We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An embarrassment to south beach” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Oceanfront Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Continental Oceanfront Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tingo.com Travelocity
and 2 more sites!
Continental Oceanfront Hotel South Beach
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1825 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An embarrassment to south beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I am a local and do allot of bike riding on the brickwalk between 5th St and 21st. Every time I ride behind this hotel I wonder how anyone would be scammed into staying in what appears to be an old third world hotel. No landscaping at all and a lawn full of weeds in the pool area. An discombobulated awning that is torn off so only the skeleton is there. With so many beautiful hotels as neighbors, the owners/management of this place should be embarrassed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    57
    117
    89
    302
See reviews for
101
127
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

1.great location (beach front)...2. It has a pool w gate that leads u to the beach( so u don't have to go around to the front)3.it has AC that's control individually in every room...4.the 2 beds in one room are queens size......very roomy 5. Bathroom is ok.....valet parking at a fee or park in the garages for $1 an hour or $20 for 24 hours.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I did not even stay here, I visited someone here. This place is an old disgusting hotel. I was there for 2 hours and my sinuses because aggravated, I kid you not. The person I visited was there for a few hours before me and had a serious runny nose.The a/c will make you sick because it smells like it has not been cleaned since bill clintons birth. The rooms are pathetic in decor and appearance, I looked out of the window on the second floor, and there was a ceiling level for the first foor. Outside the window with a clear sight to the beach and outdoor pool.On the ceiling level , I do not know what it was, pieces of the building, drywall, broken concrete garbage and filth, I had told the person staying at the hotel to open the window to filter the filth from the ac, but the filth outside was worse. This place is tricky because it is located north of lincoln rd on collins where alot of high ened hotels are, and from the outside it does not look like a ancient piece of jurassic aged filth. if you value your health and your vacation do not come here , even if it is free.

Room Tip: There is no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

When I Booked it I thought of a perfect location. And it was cheap!
Rooms on average were "C" minus, carpet everywhere that absorbs smell.
Everything old, romm service didn't ever pick up whenever I tried it.
Then I started itching at night and saw bites on my arm and neck. I thought that was sand flies but then one night it was so unbearable that I turned on the light and saw a bed bug crawling on the sheet, then another one. We were out of this hotel within an hour. We are asking for a full refund. I hope the bed bugs are not coming with us home.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

This by far had to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed in the beds were uncomfortable, the sheets were in question on how clean they were, the tubs leak, there mold in various places the floors are horrible the sink leaks as well. They have windows on some floors that are burst out. The elevators are the worse and last but not least it has and oder. Not a good hotel at ALL.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Someehwere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Continental Oceanfront Hotel South Beach will allow their workers to KEY IN your account information without every swiping or seeing the actual credit card. I received fradualent charges on my bank account. Called the hotel, they "can't" find the transaction. Beware!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanford
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Seriously, The room leaked water, there were also water stains on the ceiling and carpet. The carpet was held together with duct tape and the curtains looked dirty. We had a queen size bed turned side ways advertised as a king size bed ( My husband is 6'3") There are 2 very old elevators and only one of them is working. It is just very dated and dirty looking. THERE ARE NO TOWELS!!! There are no amenities whatsoever. We will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Continental Oceanfront Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Oceanfront Hotel South Beach

Also Known As:
Continental South Beach
Continental Oceanfront Miami Beach
Continental Hotel South Beach
Continental Oceanfront South Beach
Continental South Beach Hotel
Continental South Beach Oceanfront
Continental Oceanfront South Beach Miami
Address: 1825 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Continental Oceanfront Hotel South Beach 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Continental Oceanfront Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Oceanfront Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.