We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, location is perfect and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marseilles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marseilles Hotel to your Saves list
Marseilles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, location is perfect and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Our vacation was rebooked at Marseilles when the Sadigo Court suddenly closed down. Tania, the reservationist went above and beyond, getting us resettled and even assisting with transportation questions. Reuben and Keisha were just fantastic, orienting us to the area and making us feel welcome. Our houskeeper (I think her name was Virginia) was so sweet and thoughtful. The staff takes pride in their jobs and it shows.

The Marseille is an older hotel with charm and warmth. The beds and furniture were all updated and comfortable. Some rooms need some TLC but this did not diminish our stay whatsoever or the lack of balconies because the view of the ocean and direct access was such a plus. The TIKI bar area is one of the best features, with a very lively bar tender and bike rentals, hammocks and nice seating arrangements.

The pool area was also very nice, although we opted for the beach. The chair/umbrella rentals were less expensive than competitors and very convenient.

Maxines just across the street is a fantastic place for any meal. Lincoln road is two blocks away and what can I say, its a fantastic location and will save you on cab fares. The front lobby is very pretty with a nice old fashioned wood bar that is very inviting.

The only improvements we would suggest is correction of peeling paint on ceilings and in the bath and cracked tiles. However, we understood the hotel is renovating rooms constantly. This was a very minor issue.

Noise (voices) do carry through the walls and was a concern one night.
Happy Hours advertised in the elevators are not valid during holidays.
The TV channels were blurry and although the satellite was supposed to be adjusted, it did not correct while we were there. Not a big issue because we did not come to SoBe to watch TV.

Overall we loved the Marseilles and would definately return. Great place, nice people and fantastic location. We have fond memories of the fantastic Mojitos!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room or elect to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    258
    163
    109
    112
See reviews for
190
218
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My first time in Miami, we got a great deal by booking just a few days before flying out there (December 2010).

Room was quite basic, but very comfortable, bed was very springy, but I slept like a log.

Hotel, is on the beach, has a great pool area and fab bar that serves some tasty food at reasonable prices.

We stayed for 3 nights, and had no issues at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herselt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Nice hotel, we were informed before our arrival that there were works planned on our floor during our stay.
Hotel was situated right at the beach and nearby some great places to go out.
Staff was very friendly and helpfull. There was 'valet' parking (although we had to park our car ourself) but not at the hotel. The fact that it was not at the hotel and we had to walk to the parking garage made it in our opinion a bit expensive.
One problem we had was that our room was situated in the vicinity of the elevator. There was a group of people also on our floor who came back to the hotel in the middle of the night making a lot of noise. Both my husband and myself were woken up by them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I've stayed at the Marseilles twice now & will continue to recommend this hotel to others. It's the best value for your money in Miami Beach. Absolutely perfect location, right on the beach & walking distance to everywhere. The hotel is classic art deco style & I hope they never change. The lobby is a well maintained representative of that era. The rooms have been renovated since our first trip, they look & feel great. Loved the new bathrooms! The staff are friendly, helpful & accommodating. The food, drinks & pool are great, what more can you ask for? We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Try to pick a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Booked a room with expedia and the only good thing was the staff was friendly. I honestly did not want to stay the entire 5 nights there. The location is great but there are a ton of other hotels to choose from. We got to our room and it was small and cramped, the tv barely worked, ants everywhere, no water pressure, the bed was so uncomfortable, and it was very loud! Thank goodness for earplugs and that didn't even do the trick. Had a room by the elevator and all you hear was constant dinging and buzzing noise that went on ALL night long. The doors had vents on them and you could hear every single conversation in the hallways. Glad that the weather was awesome so we didn't have to go back to our room. Needs a major renovation!!

Room Tip: I don't think it had any good rooms. The rooms look amazing on their website but we were fooled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

What I enjoyed the most about this hotel was the location, it's relaxing palm park with swing nests and refreshing swimming pool. The hotel furniture needs some renovation. Spanish speaking staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed in a single room which was OK but really outdated and looked old. Breakfast was not included. good location if you are going to the conference there... the main exhibition hall is 8 min walk from there and the beach is just a 2 min walk.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marseilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marseilles Hotel

Address: 1741 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marseilles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marseilles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marseilles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.