We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freehand Miami

Save Saved
You added Freehand Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Freehand Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale Save 30%
Ranked #49 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolute Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the hostel in a private double with an en suite at the beginning of September. We loved every minute of it! Firstly, its perfectly located just a block from the beach with a market to pick up water and snacks on the way. The pool and the garden area are pristine, really romantic at night when the lights are all lit up. Theres also a ping pong table which is especially fun after having a couple of beers from the bar. Our room was really outstanding. Immaculately clean, comfortable bed, digital radio, flat screen TV and air conditioned.
But the best part of the stay has to be the staff. They were professional, friendly and very helpful. On our first day of our stay my boyfriend had a terrible allergic reaction to squid and they were able to help us (being from the UK) find a doctor. Can't thank them enough, they really made our stay.
I would absolutely recommend to people looking for somewhere to stay away from the chaos of SoBe and if you can spring for it, go for the private room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're glad you had a great time at the Freehand - come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    122
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
24
42
121
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is simply the Best. This Hostel is the place to be in MIami. The Hostel is located walking distance from MIami Beach and a Shop and restaurants are around the corner too. This Hostel is very special. The decoration makes you feel like you are at a special place. The Pool is awsome. We stayed in the Bungalow. The Bungalow was like a little apartment. Living room, Bedroom, Kitchen and two bathrooms. Also there was lots of places to storage clothes etc. You didn't feel like you were in a hostel at all. The Apartment was cleaned every single day they even washed the dishes. Everyone was really nice and friendly there the staff was very helpful too. Excellent, Excellent, Excellent. I will defiantly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you don't know, this Place is a hostel--a really nicely renovated, low-key, cool hostel. Although there are some standard king rooms like a typical hotel, I recommend this for a girls' or guys' weekend or even a family reunion and a stay in either the quad or Super8 rooms. These rooms have either 4 or 8 bunks. The bunks are solid, sturdy, comfy and feature details like individual lights, plugs and storage nook. The 8-bunk room has 2 baths.

The whole experience is somewhere between college dorm, summer camp and backpacking through Europe. Besides, who doesn't love bunk beds!?! We actually had 4 kids with us (10-12 yrs) and stayed in the super8 and they LOVED it! We ordered pizza, they played cards, ping pong, and board games (which hotel has) and just got a kick out of it. I would caution those with younger (not really suited) or teen kids as the overall atmosphere outside is a bit adult (i.e. definitely smelled some "herbs").

Location is awesome for what you pay. South Beach and Lincoln Rd are nearby and hotel is one short block from beach. This area is a little quieter which is nice to come back to after the SoBe craziness. Hotel is historic so you get the Art Deco vibe. They have bike rentals and other activities which are great if you're solo. They also have an awesome outdoor area and bar called the Broken Shaker.

Because it's a hostel you can buy just a bed which is a bit scary of an idea but you can request single-sex. Also since this concept is huge everywhere outside the US, guests seemed mostly Latin or European. Can't beat this value for the Beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking to time to review our property - we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I passed over this hostel initially when I first looked for accommodation, however another hostel recommended this one and I found it a great stay and met my needs. The atmosphere is very relaxed and inviting, reminds me of a cabin, it's worth the money! They have a great pool, the keys to the rooms are magnetic cards, it's very clean, staff are helpful and seemingly like their job, breakfast is decent (not lavish), it's very close to bus stops, the beds are very comfortable, the 8 rooms are spacious and I would highly recommend this hostel it's a great stay in Miami!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We decided to stay here based on TA reviews and the price. We went down to Miami with 18 girls for my bachelorette party (the other 4 stayed elsewhere). I wished we knew there were 2 bungalows as we would have booked them both. Instead we got one bungalow and 3 shared quads. Check-in was a bit slow due to all the rooms we had but the staff did their best to help us bring our luggage to the one room that was available.

The bungalow room was very spacious, we were able to host 18-21 people there one night for some pregame festivities before heading out. The fridge came in handy for drinks. For a large room, I wish there were more mirrors, there was only one mirror.

Anne Posschelle was great at responding to our emails and inquires before our travels. There were 2 girls that were supposed to have a shared quad with strangers and ended up not having roomates at all. AC and electricity worked perfectly although sometimes it was hard to turn on and off the pull chain light in the closet/locker room.

The pool/bar area was very cool and hip. We hung out there one night and ordered a sangria bowl (about 200.00),

We ate where the locals ate and ate at the nearby Cuban family restaurant, Topical Beach cafe almost everyday and packed coolers at the grocery store and headed to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for a night, overlayed, and had an awesome time. Free wifi, good enough bedding and privacy even in shared rooms. It also has access to the beach, a stonethrow's distance, and to South Beach, in a bus or bike. Definitely recommended as value-for-your-money option in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights mid-week. Very cool place and happening at night. We stayed in a king room and it was amazing, much nicer than I expected. The hotel staff were young and helpful and the bar and outdoor area are amazing. Great for those who want a fun atmosphere but not at the expense of comfort/luxury. Very close to the main south beach areas.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freehand Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.