We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

trip booked through expedia, arrived to find air conditioning not working in room, no mini or tub as promised in advertisement. "Upgraded" to a room with a view of the ocean which was a great view but they were jackhammering from 9am to 3 pm in the next room to upgrade it. Manager never returned call. Tried to get a refund x 3 finally expedia got me one night refunded but their position was that they had upgraded me. I just wouldn't go the property is in a terrific location but neither the staff nor the accomodations were worth the view.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to lets us know about your experience
at our property, and on behalf of our entire staff, please accept
our apology for any inconvenience you might have had while staying
with us. As you rightly noted, we are in the process of upgrading our
property to ensure that it will be second to none in the area. Upgrading
you to a much better room at no additional charge and giving you
a free night's stay are some of the many thing we do in order to
show you how much we appreciate you and to show you how much we
are truly sorry for any inconvenience to you. Here at the Marseilles,
our staff have a passion for people in general and will go the extra mile
to ensure that you have a great stay: "It's all about you"
We hope that you will give us another chance to WOW you as we
do most of our guest. Thanks again for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    211
    133
    96
    96
See reviews for
152
190
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

It's not a Hilton but neither is the price. Location is perfect, staff was friendly and helpfull. Pool area was nice, easy access straight to beach. Room was ok except the old and dirty carpet. Cleaning worked well daily. Aircondition was a little noisy. Here you get good value for your money!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night to whoop it up in miami. The hotel while on the beach is really far from the south beach nightlife area. The rooms were really tiny, had to pay 35 bux per night to park the car which wasnt even in the same building! It was literally 4 blocks away! Attitude of the front desk attendant and the concierge was awful! And the restaurant in the lobby had some of the worst overpriced food I have ever had! Not to mention the service was slow and the hostess sat at her podium eating the whole time we were there! Truly a horrible experience all around! I dont recommend anyone go there! I know I certainly wont!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I am sorry we did not meet your expectation the
way we would like to.

You will note that during your stay, we were
undergoing major revovation to modernize our
property.

We generally do not get negative complains about our staff;
infact, one of the most positive thing in our reviews is that
we have a very helpful and friendly staff. We will make an
attempt to contact you to ge some more feedback from
you as to what we could have done to make your stay
more enjoyable: what you think about our hotel is of great
importance to us.

Once again we please accept my apology for not totally
meeting your expectations: here a our hotel, it's all about
you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

After reading other reviews (some not so kind) and seeing that this hotel was 1/2 the price of the others, I was a tiny bit worried.
There was no need to be! The hotel was clean, our room was clean (yes it was a new one), and all of the staff was extremely friendly. Lots of people visiting from other countries so it had an "exotic" appeal.
You can complain that it costs a few bucks to park or rent beach chairs, or you can realize that you're in a resort area where that's going to happen.
You can find flaws in any hotel. Here, the elevators could be redone, but they worked, were always available and I kept thinking, I'm staying at a totally nice hotel for about 1/2 of what people are paying two hotels down.
And the location! Right on the best part of Miami Beach - This is the area where celebrities would stay as evidenced by the Ferrari's and Lambo's in an adjacent hotel. It's two blocks from Lincoln Road Mall, two or three more to Espanola Way and about a mile to the base of SOBE where another hot spot is.
My only regret is renting a car because there was no need to do so. Everything is right there and cabs and buses are a constant.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel. I chose it because of the location, but mostly because all the reviews are responded by a lady. Anyway it seems that they listen AFTER you leave the hotel. We arrived at the hotel and asked for a renovated room. The girl said that she didn't have one but she had a King size bed one. After we saw the room and stayed for a couple of minutes we realized that it was in front of the ice maker and next to the noisy elevator. We talked to the girl at the desk and she said that she didn't have anything it was a wednesday so, it was very hard to believe her. She PROMISED that she was going to be there the next day and that she was going to change the room. However, we never saw her again.

