We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst reception service I ever found!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
“Worst reception service I ever found!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked a room on 30 of December, by last minute.com, and they canceled our reservation the same day, because they didn't accept our reservation, for overbooking, they didn't help us at all, even if they charged our credit card already and we went at the reception with a voucher and confirmation number, so already as Guests. They neither help us to find another room, just gave us a help numb to contact, but when a hotel is in Overbooking, the hoster should take care of guest to provide him an alternative solution. It's unbelievable that we stayed hours in the hall, with nobody care about us, and at the end, we left the hotel, for them we could sleep on the street. THis is not professional at all, especially for this range of hotels!!... Inadmissible!

Room Tip: Never go to this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    220
    142
    104
    98
See reviews for
150
189
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is second time to stay at the Marseilles. You can pay twice as much to have the same beautiful view and beach. The hotel is upgrading and modernizing the rooms which have a very nice new design. Pool area is very nice as well as beach access and views are fantastic. The hotel has a comfortable relaxed atmosphere with artwork throughout and location, location, location.. You can literally walk just about everywhere, else the bus stop is just across the street. Close to the museums, New World Symphony, and Lincoln Road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
On behalf of the Managers and staff, I would like to thank
you for your loyalty to our property. As you rightly mentioned, our
rates are half the price of many other hotels in the area that give
the same beautiful view and beach. We're very happy that you
appreciate the "..nice new design" of our recently upgraded
and modernized rooms. Yes our pool is very nice and close
to the beach. The relaxed atmosphere with art work, you noted,
was well put together by the owers to enhanced our guest
experience: here at the Marseilles, it's all about you.

One again, thanks, and hope to see you during your next visit
to Miami Beack.

Everton Hewitt, CHA
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

it is one of the cheaper hotels next to the beach. It is basic and clean although the carpets could do with an upgrade. the bedroom had just been painted so clearly there is ongoing work.
Close to the beach, easy for the shops, if you need them, at a reasonable price, except for the parking which is 28$US a day for outdoor yard parking..
The staff were pleasant enough and the breakfasts good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
We are pleased to know that you think that our rates are
very economical. Your other positive comments about our
closenesst to the beach, friendly staff and clean rooms are
well appreciated.

Most of our rooms were recently upgraded thus the reason for a new smell. We are almost at the level where we will "WOW" all our
guest and give them the great experience you had while staying with us.

Thanks again and looking forward to see you here during your next
stay in Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Location, beach front and terrific staff are the outstanding qualities of this hotel. It is in the midst of a major renovation, while still adhering to its art deco roots. Our large room had been renovated and the bath was lovely, beds very comfortable. The reno noise went on all day, and you can tell by looking at the elevators that they are being used to haul construction materials. The pool is very large by today's hotel standards and goes to 8 feet(!) deep. The outdoor area with a decent number of lounge spaces, both on sand and off, featured comfy seating and hammocks, and cabana changing rooms. My husband loved the huge pool table in the lobby area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

First the good news-- The Marseilles Hotel is in an excellent location, with lovely grounds and a terrific piece of Beach. The value for the location is fantastic.
The bad news--The hotel is a bit rundown in the parts that have not been renovated. The noise of the renovations can be a bit much. The elevators and halls are very shabby.
My room and bathroom had been renovated,and I found it very comfortable. The bed and linens were top notch! Also the lobby was cool with all its Art Deco touches. The staff at the desk were also very helpful and a concierge is available for info during the day.
Overall I would not hesitate too stay there again.

Room Tip: The bus to the Miami Airport stops right outside the hotel! When booking if you want quiet, make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are very happy that you think that our excellent location is “good news”.
Unlike most hotels in Miami Beach/ South Beach, the warm and clear beach
is directly behind us. As you rightly noted, most of our rooms and bathrooms
are newly renovated, clean, and comfortable.

We are currently in the process of upgrading other areas of the property
to ensure that we are one of the most beautiful properties in the area.
We are very pleased to know that you will not hesitate to stay here again.

Thanks for you feedback and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We wanted a cheap place in South Beach to sleep and thats what we got. The room had a pequliar stench to it. There were ants in the bathroom that migrated to the food we had in the little kitchenette area...(DISAPPOINTNG!), and the bed was extremely uncomfortable, but the price was reasonable. There was a leison that worked the bike rental behind the hotel that was able to get us a deal for an all you can drink preparty, limo ride to a well known club, and VIP access to that club.... the night we went we were VIP into the Mansion! (see on jersey shore). Def worth checking out if you want to have a good time clubbing and not wait in line forever!

Room Tip: If you're not going to spend much time in your room... this is a perfect place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We would like to apologize to you for not giving you a great experience as we are accustomed
in giving most of our guest. I must assure you that we are very concerned about
your comments and will definitely look in the matter to make sure that all our guest
leave with a positive experience. Our goal is not only to give you reasonable rates as you mentioned but also to give you super value.

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked the hotel because of the excellent location at 17th street and the low rate despite the many bad reviews. My thought was that since the hotel was undergoing renovations I could take advantage the poor reviews that can be typical just before an upgrade cycle is completed as long as I could get one of the new rooms. The bathroom in all three of the oceanfront rooms we viewed were brand new albeit small, but this was expected from this art deco hotel. The rooms.even the newly renovated ones, are poorly maintained - just not clean. The deal breaker was the old, musty, mold smell. Newer tile in the rooms looked as if it needed cleaning already. As other travelers noted the common areas, elevators, hallways, staiwell and front desk area are worn and in need of repair; not just a lack of maintenance; like the owners don't care. I mean, at least put some paint on the walls near the check in counter so people don't notice the dirt smudges - this is why we asked to see the rooms before checking in. We (two couples; one room each) never took the luggage out of the car. We spent two and a half hours scrambling to book another hotel which was a challenge with Halloween weekend and conferences that are here this week. And as another reviewer noted, the front desk personnel are clueless, they think the hotel is just fine. It appeared they have a clientele that may have a lower standard; perhaps traveling from across the Atlantic and are accustomed to less. Not me. Worse yet, there is a pending charge on my credit card for $50 that was swiped when we started the resrevation. Amex is waiting to dispute the charge if it is not cancelled.

Room Tip: no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
On behalf of myself and all the staff at the Marseilles, I want to offer
our sincere apology to you and your friends for not pleasing you
as we do most of our guest who look for a great property while staying
in South Beach / Miami Beach.

Because we care so much about our guest and because we always
try everything possible to make sure they have a great stay, it sad
for us to hear that you were not fully satisfied. We are a property that
is know for listening to our guest concerns and to immediately
correct any areas that appear to be lacking.

Thanks for your comments about our “..excellent location…and low rates”
and thanks for sharing your views with us as we continue to move
forward towards making our property one of the best in the area.

We really hope that you will give us another chance to show you
how positive and negative feedbacks makes us even better.

Respectfully your,

E. Hewitt
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.