We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Freehand Miami to your Saves list
Freehand Miami
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FALL Sale Save 20%
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean with character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

stayed here one night, Friday to Saturday, after a party cruise. We needed sleep and we got it, plenty. So much so that we missed the small breakfast. Therefore, no comments about it.

The hostel is very clean, has character and a lovely garden with pool area. There's even a resident cat, staying outdoors and giving sulky looks to all those people around its kingdom.
Our garden facing room was a spacious with 2 bunk beds and bathroom that had decor from 40's or 50's. Loved the fact that the floors were hard wood.
During the day all the way into the midnight, they played music in the garden. So ear plugs were useful in this location.
Beds were wide and comfy, but if you're a tall person, you'll end up sleeping corner-to-corner. But all in all, relaxing place to hang-out and wait for your flight/cruise/dinner date.
The staff was very helpful and polite. There's a big secure room where to store your luggage if you come in earlier than check-in time or leave a lot later than you're check-out time. And when you need a taxi to airport, staff at the front desk gets one for you in no time.
We have stayed in many hostels around the world, and I would say this one gets into one of the top tens in our list.
Great job, guys & gals!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    153
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
53
156
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're used to be hosted in hotels (3* or up), you'll might get disappointed. On the other hand, it's a nice place for low profile travellers, where you can improve your network since, as the hostel concepot says, you'll share your room with different people (from 4 to 10 people rooms). I got a private room, which was in the third floor, the elevator didn't work and the corridor had a strange smell, like wet wood and it was a little sad... The people at reception was friendly and nice and the breakfast had few choices (muffis and orange juice).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We encourage all our guests to network and interact and hope you were able to make some good connections!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here 4 nites in a quad in high season for under 40USD per nite. Placen is clean, staff plentiful & pool & garden area + location/price are the draw. European, Braziillian crowd/ median age 26 (though some young families w kids& 50+).Free wifi/street meter parking 8-6pm Things to know: bring a small sturdy lock(luggage size) for non private room lockers; bring earplugs/eye shades if sensitive to dance music till 2 am (the pool area=evening hangout for public) and roommates returning in same period. Outdoor smoking/pool, garden etc is allowed throughout Fla. If you're a young single female: be wary of some of the guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Freehand is a funky little hostel property for twenty-something hipsters from all over the world. It is certainly not for everyone. The halls can be a bit noisy at times. There is no carpet in the entire place, as far as I could tell. If you are over thirty years old, and are discomforted by being the oldest person in the room, you absolutely should not stay at this property. If you have kids with you, this is not the property for you. However, I absolutely loved the little place. They have a great little salt water pool, with a really fantastic high-end cocktail bar featuring the work of two truly excellent mixologists, and some friendly and knowledgeable bartenders. The rooms are profoundly spartan. Many of the rooms are shared, with bunkbeds. I opted for a private room. Service, as with any hostel, is less than minimal. The housekeeping "staff" isn't going to put chocolates on your pillow, in other words. No restaurant or food, really, other than complimentary muffins, juice and coffee for breakfast. However, there is a great little Cuban family restaurant a half-block away that serves cheap, excellent food. Plus you are a significant walk (or short cab ride) away from all of the restaurants of South Beach.

For a comfortable, very simple, affordable stay in Miami Beach, it is hard to beat the Freehand. If you are in your 20's and you are part of the super-cool crowd, you'll fit right in. That doesn't describe me, but I will definitely be back anyway. Great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We’re glad you’ll be back and we hope to be serving food by that time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Freehand from Feb 7-11 for my first visit to Miami Beach with a few friends. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Pros: The hotel provides complimentary coffee/muffins in the morning which is nice. The outdoor space is pretty awesome. Lots of places to lounge about and a good amount of chairs by the pool for laying out. They also play great music. The outdoor area with the bar and pool was great fun. It was nice to have a drink or two there before hitting the town. The outdoor area is never locked, so when my friends and I came home, sometimes around 4 or 5am, we could dip our feet in the pool and just relax for a while. I thought this was really nice. The room itself was simple, but always clean and comfortable. We were in the four person private quad. I was on a top bunk, so getting up to go to the bathroom at night meant climbing a ladder but this was the most minor of inconveniences. No complaints about the room or room service. Also, every time we needed something the staff was friendly and available. The location of the hotel itself is also quite nice - just two blocks from the beach. It is not in the heart of South Beach, but it's a nice quiet area. The heart of SoBe is easily walkable in 10 minutes, and a cab ride from the hotel to Nikki Beach (southernmost part of Miami Beach) was only $12.

