We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First Impressions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Don't let the lobby, elevator or hallways give you the wrong impression. I was alittle put off by the appearance, but the room made up for it all. The room was modernly decorated, bed ultimately comfortable and the view could not have been any better. Getting out of the cab and looking at the front of the building, my brain says "what have you done". But, the experience was great. Went out for dinner and drinks came back to hotel, took a dip in the salt water pool late at night and life could have not been anymore perferct.

Room Tip: Room 8018 was the bomb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Let me tank you for your constructive feedback in this
review. It’s feedback like your that helps us to provide
even better quality service to you, and many other travelers
and that which makes one of the most popular hotels in
Miami Beach .

Apparently, the day you noticed the elevator and hallways
was an irregular day for us; that day we were transferring
some of our new and modern furniture and other upgraded
items to various rooms; we are very we are very sorry
if it disturbed you in any way.

NeverthelessI want to thank you very much for you testimony
about your room that it "...was modernly decorated, bed ultimately
comfortable, and the view could not have been any better."

It's always our policy to listen to all our guest and to frame our philosophy
and operation towards giving the greatest experience to our guest: the
type of experience you said you had while staying with us.

Thanks again, looking forward in having you with us again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    235
    152
    104
    104
See reviews for
173
204
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here Sept '12. It was OK. A lot of renevation work going on during our stay which meant no gym available and no pool bar. I imagine it will be fantastic once the work is done and I wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
It was a pleasure having you at our property. We have upgraded
and modernized many of our rooms and are very excited
about showing them off to many visitors who appreciate "great an fantistic"
hotels like yourself.

Drinks are available to our pool users, and we do have gym provision for
our guest who want to exercise before stepping outside from our hotel to
the beautiful beach directly behind us.

Thanks again for extending your appreciation, and see you when you return.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not as expected. I know that some reviews may have been overrated and vice versa....negatives were more accurate. Old hotel, but that's okay, it has charm. My first clue was the elevator -- torn up rug and dirty. Room too small for a "superior double" AC not working -- called front desk and the maintenance guy came and literally took out the thermostat and blew on it and replaced it.. We laughed about it later, but it wasn't funny at the time. It never worked properly. i called and requested to be moved, but the front desk never got back to me. The mess made by the repairs were never cleaned up until the day before we left. Very noisy if your room is in the front -- but this is SOBE it is expected. Certain amenities which should be included as standard but were not( ie, wifi, refridge, safe) They are an additional cost to you. Parking is across the street for a fee.

As a travel planner, i tend not to always inform the hotel of my occupation because i want to experience what my clients will encounter at the hotel.....to help ensure a certain type of service for them..... cleanilness, aesthetically pleasing to the eye and quality service. That being said, the Marseilles did not pass, hence the low rating.
It is sad because the hotel's location is great -- it is oceanfront and close to some of the night life of SOBE. It would serve them well to regroup, update a bit and retrain some staff. Quality goes a long way. We still managed to have a great weekend in SOBE.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Let me first of all apologize to you for not being able to give you the
great experience at our property as mentioned by many of our guest.
As you might had noted while you were here, we are currently undergoing
significant renovation and modernization to make our proberty one
of the best in South Beach. Right now, many of our rooms are renovated,
and apparently you were in one of rooms that is next on our renovation
list. Normally, if ever a guest is not satisfied with the room, it customary
for us to give them an upgraded room. It is of great concern to me that
you mentioned that you alerted the front desk for a room change, and they
didnt get back you. We wish that you had notify management about this
because here at the Marselles, our greatest pleasure is to please our
guest. In fact, our greatest strength is in cleanliness and customer service.

Once again our sincere apologies and hope you will return in the near future
as we are about to finish our renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

trip booked through expedia, arrived to find air conditioning not working in room, no mini or tub as promised in advertisement. "Upgraded" to a room with a view of the ocean which was a great view but they were jackhammering from 9am to 3 pm in the next room to upgrade it. Manager never returned call. Tried to get a refund x 3 finally expedia got me one night refunded but their position was that they had upgraded me. I just wouldn't go the property is in a terrific location but neither the staff nor the accomodations were worth the view.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to lets us know about your experience
at our property, and on behalf of our entire staff, please accept
our apology for any inconvenience you might have had while staying
with us. As you rightly noted, we are in the process of upgrading our
property to ensure that it will be second to none in the area. Upgrading
you to a much better room at no additional charge and giving you
a free night's stay are some of the many thing we do in order to
show you how much we appreciate you and to show you how much we
are truly sorry for any inconvenience to you. Here at the Marseilles,
our staff have a passion for people in general and will go the extra mile
to ensure that you have a great stay: "It's all about you"
We hope that you will give us another chance to WOW you as we
do most of our guest. Thanks again for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

It's not a Hilton but neither is the price. Location is perfect, staff was friendly and helpfull. Pool area was nice, easy access straight to beach. Room was ok except the old and dirty carpet. Cleaning worked well daily. Aircondition was a little noisy. Here you get good value for your money!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night to whoop it up in miami. The hotel while on the beach is really far from the south beach nightlife area. The rooms were really tiny, had to pay 35 bux per night to park the car which wasnt even in the same building! It was literally 4 blocks away! Attitude of the front desk attendant and the concierge was awful! And the restaurant in the lobby had some of the worst overpriced food I have ever had! Not to mention the service was slow and the hostess sat at her podium eating the whole time we were there! Truly a horrible experience all around! I dont recommend anyone go there! I know I certainly wont!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I am sorry we did not meet your expectation the
way we would like to.

You will note that during your stay, we were
undergoing major revovation to modernize our
property.

We generally do not get negative complains about our staff;
infact, one of the most positive thing in our reviews is that
we have a very helpful and friendly staff. We will make an
attempt to contact you to ge some more feedback from
you as to what we could have done to make your stay
more enjoyable: what you think about our hotel is of great
importance to us.

Once again we please accept my apology for not totally
meeting your expectations: here a our hotel, it's all about
you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

After reading other reviews (some not so kind) and seeing that this hotel was 1/2 the price of the others, I was a tiny bit worried.
There was no need to be! The hotel was clean, our room was clean (yes it was a new one), and all of the staff was extremely friendly. Lots of people visiting from other countries so it had an "exotic" appeal.
You can complain that it costs a few bucks to park or rent beach chairs, or you can realize that you're in a resort area where that's going to happen.
You can find flaws in any hotel. Here, the elevators could be redone, but they worked, were always available and I kept thinking, I'm staying at a totally nice hotel for about 1/2 of what people are paying two hotels down.
And the location! Right on the best part of Miami Beach - This is the area where celebrities would stay as evidenced by the Ferrari's and Lambo's in an adjacent hotel. It's two blocks from Lincoln Road Mall, two or three more to Espanola Way and about a mile to the base of SOBE where another hot spot is.
My only regret is renting a car because there was no need to do so. Everything is right there and cabs and buses are a constant.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.