We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky sanctuary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freehand Miami

Save Saved
You added Freehand Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Freehand Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quirky sanctuary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Whoever designed Freehand Miami deserves an award, it is so tastefully designed and with travellers in mind.

Location: a short walk from Lincoln Mall and lots of restaurants - try Maoz Vegetarian for cheap felafel's. You can get a bus down to South Beach but it is harder getting back, it is a really enjoyable ride with the comfortable citi bikes.

Dorm: we stayed in a four person dorm for Ultra Music Festival and it was amazing. The bedroom nooks are soo roomy and comfortable, with stacks of plugs, a reading lamp. There is just SO much room in the dorms and they are very clean.

Outdoor entertaining: another beautiful area of the hostel, the retro furniture along with fairy lights make it a wonderful place to relax. While I didn't get in the pool (too cold) it was a fun sun baking area.

Staff: so helpful and friendly. We even got a disposable camera on arrival!

LOVED our stay and would highly recommend it for others.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    93
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
30
94
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vitória
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, close to the beach. For those who rent a car, there is no parking but it's easy to park in the street. There is a pool and a pub in the hostel. The breakfast is not great. The staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: You can acess the internet in the rooms in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate you taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hostel. Stayed in dorm...2 bunk / 4 person. Definitely worth the value at under $45 per night. If weekends ...rate more so the choice b/w hostel or hotel is up to your preference. Beds comfy, very clean...housekeeping on duty all day. Great pool area. Local cafe / supermarket for food too. Breakfast is good to wake up to....then hit the pool. Inexpensive bar food too. Walk to beach in 2 blocks, south beach 15 mins walk. On route for bus to airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After backpacking a lot and living in dorms for almost a year it was my first hostel experience in the US. I must say the Freehand is amazing. Really nice location, close to the beach and just a 20 minute walk/5$cap ride to south beach.
The staff members try to answer you any question possible and have great recommendations of what to do in town. The bar/backyard area is chilled and really nice and makes you totally forget about being in a city.
The 4-bed dorm is amazing. Enough space for everybody, little walking closet with lockers and a private bathroom, everything looks really taken care of, it is clean and towels and co. are provided. there is even a little store behind the reception.
I can totally recommend that place, you might have to pay a little more than you would at a normal hostel, therefore you get hotel atmosphere offered for an amazing price in that are.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had an amazing first experience staying in a hostel. Great location and affordable price plus relaxed atmosphere and different people from around the world which you get to meet. Excellent patio and pool area which makes the hostel even better. Super good for solo travellers. Everything was good except showers.

Room Tip: Room for 8 people more spacious and has two bathrooms whereas room for 4 much smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm here and it was perfect for our needs. Big beds, lockers (bring your own padlock), bed sheets, towels, AC and private bathroom. Breakfast is included and is OK (pastry and a piece of fruit, juice / coffee). Great location - a few minutes walk to the beach and a short cab to local eats / clubs / south beach. Supermarket close by. You can also hire bikes if you don't fancy walking around. Wifi connection is strong and reliable. Good social areas (lobby and courtyard) without being too noisy. Courtyard has a mixology cocktail bar and offers snacks. Nice sized pool. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Freehand - we are happy you loved your stay here! Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here with some friends and couldn't be happier with our time spent there. The location is perfect (a block from the beach and a $5 cab ride from the heart of south beach), the people working there were very friendly and helpful, the other guests helped create a fun and social atmosphere, and our room suited our needs perfectly. I would honestly recommend this place to EVERYONE especially people from out of town looking to get into the heart of Miami's atmosphere. The Freehand had events each day the guests could sign up for, a reggae bbq on sundays, and amazing music (sometimes live) and drinks each night. We cant wait to go back in a few months and bring some family and friends with us!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! We're glad you loved your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach
Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freehand Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.