We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April at Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freehand Miami

Save Saved
You added Freehand Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Freehand Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale Save 30%
Ranked #49 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“April at Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were a family group of seven people. We stayed from Wednesday April 17 to Tuesday April 23. We were assigned the apartments that are in a building separate from the main one. Rooms are spacious, very comfortable beds and good air conditioning. Lots of nightlife in the area of the pool with a good vibe. The noise was never a problem as we were a bit away from the pool area. Breakfast the same every day, sweet pastry and beef pastry, orange juice, coffee and fruit, it would be good to vary a little but it gave us the energy needed to start the day. Ignoring the details ... is an excellent hosting

On the other hand...

It was the first time that we were staying in a hostel but we expected a little more cleaning in the rooms as they were private and not shared. The towels were only changed once in the six days. On the other hand, regarding the payment, we expected to do it with two credit cards but the hostel policies could only do allowed it with one. Maybe it was our fault for not making the prepayment as we had offered by Janine. In short, the site is very nice, maybe a bit high in price but I think it's excellent location makes up. Regarding parking, plenty of spaces near the hotel. Only it becomes difficult to locate a spot on Friday nights, given the hotel's nightlife and other places nearby

Room Tip: The apartments of the bulding next to the main one are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    119
    39
    8
    5
See reviews for
24
41
116
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend was planning on staying for few days but ended up staying for just over one wk.Somehow it was just too good to leave...Our room was clean and specious,friendly staff,nice pool ...The atmosphere was very relaxed nice bar which is full of friendly people travellers as well as locals.There is Italian restaurant close by the food there was wau!If you like good food and nice bottle of wine that's the place to be....I would definitely recommend this place
Andrea H

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great place to sleep and party. Its only a block away from the beach and a 20min bus ride from Miami international airport. The rooms and hotel was clean and up to date with that Hipster edge and quality. They offer just as much as the bigger hotels do pool, lounge, tours, but on a more personal level. If your traveling alone the don't worry the the freehand has plenty of people hanging around to help you find things to do. Only thing was having to wait for a room over 3 hours to be ready. But just drop your bags and head for the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

i stayed there with a friend of mine for one week and we loved it! you get more than you expect! friendly people, nice stuff, great pool, delicious drinks at the bar, cool music all day, free bbq at saturdays, free yoga lesson at the beach, close to the ocean amazing backyard with loads of plants and animals, very clean, cheap... we stayed in a dorm with 4 beds inside and had enough space for our backpacks. we actually didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As we arrived to the hotel, it looks and feel exactly what we expected. However, the elevator was under repair, so we had to lug all our baggage upstair one, two, and one of the family 3 levels. No assistant, or bell boy system here. You are on your own. My room is on Indian Creek side and the main windows are cracked opened 1". The handle to close/open the window is removed/missing. What does this do? Well, at night time, as people get off the taxi and blocked the road, the cars behind them honked and honked. With the not fully close windows, the traffice noise becam amplified and all night, none of my family had a half decent sleep. Plus to that, our room is situated right on top of hotel main air condition system, to the fan (huge) blows constantly. One other family, the faucet water runs continuosly, not stoppable. So, they did not have a good sleep either. So, if you get a room on Indian Creek side, change right away.
The games they had in the lobby are nice. Kept us busy.
Breakfast is a joke as all they had are some muffins, croissant. Breakfast starts at 8 and by 8:30, sorry we have no more bananas.
To make things worse, as were carruing our baggage down the stairs, we noticed that our arms are cover with white paint. It turned out to be that the maintenance guy was just touching up parts of the stairways during the RUSH CHECKOUT hour, without any warning or signs of wet paint. One of our friend wore an expensive jacket and one side of the sleeve if stained with the paint. When we told the receptionist of this, she said, it's OK, it will come off eventually.
The only thing maybe good to this hotel is the price was not bad ($130 for us a room) and the beach is a short 3 minutes walk.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: This hotel needs to be maintained much much better as their are signs of negligence every where. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and to share experience about your stay here at Freehand Miami. We take all of our guests feedback very seriously and use it to help improve our business and operations. We apologize for the infrastructure-related concerns that you experienced. This property was built in the 1930s, and we are in the process of upgrading and addressing many issues with the building, including the ones that you mentioned. We also apologize for your negative experience with our staff. Regarding the paint stain on your clothing, please email or call us about this so we can make sure to resolve this issue. Additionally, we would love to invite you to come back for a complimentary overnight stay. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is great if you are traveling alone because you get the chance to meet people by sharing rooms. The price is in beatable compared to anywhere else in Miami. There is a pool and a wonderful lounge area in the back as well as a bar. You can sign up for tours at the front desk. You can also rent bicycles from the front desk when available. Parking is crazy as is everywhere in Miami beach. There is street parking at $1 per hr. I shared a 4 female room. There was enough space for everyone. They provide you with a locker to store your valuables. Lock not included. The hotel is off of 28 st which is about 10 to 15 blocks from the action of south beach but its not too far from anything. Great hotel and I would gladly stay again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about the freehand, i was there for a week and it was amazing. the staff were helpful, the pool clean, the most comfortable sun beds and amazing beds in the rooms - clean facilities, tasty breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from reception as it can get noisy around there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're so glad you enjoyed your time here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freehand Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.