We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I stayed at” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I stayed at”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel smelled, the doors had fingerprints all over them and the rooms were very old and stingy looking. I wouldn't reccomend this place to anyone the pictures looked better then the actual place. A motel 6 would probably be better than this.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Let me apologize this time for not giving you
the greatest experience as echoed by most
of our guest.

During your stay, you might have noticed that
we are doing major upgrades and renovations
to make our property one of the best in Miami Beach.

Althought very clean, the room you were in might
had been one of the few left to be modernize.

Once again, please accept our apology for not
WOWING you as we do most of our guest: your
feed back is noted, and this encourages us to move
a little faster.

We hope that you will give us another chance to
show you how much we take great pride in going
above and beyond to ensure guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    265
    169
    109
    115
See reviews for
198
221
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My honest review.

Valet parking is 35$, and that is just a rip off. Self parked on 5th for only 16$ the day after.
First room - Safe was not working
Second room - Newly upgraded, but AC not working, and potato chips all over the floor!?
Third room (now waited over 1 hour to find a place to stay) Fine, but with view on the right side, right into a wall.

The staff tried their best, but there seems to be many problems overall this hotel. We did love the location, disliked the spanish attitude of "We'll handle it tomorrow"

Hotel needs a big helping hand, after that, you will have the best location on the Colins Ave, and one of the best hotels, but not before things have been taken care of.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor, and self park in the garage on 5th going west. 16$ a day instead of valet parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Value Guest:

We would like to thank you for staying with us, and
to let you know we appreciate your feedback: our
appreciation for constructive criticisms and our
willingness to make changes that meet your needs
is what make our property popular in this beautiful
location as you rigtfully said "Location Location Location"

You mentioned the pricey Valet Parking; we don't have
Valet Parking a our property; however, the property
next door do provide Valet Parking to anyone willing
to pay. On the other hand, we do have self parking
for a cost that is lower than what you paid next door.

As you mentioned, I am very happy, that our staff tried
their best to please you. You also rightfully mentioned
that our hotel has the potential of being one of the best
on Collins Avenue and that is exactly what we are doing
at this point in time; we're doing major upgradings and
renovations.

We hope that when you return on your next visit, you
will see the difference.

Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was upgraded to a newly renovated room, which even had a Jacuzzi in it. I had a view of the water and city as well as a balcony..I def. would go back to this hotel again..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
From Everton Hewitt, CHA
Rooms Division Manager

Let me thank you for taking the time to comment about
your stay at the Marseilles.

Your comment about our "Very Relaxing" atmosphere
is what we strive to deliver to each and every one of our
guest; all our resources are dedicated towards those ends.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our modernize room
with the jacuzzi. Of coure, not all all of them come with a jacuzzi
but they are just as beautiful. We're still in the process of upgrading
all our rooms and working as fast as we can to finish them soon.

By the way, what you observed are results of the many request from
guest like yourself who want to have a great stay while in Miami Beach:
we take the time to listen to all our guest and to do whatever necessary
to exceed their expectations.

Hope to see you soon, and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Im going to be straight forward. Im not one of those ultra picky customers I work at Enterprise rent a car so I get all the crazy requests so I understand some people can be a bit dramatic.
PROS:
The location you absolutely cannot beat. Right on the beach with a pool in the heart of Collins ave.
I booked 60 days in advanced and got the room out the door (double bed with fridge and modernized bathroom for 514.00 after resort fees. SWEET DEAL compared to every hotel around there.
Also i came in with very low expectations after reading some of these reviews. The staff were actually all friendly and responsive but the hotel could use a little more up grading.
CONS:
that room I explained about...was my second room. The first room was so run down my roommate couldn't take it but did have a really nice view 8th floor ocean and Collins ave but no fridge.
This place...or this location for example is just LOUD. Its Miami beach so i didn't complain but there were more families there than I expected (July 4th week).
THE WINDOWS! ohh the windows...none f them could open. I mean i understand the safety but at least let us crack the bathroom window there's no fan or ventilation!
The upper patio above the pool should have been open because it seemed like there were little bugs everywhere biting.

