We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel In SoBe W/Outstanding Staff That Provide Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 bar credit
Ranked #37 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Boutique Hotel In SoBe W/Outstanding Staff That Provide Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Originally I had focused on finding a room with an Ocean view for a 2 night mid week trip to South Beach in late April 2009 with my girlfriend, but after reading some of the reviews for hotels on Ocean Drive I determined that it would probably be too noisy for my liking to stay at any hotel on Ocean Drive due to their proximity to Ocean Drive traffic, clubs, etc.


My priorities for a hotel were cleanliness, location, lack of noise at night and value. With that being said, I narrowed down my choice to The Essex House for the following reasons:

1) Excellent TripAdvisor reviews for value, customer service, lack of noise, cleanliness, etc.
2) Close to the beach (1 short block), but far enough away from the noise of Ocean Drive.
3) Cool veranda, courtyard and little pool.

From the time we checked in we realized we had picked the right hotel. Although we arrived at The Essex House around Noon which was well before the 3 PM or 4 PM check in time, they had a room available for us and allowed us to check in when I assumed we would only be able to store our bags until check in. Our interaction with all the staff at The Essex House was equally positive from that moment on. BTW, Chris at the front desk also later granted us a late check out as well.

We found everyone at The Essex House to be friendly, very pleasant, customer service orientated and genuinely interested in being helpful. