Overall-I would return to this hotel. Very resonably priced for great locale, and again-must give kudos to a great, attentive staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.