We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly named” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freehand Miami

Save Saved
You added Freehand Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Freehand Miami
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale Save 30%
Petersburg, WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfectly named”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

First let me say that my review is based on my experience with the staff and the entrance only, as we did not end up staying, but thru no fault of the facility.
Looking for a 1 night stay near the beach for our family, we booked our stay thru Hotels.com for a private quad. We had no prior experience with hostels and Hotels.com did not clarify that Freehand was a hostel.
When we arrived, the clerk was pleasant, however she said there was a problem with our reservation and asked that we have a seat while she sorted things out. After about 20-30 minutes a manager came and explained that although we were promised a private quad, they actually booked our family in 2 separate shared rooms, with strangers, which wasn't going to work for us. He was very courteous and polite.
Unfortunately by this time it was midnight and we were unable to find a room nearby so we had to leave South Beach and make reservations near the airport.
None of this was the fault of Freehand and I appreciate their attempt to help us.
As far as the vibe, I would definitely say it's a trendy hostel, candlelit entrance with 60s music playing and lots of open space, lots of groups of couples playing games.
Not really a family or traditional hotel.
Hotels.com claimed there was parking for $10.70 - not true. We spent 40 minutes looking for street parking.
So if you're not familiar with hostels or you're looking for a traditional hotel make sure you do your research. Again, I am not faulting Freehand and appreciate everything they did to try to resolve the issue. Best wishes to them!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    129
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
46
127
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Absolutely stunning deco building in a great part of town that is close to supermarket, bars and beach. The rest of south beach is easily accessible by frequent buses or as most of us did hire the hop on hop off bikes to get around like a local. The staff gave me fab tips on where to check out the sunset, Saturday art walk in the Wynward district and lots of not for tourist type things to do. The place came alive during the evening when the Broken Shaker opened. So cool. No problems during the day grabbing a sun lounger either. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm which worked well. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Yes, the vibe is definitely cool. And drinking/dining in the atmospheric courtyard around the pool with all the young hipsters at night is a Miami-style experience for sure. But the 'hostel' label and being cool doesn't exempt you from getting the basics right. We reserved a bungalow for our family of 5 several months ahead, and received written confirmation of our reservation, only to be told matter-of-factly upon arrival that the bungalow was not available and they would give us two adjacent rooms instead. Not an apology, nothing. Sorry, but how hard can it really be to actually have a room available that you confirmed as a 'reservation'?! And when you screw up, and you're in a service industry, at least apologise for the inconvenience.

The toilet in the children's room leaked water when flushed, so the bathroom was a swamp in no time. We told the girl at reception and they would look into it. When we came back to the children's room some time later, the 'solution' that they apparently came up with was to put towels around the toilet bowl. For 338 dollars for 1 night for a family of 5, you need to do better than that, I don't care how cool (you think) you are. If you can't get basics like reservations and proper bathrooms right, you should reconsider if you are in the right business.

Generally speaking, the bathrooms really need an update; everything was really worn in our two rooms. And if you are a light sleeper, pick another place, especially if it's. saturday night; the crowd in the dining area outside makes a lot of noise and the windows don't offer much isolation.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid a room that looks onto the patio. The sound of people drinking and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

It is a kind of hostel we stayed at the hotel in two rooms. I and my 3 boys liked the beds very much. The bath rooms were very old but the breakfast was our favorite... The location of the Hotel is really good it was very close to the beach and by car we travelled all over Miami . I want to mention the hotel staf was really nice and helped us when we had problem with our car. If I go Miami again I can stay ther.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Dear Travellers,

Please be aware while choosing this hostel, I just had the misfortune of having my Apple MacBook Pro and iPad stolen from the locker. Earlier in the day one more room mate from the room had his Laptop stolen. The hostel staff did nothing and are unwilling to review the camera recording stating they are unauthorised to review the recordings and need to wait until the manager arrives. I have reported the incident with Miami Beach Police. Not expecting much from the investigations though.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi there,

We are so sorry to hear about your poor experience. Please contact us directly at info.miami@thefreehand.com so we can investigate further into the incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Loved this hostel, even better than expected! The decor is fantastic, the staff are helpful. It's clean and comfortable - more like a hotel than a hostel. I would definitely go back again.

Our room was comfortable and clean - and private! Pool is great and the outside area is really nice. The drinks at the bar are amazing and the atmosphere at night is really good.

So close to the beach and there are shops only down the road. Excellent location.

Room Tip: Go private, we got a 4 bed dorm and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're so glad you had an amazing stay at the Freehand - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The place is great and definitely more of a hotel. Really close to the beach. The biggest issue is the front desk service being extremely slow. Usually one person on the desk and leaving it unmanned long periods. Service is definitely not worth the money you pay...

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for the feedback - we value your input and hope you decide to come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freehand Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.