We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North west
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

This hotel is in a great location one block from the beach and close to all Miami beach attractions and easy access to downtown. The rooms are small for US standards but more than adequate. Cleaned daily, linen and towels changed regular. The pool is small but ok to cool in and the beach is so close anyway.
The bar is relaxing and peaceful with a good early evening happy hour - you can also use the facilities of next door which is much more lively.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    483
    136
    50
    42
See reviews for
167
509
43
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoosierdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

The Essex House staff were all so friendly and helpful - even the valet parking guyswere great. And you cannot beat the location. We were right around the corner from the Clevelander, but the noise from there was completely muffled inside our room. One more thing - our shower had terrific water pressure - always good!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I gotta admit that Ive stayed around when it comes to the beach and Essex by far is the best hotel Ive enjoyed my stay at. The staff and management did a phenomenal job when it came to paying attention to detail. The room itself was more than what I normally expect. Comfy is an understatement. I enjoyed my stay and Im looking forward to staying at the Essex in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We had a terrific time in room 323. It was big (or seemed so, as our most recent trip elsewhere was to NYC). Nice bed. Excellent bedding and bath linens. Clever use of the large closet (with a dresser tucked inside) that also featured an extra outlet for charging cell phones and laptops. No formal 'business center' but front desk was more than happy to let me use their computer and printer for boarding passes.

Wireless internet was slow, but otherwise we had a great trip. Hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Do not stay at this hotel unless its had a major clean since Sept 08. We only stayed at this hotel for one night grudgingly and moved to the Nassau Suite on 11th and Collins the next day when our holiday actually felt like it started! One night was more than enough here and all 5 members of our party were so glad we moved.

The hotel is dated and lacks good standards of cleanliness. The hallway and rooms smelt of really strong cleaning products the whole time we were there. The carpets/windows did not look like they had been cleaned ever. The air con unit was covered in dust and made a loud clangling noise at it turned on and off constantly. The bathrooms were basic and really compact. Not somewhere you felt clean once you had a shower. If you want a hotel with a swimming pool, do not choose this one its more the size of a kids small paddling pool and is on the main road!

The only positive was that the hotel staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We only stayed one night in room 114 and spent little time in there other than to get ready to go out and to sleep which was good.
From some of the good reviews on here about the place it must be ok but the room we had was not good, very very basic, no chairs, small table with many scratched and chunks knocked out of it, no safe, scruffy (but clean) bathroom, and the patchy decor needed updating big time.
from my limited experience avoid the rooms beginning with '1' if possible. we may have just got a dodgy room?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Winchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My stay at Essex House was one of the best I've had. Our room had a great layout with a bed so comfortable that made you say "ahhh" as soon as you laid down. Although I rarely saw the chambermaids, our room was always cleaned by the time we returned no matter what time of day it was. Location was excellent - one block from beach - and everything and anything you needed within walking distance. I could have arrived without a suitcase and all I would have to do was walk one way or the other to get everything I needed.

The staff was very helpful as well. Of the names I can remember, Stephanie and Brandon were the ones I remember the most. Stephanie was always willing to make the stay a wonderful one -- to make it as relaxing as possible. Brandon made sure we had everything we needed and that whatever else we wanted or needed to do was taken care of. All the staff were very friendly.

A great plus is that the Essex is right next to The Clevelander which is a sister hotel. We could go there to listen to live music, dance, drink and people watch and when we got tired, just walked next door to our room where we could enjoy privacy and quiet.

One of my favorite things about the Essex is the outdoor lobby area which is beautiful and comfortable. I took it all in as I intend to style my sunroom the same way. I truly recommend this place for a great relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#51 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#91 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#34 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,776 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#25 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.