We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So extraordinary that we're going to come back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Freehand Miami to your Saves list
Freehand Miami
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So extraordinary that we're going to come back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We can only recommend the "freehand" hostel in Miami Beach. It is a very unique spot with a warm and friendly atmosphere and a tasteful interior design.
Breakfast is in the price included and very delicious (freshly, handmade fruit salad, muffins, café, jogurt...)
The rooms are comfortable and the beds are cosy, as you got the impression of laying in a boats cabin.
In the evenings you can hang out at the bar (which plays fabulous music by the way: Beatles, Hendrix, Stones...).
As an alternative you can get some food for take away and enjoy dinner outside in the lovely garden in the light of little lanterns.
All in all, the stay in the "freehand" hostel was good price for your money and one of the best options in Miami Beach to spend some relaxing and pleasant days in an extraordinary surrounding.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed the stay, right down to our music taste! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    212
    78
    23
    15
See reviews for
42
75
212
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience at the Freehand. It's totally affordable, the staff is courteous and helpful, plus the place is newly renovated and nicely designed. The rooms are spacious, clean and look great.

The outdoor bar area and pool are awesome (and the drinks are pretty great). As far as hostels go, this place is a palace. Our experience couldn't have been better

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Drew, it seems like you enjoyed Art Basel as much as we did! We’re happy to read that your experience couldn’t have been better and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great hostel, I have stayed at many in Europe and in Miami and this was one of the finest. Staff was very friendly and the rooms were really roomy and clean. Lots going on at night in the back and its pretty close to south beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
It’s nice reading that as an experience traveler you think our hostel is one of the finest around. We appreciate your compliments on our staff, cleanliness and nightly events. Hoping to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you are young and know other hostels and hotels, this is heaven. The pool is fantastic, the bar plays the best music and serves great drinks. Also incredible location. People who don't like this place they are just not into cool places, they probably prefer the Hilton but they just don't have the money, so grow up, this is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hi Lucas, sounds like you had a great time while you stayed at our property. Great reading that you enjoyed our pool, and the great drinks and music at our pool area all within easy access to all the Miami Beach action. We are super happy that you like our concept and from reading this we know that you’ll be back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The front service is bad... What the most ridiculous is they don't have enough quilts!! All of us have to wear thin clothes to sleep! The wifi doesn't work at all. The bar is fabulous but too noisy... There is no place to park...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are happy that you chose our property. We are sad to read that the front office service fell short of what we have in mind, we wish you had written specifics. We have certainly made a note about the wifi service not working well during your stay and have asked the pool folkes to turn the volume down a bit. On your next trip we’d be more than happy to give extra towels and blankets as these are stored at the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

How can you dream a better thrift place for Miami? Hanging out by the swimming pool was great, tasting the house cocktails was great, sharing the dorm was great (it's spacious enough, the lockers and complimentary water are welcome), plus it's impeccably clean, all the time and everywhere. The staff is amazingly helpful and kind. No pressure feelings, never. Did I mention that they were lending bikes while I was staying there? The complimentary breakfast is also delicious and abundant (should start earlier than 8 am, though). Yes, it's a bit far away from the action (if we mean Lincoln Road?), but it's a 10 min walk from the first big hotels on Collins Avenue. They have bikes (usually to rent), as mentioned, but the free city bike system is 3 blocks down. Plus there is a bus which shuttles every 7-10 min in front of the hostel going down to South Beach in 10 min maximum. Definitely the new cool place to hang out in Miami when on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Marie, we’re happy you took advantage of our amenities-the pool, bikes, complimentary breakfast and unique cocktails are something we want all of our guests to enjoy. We think you’re pretty cool too, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I called Freehand today and explained that I was planning on buying the living social deal for a king room and told the receptionist that date we wanted. She looked up the room and said it was available. I asked if it was the only one and she said there were several.

Then I got off the phone, purchased it on living social and called to book the room. I asked if they could hold it with my credit card until I got my voucher number the next day. This woman explained that could not honor the living social voucher the day I wanted. I could get a 20% discount or use it another day. She said they reached their allotment of vouchers they would accept that weekend.

I explained that I called first and specifically asked about using the voucher for that day before I purchased it and she said that it was a misunderstanding and they could not honor it. So then I had to go back and refund my purchase with living social, what a headache

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Jenn,

Darn! We are so sorry that we were not able to make a reservation for you on your requested date. We really wanted to have you here and to show you how much we really mean that, we would love to offer you a free night, we have several dates available! Check out our reviews so far, and you will see that all of our guests’ think we that are something really special and……. I know you would too!! Don’t be shy, contact our property and ask for me directly and the staff and I will make sure to get you here to experience all the good times and excitement the Freehand Miami has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Circa 39 Hotel
#57 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Vintro Hotel South Beach
Vintro Hotel South Beach
#6 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Posh Hostel
#6 of 66 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
SoBe Hostel
#14 of 66 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freehand Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.