We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bittersweet stay, but relaxing and unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fisher Island Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Fisher Island Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fisher Island Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Fisher Island Dr., Fisher Island, Miami Beach, FL 33109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bittersweet stay, but relaxing and unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

First I want to point out that I'm rating our experience 4-stars primarily due to the location, the beach club and island amenities, and the very courteous, professional manner in which the staff addressed our issues. There is so much to be enjoyed here, but some kinks just need to be worked out, particularly among the condo-pool (owners' units).

To be clear, there is the "hotel" area of this property which are charming and beautifully decorated historic villas around the Vanderbuilt estate which is a Fisher Island landmark. And then there are individual condo units that are independently owned but are in the hotel pool. When I had originally booked a 1 bedroom condo with an ocean view, what we actually got was rather disappointing. The unit was very small and dated, and had only a partial ocean view. Management, however, was very quick and kind to upgrade us into a direct oceanfront 2 bedroom unit that had just been redecorated. It was very clean with great natural light and nice beach decor, and a gorgeous, over-sized balcony.

But then came the bugs. Big ones. Keep in mind we are very long time Floridians and totally get that bugs are going to be around. Giant, flying palmetto bugs and roaches live outside in the palm trees and shrubbery but will glad take residence in yours if you don't have doors and windows properly sealed. The first thing we noticed was that there was a 2 inch gap under the front door and we promptly called to have maintenance do something to seal it. We had to place a towel against the door overnight until they came to fix it the next day. This would be an example of the issues between condo-owner vs. hotel management. Really, this should have been something the owner should have never overlooked, but the hotel had to hear of our complaints. And for several nights, we had to kill a few roaches that had already creeped in, and on our last day noticed ants had made their way in too. One more thing about the very large, flying palmetto bugs....every evening that we returned from a night out, and made our way up the stairs to the second floor unit, we prepared ourselves to go to battle with these giant disgusting things. They'd be sitting on the wall or front door just waiting. One time as my husband hit one with his shoe, another flew onto his head, and the neighbors must have wondered just what in the heck was going on every night that they'd hear me screaming.

Next issue was frequent internet outages. The first was understandable, due to a severe thunderstorm that had moved through the area. But the internet was out for 24 hours and thereafter continued to be spotty over the next few days of our stay.

These issues aside, the island is a real delight. The beach club is fantastic, and all the restaurants there on the island are quite good. Fisher Island is like a private oasis at the end of bustling South Beach. It is quiet enough that you feel you're just removed from the fast-paced
Miami scene, but yet just a ferry ride away. Speaking of the ferry, learn the schedule so that you're not spending so much time waiting. If you're not a patient person, getting on and off the island via ferry may wear on your nerves.

At the end of our visit, the hotel management was very gracious and understanding of our issues, and gave us a complimentary night as well as removed internet charges. I would consider returning because once the kinks have been worked out it is a very nice getaway, definitely lending a more residential feel rather than staying at a hotel or resort property. It's a unique gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Is the second time we come back to Fisher Island, where we usually rent one appartement, people are nice and friendly, you have the best location in all Miami, beach is the best, all the people in the Beach Club they remember us from last year, the Sunset BAr is amazing, all the Restaurants are very good, with the exception of Porto Cervo where the Capitain Renato is incredibly unfriendly. We will come back this year, hope Renato is not there any more.
Nothing against the Italians, The Italian Capitain at the Bay vView Cafe and the staff are the Best in Miami.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, if you rent from the Hotel te two bedroom appartements in the 19 th building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had been searhcing for a special place to take my girlfriend to pop "the question", and Fisher Island Resort exceeded all of my wildest expectations. We arrived on the island via ferry(very unique & fun), and from the moment you arrive on the island you feel as if you have been transported to a foreign land. The landscaping was perfectly manicured, the staff was over the top(5 stars), the views of the miami skyline & ocean were perfect, and the exclusivity of the island made it all the better. I can't think of a single area to complain about.
We were shown around the property, given a tour of the Vanderbilt mansion(fantastic for a history lover), and given first class treatment through and through.
The concierge (TJ) was the best we ever had. He took time out of his day to make sure every second of my proposal was perfect. From helping pick the perfect spot, champagne, fruit, and the list could go on for days...
I usually dont give reviews on places we stay, but our experience was just to perfect at Fisher Island Resort not to share. I hope to go back in July to celebrate my Fiances birthday. Fisher Island is our new favorite destination to relax and diconnect from the outside world.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom villa with a partial ocean view. The terrace was of great size, and we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia D, Hotel Director at Fisher Island Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Mr. Chad,
Congratulations! And thank you for this special review.
We are glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you with anything you needed for such a special moment. Also, it is wonderful to know that Fisher Island Hotel & Resort is your new favorite destination to relax and disconnect from the outside world.
We will look forward to welcome you and your fiancé back to celebrate her birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We just kept on extending our week-end trip to 12 days.....Everything at Fisher Island Club&Resort was totally perfect! The staff is wonderful. We came with our baby Alice, and we felt comfortable at all times with her. Fisher Island Club&Resort really is perfect for the whole family and you do not want to leave the resort ever.The food is fantastic, tuna tartar, tropical salad, fish taco....best margheritas. The beach is gorgeous and the pools fabulous, we tried a few diffrent rooms and they all are great in diffrent ways but possibly my favourite was the ocean front one bedroom. Tennis and golf available and once you are checked in you never need to bring out cash, you can charge it all to your room, even from the island's Citarella level food mart or the trattoria's pizza! You get the tropical feel of St Barth's but right in Miami! For me true luxury is to feel private.wednesday thru sunday they have sushi night!

