We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Cheap, v Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Freehand Miami to your Saves list
Freehand Miami
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER SALE: Save 15%
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, Cheap, v Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

When I booked it was very cheap and I stayed their for 4 nights throughout August. Well worth the stay, although it is quite a walk from a few of the main attractions and the nightlife.

Was the most comfortable hostel I have stayed in!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    156
    59
    14
    11
See reviews for
32
56
159
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The freehand is more like a hotel and does not feel like a traditional hostel. The atmosphere doesn't make you feel like a juvenile, broke, backpacker, but an adult who's enjoying some wonderful amenities and greeted professionally by staff.
An amazing place in every which way for the budget conscious and non budget conscious alike.
The atmosphere and location is ideal. I came alone but didn't have to be alone if I didn't want to. I met some great people and had awesome company. Convenient bus routes and the miami beach bus is only 25 cents for a ride and goes all around miami beach. The downtown bus and bus to the airport is between 2.25 and 2.65. The public transport in miami is extremely efficient and for once i did not have to rent a car. It was about a 30-40 minute bus ride to the airport. The property is lush and green, and you have plenty of seating options depending on your mood. The lounge chairs near the pool are ideal for sunbathing , umbrella use optional. The beach is a 5 minute walk away, ideal and quiet. Food options include the onsite restaurant and a nearby subway and a cuban supermarket with prepared food you can purchase at reasonable prices , not to mention excellent coffee between 1-2 dollars.
( The coffee at freehand is not so great..sorry guys). The meals at the supermarket that I bought were large enough for me to pack half of it away for the next day..
Conveniently located is also a Walgreens nearby for your practical needs.
My room was an 8 bed dorm with 2 ensuite washrooms. Always clean and you get a fresh towel daily. Reading lights and outlets in every bed, plus air conditioning units.
The public kitchen has a great gas oven, water cooler and fridges, that is always kept neat/clean..
The atmopshere in the evenings is really great and it's no problem to socialize, have a few drinks and enjoy the setting.
The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and a big help!
Great cleaning staff as well!
Breakfast is fruit/pastries/coffee/and juice..
The orange juice is really yummy..but i'm not a pastry person, and i always travel with single packs of instant oatmeal, to make a more complete breakfast. the water cooler has a hot water option and it took me 2 seconds to prepare some oatmeal with the rest of the breakfast. Just a tip!
Also the cuban supermarket offers' basic and more elaborate breakfasts, starting at 1.50 for a bowl of cereal..
The hostel suggests some day trips and i heard of many people who enjoyed the " everglades tour" and even picks up at the hostel for 39 bucks..
Can't go wrong!
It's the best place I hear to stay in miami beach , and you won't be sorry you came!
I heard some comments about it being loud in the evenings. Don't forget there is a bar in the back terrace, so if it's a concern bring ear plugs and/or ask staff about options where noise levels may be reduced..

Enjoy!

T

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! We're glad you loved your time at the Freehand. Come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Need to stay the night in the Miami area and opted for this hostel after reading reviews. The facilities were clean, friendly staff, centrally located, and within walking distance to most of everything you need in the south beach area. Plus the price was fantastic! Also there are so many people staying from all over the world that you're bound to meet someone cool.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A hostel with a pool? And a leafy courtyard? And a hipster bar?
This place is fantastic! The rooms are uber trendy, just like the rest of the establishment. We stayed in a four dorm and it had plenty of space to store things, as well as its own bathroom.
It's about a 15 minute walk to the restaurant/shopping strip of South Beach, but the hostel rents bikes so you could always take that option to get around a bit faster.
The Freehand is really close to the beach and a little cafe called Tropical Beach Cafe, where we got our daily smoothie fix.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

When I walked through MIA with my carry on luggage, I found it incredibly easy to find the exit and hailed a taxi within sixty seconds. The 34.00$ can ride was beautiful.
First, from the outside you gasp at the beautiful architecture surrounding the establishment. When I walked in I could have easily spent an hour absorbing the local art, books, maps, activity boards, and the retro furniture took my breath away.
The staff was excellent. Check in was easy and took under ten minutes and I found the staff to be extremely accommodating and friendly. My room was a king bed private room, minimalist and perfect. Retro bathroom , beautiful water bottles, very eco friendly.
I could write a book on the Broken Shaker bar and outside courtyard and pool. Flabbergasted doesn't describe my first reaction. It was breathtaking , beautiful , cool music of a variety of genres. It truly took my breath away.
I found a bartender named Randy to be my favorite, Bc he was so kind and attentive to my and whoever else I was around. Some of the other female outside waitresses were not very friendly and actually a bit rude ( and I am born and raised from New Jersey).
My water was always complimented with mint, cucumber, and/or lemon which was lovely. I felt like I was in paradise sitting by the pool all day, chatting with locals and other international travelers. It was truly a pleasure.
I will visit Freehand Miami in the next few months without a doubt. Freehand Miami is five stars and I fell in love at first site.

Written sincerely with love and positive vibes

EMILY SNYDER
GYMRAT27@gmail.com

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review us - we're glad you had a great experience and are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Clean place, comfortable bed, close to beach.

Booked it on the basis that we could get parking (was told by email we could), but then when we turned up it was a struggle to find a spot; they have a bar as part of the hostel which can be good, but our room faced it and one night we wanted an early sleep, which we had no chance of getting!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Originally I was tossing up between this hostel or the Miami Beach International Hostel because of the location. Ended up going Miami Beach and what a huge mistake that was. Atrocious doesn't even begin to describe it. Ended up getting a refund and moving to the Freehand. Wow. I ended up travelling for a few months in numerous hostels and this one takes the best hostel prize. It is hotel standard with super cheap pricing. The rooms are super spacious and they considered all the extras needed to make a backpacker feel at home with bed privacy walls, personal lamps and power outlets, couches and tables in the rooms and 2 brand new bathrooms for 8 people. I travelled on my own and met some amazing people here. The pool and beer garden was a perfect addition. Don't even worry about it being 'out of town'. I walked into town all the time and was only like a 10min walk straight down the main rd. You will not be disappointed I promise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freehand Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.