We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Miami Beach Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Freehand Miami to your Saves list
Freehand Miami
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER SALE: Save 15%
Miami
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“New Miami Beach Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The former Indian Creek Hotel has been re-branded the Freehand Miami and converted to a hostel..

This is a beautiful hotel building built back in the days of the Miami Beach hotel boom. The building id well kept and has a large backyard with patio, bar,, pool and lots of chairs and shade.

The non-commercial atmosphere in a resort city makes this a must for those that want to experience Miami Beach and South Florida on a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    159
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
33
56
162
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spent here 2 nights, one in a double room and the other in a dorm. Excellent atmosphere, great decoration, swimming pool, bar, not too far from the best places in Miami Beach, and really helpful managers.

The best beds I've seen in a hostel, really clean rooms and overall very tidy and organized.

I'll be going back there if I am back in Miami.

Room Tip: Double rooms are really worth the money and can be better than a hotel double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you are comparing this to other hostels, it's top notch. If you are getting a private room with bathroom and comparing to hotels, it's still pretty good. The decor is cool, the games and ping pong are fun. My only real issue was the noise. We were on the first floor and oh boy was it loud. There is a bar out back, so you could hear the people out there until the wee hours. Also, you could clearly hear every time someone shut a door, flushed a toilet or even shut the door to a stall in the shared bathroom. Also, the price for the private room is not that dissimilar to some hotels in the area. I would definitely come back, but I would probably check out other hotels in the area too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I am currently vacationing in Miami @ the freehand. When I actually booked this through hotels.com, I thought it was a hotel. Too late to change my reservation, I stayed at freehand learning also that hotels.com reserved me for a 8 female shared dormitory which I DID NOT want to do but when I go to freehand, I couldn't believe my eyes. From the receptionists, to the bar, pool... Everything was fantastic. I shared a room with 7 of the coolest girls. The rooms have lockers and 2 bathrooms which only 2 if us used the lockers lol, everyone else left their things out in plain sight like laptops, rings, etc and it was not stolen. Freehand is a very relaxed environment. I love it here. The pool itself is amazing. The whole back yard area with the bar (Broken Shaker). It's one block from Collins ave and u will be on the beach. And bout 10-15 min ride on the bus to get to Collins and 11th which the next block over is ocean and 11th and ur on south beach. I don't do HOSTELS but this was an amazing experience for me. A great way to afford a vacation without paying an arm and a leg for a boutique hotel on the strip. The only con is there's no TV. Don't come looking to watch tv lol. Just to come relax, party and sleep. It's not really a party hostel. It was very quiet, actually. People sitting around in the lobby playing games, reading books, etc and even a guy played the piano. U love freehand. After reading about hostels, I thought it would have been the worse place to stay, ever! Lol. It wasn't. Try it, u will love it. I saw young and old here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi there!
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We’re glad you had a great experience here! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Freehand really impressed me - great location, good value, beautiful interiors, great atmosphere, spotlessly clean, safe, and friendly & helpful staff.

I travelled alone and met some lovely people in the 4 bed room I stayed in, which was really spacious. The pool area is great and was never too crowded, the bar there too is also good.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I read all the reviews about this hostel so I went for it. But guess what?.. I surpassed all my expectations! The building itself is really amazing, with spacious rooms with AC and all. Hygiene was a+ as well as the change of towels and bed sheets. I've never seen a hostel THAT clean.
With its vintage furnitures, the Freehand has one of the most charming decos I've ever seen in any Hostel or Hotel. the lighing and lounge music by the pool matches perfectly with the atmosphere. The Broken Shaker (bar) is awesome! A little bit expensive if you ask me, but then again you're in Miami Beach, so yeah...it's kinda an average price. But the cocktails are really amazing, highly recommended.

Bikes for rent are great, the events they do..I mean really..I'm in love with the place! Definetely gonna stay there in my next visit to Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Super 8 rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked the Standard King, a room with a King bed and private bathroom. The room was small but had everything we needed. It had a comfortable bed, TV, good shower. Was ok in cleanliness.

Earplugs are recommended if you get a poolside room, this can be a bit noisy if you want to sleep before 2 at night! Air-conditioning was a bit noisy as well but worked ok. Because of the classic glass windows that can be opened like Luxaflex, more noise and warmth enter the room then necessary.

The location is very good, walking distance to the beach, a grocery store at the end of the street, affordable parking around the corner. If you want to walk all the way to the end of Ocean Drive the distance is 2.6 miles / 4.2 kilometers, about 50 minutes. Breakfast is simple, but if you would like to start the day with coffee/tea, fruit and some simple pastries this is ok.

The cocktails at the Broken Shaker are really good, although a bit pricey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freehand Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.