Room Tip: all rooms are great in diffrent ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia D, Hotel Director at Fisher Island Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Mrs. Angelina,
Thank you for a wonderful review. At Fisher Island Hotel & Resort, we strive to provide a "World Class Service" to all of our guests, and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and our luxurious amenities.
We will look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We had a recent brief visit to Fisher Island.

So the good points....beautifully kept Island resort - fantastic grounds and our two bedded apartment was sublime with excellent decoration, furniture and superb bathrooms with some great touches.

To the bad.....when i made the booking, i was told that if we arrived at around 1pm, every effort would be made to have our room ready.
When we arrived at the ferry terminal, i got the feeling via the initial unfriendly greeting that you get treated as a second class citizen if you are not an owner/regular.He claimed that he had requested a buggy to pick us up on the island, but when we arrived there and the security guard finally came over to us he claimed that it hadnt been ordered.

Our Bellboy was excellent....friendly, chatty and offered us champagne whilst we checked in, but this process was long, laborious and unprofessional.

Two members of staff on the desk - in truth one of them needn't be there!
I was asked my surname at least four times (why not write it down at the start). When our room was finally found - it was ready and as stated earlier excellent.

When you are booked onto the Island you receive a golf buggy to get around. After using
it to get some lunch we parked it outside our appt. and went for a drink - on our return our buggy had been taken!

Finally, we tried to have a relaxing drink at the beach club...not possible with a stream of young kids racing around our table on scooters. Not only did they nearly run into us but were also a hazard to the bar stewards.....and not a word was said - "these were clearly owners"

I was actually on the Island for a specific purpose - would i choose to stay there again - i am afraid not!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice beach for seclusion. Hopping the ferry was cool and a change of pacewhen you needed one There is construction at the Spa and Gym but there is another gym at the tennis courts area. Beach club is fabolous to hang out early in the morning and at midnight sitting on the beach gazing at the stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have a beautiful suite/cabin with jacuzzi close to the Vanderbilt mansion, now check-in. You cannot get value like this in most parts of the world. The grounds are immaculate. The island is a bird sanctuary. Peacocks roam the grounds. A golf cart is included with your room to travel to the beach or restaurants. The food is amazing in all the restaurants. Service is great. I have no idea what these other people are talking about because everyone on the island was helpful. Golf is included. It's only a 9 hole course but it's well laid out and maintained. Probably a par 70 since that is one par 5. This will be one of my favorite places to visit in the future now that I discovered it.

Room Tip: We had suite 1402 which was a beautiful duplex type cabin with a private jacuzzi in the back. Awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fisher Island Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher Island Hotel & Resort

Address: 1 Fisher Island Dr., Fisher Island, Miami Beach, FL 33109
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fisher Island Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fisher Island Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisher Island Hotel Miami Beach
Fisher Island Hotel And Resort
Fisher Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisher Island Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.