The next day we talked to another girl who told us in a very rude way that there were not rooms available and told us to come back later. Later that day, there was another girl, this time she changed our room, but told us that we had to vacate our room and take our bags to the front since the room was going to be ready in 5 hours! We were in Miami without a room for hours. They said that there were painting our room!

After we got our new room we thought that the worst was over. The bathroom was renovated, the views were better, and the bed was nicer. However, it wasn't until the next day until we found out the problems. The workers started at 8:30am to work! they were breaking walls and drilling next to our room. We went to bed at 3:00am and we had to wake up at 8:30am. Really horrible experience. The noise wasn't the only horrible thing. It was very dusty. One night one of the workers opened the door without nocking.

The doors of our "renovated" room didn't close. We could close the bathroom or closet doors. After 6 days I realized that the cleaning staff didn't cleaned the floors which were very nasty. Another big issue we had the lobby was freezing.

Our friend stayed at the hotel too. They found a roach on their room. When I saw their room it was a horrible spectacle. The walls had water damaged and it did smell to urine. I'm not lying.

We saw a lot of people moving from room to room. I also saw people complaining, one person in particular call 911 because of the dust. He had a condition and got very sick. I really don't recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet and cleaned place. One thing that I really don't understand is why would they renovate 4 rooms per floor to me it doesn't make any sense. There are other hotels with better value that this one.


PROS:
Ocean view, of course if you are lucky enough to get a good room.
Nice location.
Swimming pool.

CONS:
They are renovating the hotel in a very lame way, instead of doing it floor by floor they are building in every floor.
Emergency stairs smelled to urine
Bathroom and closet doors didn't close all the way through
They don't vacuum the floors.
The door and walls are very thin you can feel every step in the hall.
The air conditioning is very old and very loud.
Loud and old ice machine.

Room Tip: Don't take any of these rooms: 207, 307, 407, 507, 607, 707, 807. These rooms are next to the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel smelled, the doors had fingerprints all over them and the rooms were very old and stingy looking. I wouldn't reccomend this place to anyone the pictures looked better then the actual place. A motel 6 would probably be better than this.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Let me apologize this time for not giving you
the greatest experience as echoed by most
of our guest.

During your stay, you might have noticed that
we are doing major upgrades and renovations
to make our property one of the best in Miami Beach.

Althought very clean, the room you were in might
had been one of the few left to be modernize.

Once again, please accept our apology for not
WOWING you as we do most of our guest: your
feed back is noted, and this encourages us to move
a little faster.

We hope that you will give us another chance to
show you how much we take great pride in going
above and beyond to ensure guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My honest review.

Valet parking is 35$, and that is just a rip off. Self parked on 5th for only 16$ the day after.
First room - Safe was not working
Second room - Newly upgraded, but AC not working, and potato chips all over the floor!?
Third room (now waited over 1 hour to find a place to stay) Fine, but with view on the right side, right into a wall.

The staff tried their best, but there seems to be many problems overall this hotel. We did love the location, disliked the spanish attitude of "We'll handle it tomorrow"

Hotel needs a big helping hand, after that, you will have the best location on the Colins Ave, and one of the best hotels, but not before things have been taken care of.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor, and self park in the garage on 5th going west. 16$ a day instead of valet parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Value Guest:

We would like to thank you for staying with us, and
to let you know we appreciate your feedback: our
appreciation for constructive criticisms and our
willingness to make changes that meet your needs
is what make our property popular in this beautiful
location as you rigtfully said "Location Location Location"

You mentioned the pricey Valet Parking; we don't have
Valet Parking a our property; however, the property
next door do provide Valet Parking to anyone willing
to pay. On the other hand, we do have self parking
for a cost that is lower than what you paid next door.

As you mentioned, I am very happy, that our staff tried
their best to please you. You also rightfully mentioned
that our hotel has the potential of being one of the best
on Collins Avenue and that is exactly what we are doing
at this point in time; we're doing major upgradings and
renovations.

We hope that when you return on your next visit, you
will see the difference.

Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.