Cons: The only two cons to this place was that there did seem to be a funky odor permeating the air in some parts of the hotel. Not sure where it was coming from or what caused it, but on our floor there was a general odor of "funk". Secondly, the hotel does not offer late check out, which we had hoped to get, so be prepared for that. Check out time is 11 AM.

Overall, we had an excellent time. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Miami Beach and I would definitely stay there again. Thank you for the hospitality!

Room Tip: Get a bottom bunk in the quads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We’re glad you chose Freehand as your hostel for your first trip to Miami, hope there will be many more and you’ll stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As a flight attendant, many of my nights are spent at Hiltons, Sheratons, Doubletrees, etc. When I travel for pleasure, I crave a different experience. Freehand Miami was just that.

My husband and I checked in on February 2 for two nights before going on a cruise. We booked a private, 4-bunk room. The beds are twins, so you'll either really have to snuggle up really tight or just sleep separately (we chose the latter).

I pre-purchased our stay from Hotels.com. Upon check-in, we were charged again by mistake. It was refunded immediately, no big deal. Actually I take part of the blame because I wasn't paying attention when my husband was checking in or else I would've caught it before we were charged.

The lobby is really cute and low-key, as is the hostel in general. There are bicycles available for rent and board games you can check out. There is a little bulletin board that has daily activities listed next to the front desk -- we went to the Lincoln Road Farmers Market and had a wonderful day there. We wouldn't have known about it had it not been for that bulletin board! The garden and pool area is absolutely gorgeous. There are ping pong tables, plenty of seating around the pool, and seating throughout the garden. I'm calling it a garden because it was that beautiful. Just a really cool, low-key, eclectic space. There is a bar outside with very reasonably priced cocktails. We were there on a Saturday night and the garden/bar area was packed all night, at least until 4am. It is a great scene and the music was SO good anytime -- day and night. Sunday was Super Bowl and although the property has no TVs, they brought in a gigantic screen and showed the game in the garden/bar area. Awesome.

A block away is a little strip mall with a Subway, a liquor store, and two restaurants. We ate at the Cantina, and it was excellent. Very convenient if you need a quick thing or two and/or you don't want to trek all the way down to SoBe.

At first I was afraid we'd be really old compared to the other guests (we're both 33), and although there were many guests younger than us, there were also families with small children as well as a handful of guests that looked to be in their 40s. A lot of Europeans, which doesn't bother me because my husband is European. Everyone was friendly and open to chatting, which I really like. If you're a keep-to-yourself kind of person, you can do that here too.

The rooms are kind of loud. The hallways have wood floors and don't absorb much sound, so I did wake up a couple times on Saturday night when people were coming in after a night on the town, and I'm a pretty heavy sleeper. Honestly, that would really be my only complaint about the Freehand Miami, and that's not that bad as far as complaints go. The rooms are clean and cute, kind of Ikea-esque. Each bunk has a little light and a cubby to plug in your electronics. I thought that was cool. My husband and I had a lot of fun climbing around on the bunk beds -- I say bunk bed, but really it's an entire wall unit, like a built-in. Very sturdy.

South Beach proper (what you see in the movies, etc.) is about 1-1.5 miles away, accessible by a beachfront boardwalk, or you can walk up Collins Ave. It was a little farther than ideal, especially after the 5-mile run on the boardwalk I did every morning, but we're active and pretty fit, it was really no big deal. It would probably suck after a night of drinking, though. A cab is about $5 one way and readily available.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again. Really cool vibe, nice, friendly people, and a great staff. My first and most excellent hostel experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering the lobby, you will be amazed. Extremely pretty place in an old, traditional building with beautiful outside area including pool; all very tasteful. The breakfast offers only two items on the menu but boy, they are good: enjoying small muffins and fruit salat in a comfy couch under an old tree in the garden with some Cuban vibes in the background gives you a good start of the day, before walking a mere three minutes over to Miami beach...

The service was good, the facilities were indeed very clean, the rooms properly aired, the beds amazingly comfortable and equipped with outlets and the two en suite bathrooms of the 8 bed dorm were cleaned on a daily basis. All in all, way beyond hostel standard and highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We take pride in making sure our hostel is as clean as possible at all times, we’re glad you noticed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelBookers, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freehand Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.