We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoultely fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Freehand Miami to your Saves list
Freehand Miami
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER SALE: Save 15%
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absoultely fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went there with friends to hava a drink or two at the bar (Broken Shaker)...beautiful atmosphere outside, the poeple where very cool, kinda hipster, loved it! Nice drinks and good pricing! oh and the music was perfect...chilled...very nice place in Miami.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed drinks at our on property bar, we change the menu every week so make sure to check back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    156
    59
    14
    11
See reviews for
32
56
159
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This isn't just "great for a hostel"- it's better than some Art Deco boutique hotels I've stayed at in South Beach. The common area is adorable. The courtyard is beyond charming and the rooms are clean, comfortable and cute. You don't expect a flatscreen tv, iPod dock, complimentary castille soap, fluffy pillows and soft comfy robes in a hostel, but that's what you get with one of the private king rooms. The courtyard is an oasis by day with a great pool, hammocks and adirondak chairs among the banyan trees. and by night, a wonderland with lively music, a hopping bar and candles lighting your evening game of ping pong or bocce ball. The complimentary breakfast is nothing special, but its nice to have a muffin and juice and coffee before you wander out for the day. I was pleased to see there was a great mix of guests in age and group size- not just 20 year old backpackers. (Although you can find most of them sleeping off their hangovers by the pool in the am)

My one negative is the check in process. We arrived after a redeye flight at 7am and knew we'd have to wait to check in... But the girl at the counter refused to let us into a room any earlier than the 3:00pm check in time, despite the fact that there were some rooms ready. Very frustrating. Didn't make sense to have a mass of people get into line at 2:59. So don't arrive early. They're not kidding.

But otherwise, the staff was very attentive and friendly and much more than I expected from a hostel. Really loved the experience and wish we were staying longer than one night.

Tip: if you don't have a car (which you won't need) you can take the 150 bus from the airport for $2.35 and it drops you off at Indian Creek and 31st- right across the street from Freehand. And when you want to go to the south end of the beach. You can hop on the South Beach Shuttle at 23rd St for a quarter. Save your money for the overpriced drinks of SB ; )

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We're glad you think we're better than "great for a hostel". We always want to make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible when staying at Freehand. We are a new property so we are working on the check in-process to ensure a faster and earlier check in time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We can only recommend the "freehand" hostel in Miami Beach. It is a very unique spot with a warm and friendly atmosphere and a tasteful interior design.
Breakfast is in the price included and very delicious (freshly, handmade fruit salad, muffins, café, jogurt...)
The rooms are comfortable and the beds are cosy, as you got the impression of laying in a boats cabin.
In the evenings you can hang out at the bar (which plays fabulous music by the way: Beatles, Hendrix, Stones...).
As an alternative you can get some food for take away and enjoy dinner outside in the lovely garden in the light of little lanterns.
All in all, the stay in the "freehand" hostel was good price for your money and one of the best options in Miami Beach to spend some relaxing and pleasant days in an extraordinary surrounding.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed the stay, right down to our music taste! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience at the Freehand. It's totally affordable, the staff is courteous and helpful, plus the place is newly renovated and nicely designed. The rooms are spacious, clean and look great.

The outdoor bar area and pool are awesome (and the drinks are pretty great). As far as hostels go, this place is a palace. Our experience couldn't have been better

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Drew, it seems like you enjoyed Art Basel as much as we did! We’re happy to read that your experience couldn’t have been better and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hostel, I have stayed at many in Europe and in Miami and this was one of the finest. Staff was very friendly and the rooms were really roomy and clean. Lots going on at night in the back and its pretty close to south beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
It’s nice reading that as an experience traveler you think our hostel is one of the finest around. We appreciate your compliments on our staff, cleanliness and nightly events. Hoping to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you are young and know other hostels and hotels, this is heaven. The pool is fantastic, the bar plays the best music and serves great drinks. Also incredible location. People who don't like this place they are just not into cool places, they probably prefer the Hilton but they just don't have the money, so grow up, this is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hi Lucas, sounds like you had a great time while you stayed at our property. Great reading that you enjoyed our pool, and the great drinks and music at our pool area all within easy access to all the Miami Beach action. We are super happy that you like our concept and from reading this we know that you’ll be back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The front service is bad... What the most ridiculous is they don't have enough quilts!! All of us have to wear thin clothes to sleep! The wifi doesn't work at all. The bar is fabulous but too noisy... There is no place to park...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are happy that you chose our property. We are sad to read that the front office service fell short of what we have in mind, we wish you had written specifics. We have certainly made a note about the wifi service not working well during your stay and have asked the pool folkes to turn the volume down a bit. On your next trip we’d be more than happy to give extra towels and blankets as these are stored at the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freehand Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.