Honestly all in all if your 18-35 single and on a budget this is an excellent hotel. If your used to the Ritz Carlton go to the ritz because this is probably the only hotel in the area with this price.

so bottom line Just get the remodeling taken care of or at least change the carpets and FIX THE WINDOW PROBLEM :).

Room Tip: request a modern room! If they cannot accommodate that at least tell them you want to be put on stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Let me first of all thank you for taking the time in giving us the many positive
feedbacks as well as some of your constructive criticisms.
From: Everton Hewitt, CHA
Rooms Division Manager

As you rightly said, and in agreement with most of our guest, our location is the
best on the beach with a pool, rignt in the heart of Collins Avenue, Miami Beach /
South Beach. And as you also rightly noted, you finally got a room with a fridge and
modernized bathroom at a "SWEET DEAL" price compared to every hotel around
the area. We also would like to thank you for letting other travelers know that our
staff were all friendly and responsive; something we take great pride in and which
sets us apart from many other hotels in the area.

You might have noticed in your stay that we are currently in the process of
upgrading all our rooms to be some of the best in the area. Unfortunately,
the first room you were place in might had been one of the few rooms that are
left to be modernized, and yes many of our rooms offer great view of the ocean
and collins Avenue.

Over the past year Miami Beach, have become one of the best and least expensive
destination area for domestic and international vacationers. This is one of the
reasons July 4th weekend had more families than expected. Because our
management are aware these changes, we are even more determine to go above beyond to ensure that all our guest receive the greatest experience while staying at the Marseilles Hotel.
We hope that you'll give us another chance in the future to show what we have accomplished
since you last stay.

We apologize and are sad that we didn't WOW you 100%. One again thanks in a million
for you honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great location and great room (8th floor with ocean view).
Nice and clean, friendly staff - nice food.

Great value! Go for it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
From: Everton Hewitt, CHA
Rooms Division Manager

Dear tmf f from Osio, Norway:

On behalf of the Managers and Staff of the Marseilles Hotel, I would
like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind and truthful words
about our property.

As per your observations, we will continue to keep a nice and clean property with a friendly
staff and great food.

Thanks for encouragement and hope to see you again; "it's all about you"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Marselilles is where I would stay if I wanted to be close to all the Miami Beach action on a budget. The staff is very nice. The rooms are just fine. Hotel rooms in Miami tend to be a bit shabby in general, and this is the case for the Marseilles, but they are really just old yet well maintained. The walls are thin, so if you want quiet, tell the staff upon check in. The food is adequate. The pool is nice but small. Best thing is that the hotel is right on the beach, close to Lincoln Road, the convention center, all the clubs. Rooms can be hot because the ACs are old.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, tell them upon check in. Walls and doors are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
From: Everton Hewitt, CHA
Rooms Division Manager

Dear Lisa C. from New York:

Thanking you for choosing our property in Miami Beach.

As you mentioned our property is "Solid value, great location" the very
same words echoed by most of our guest. Although very clean and
well kept we are in the process modernizing all our rooms.

Thanks again for your positve feedback, and we will continue to do
even better,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

First, the hotel staff are great. Extremely pleasant. The lobby, common areas, rooms and pool are clean. The problem is....EVERYTHING seems worn. If you are.looking for a place to sleep with minimal extras, this is it. My only complaint is that our room temp never got below 76 and that was with the window airco on full blast! Kind of miserable when you have 3 people showering, using a blow dryer and have a sunburn..lol. It is also at the end of the strip so it.is a good little walk to Ocean Drive. Especially in this heat! All in all can't beat the price we paid for the room 387.00 for 3 nights with tax!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marseilles Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
From: Everton Hewitt, CHA
Rooms Division Manager


Dear jkelly83 from Saint Louis, Missouri:

Let me first of all apologized for any inconvenience you might have had while
staying at our property.

I also want to thank you for commenting on the fact that our staff are great and
pleasant. As you noted, our ".....lobby, common areas, rooms and pool are
clean": this extremely important to us. To meet your needs, as you might have
noted during your stay, we are in the process of modernizing and upgrading
our property to take care of the few concerns you brought to our attention.

As you mentioned, all in all, it hard to beat the price we offer for the rooms, and
with our modernization, we are planning to give you "more for your money ".

Thanks again for you feedback; it helps to make us better serving you. Here
at the Marseilles, "it's all about you".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.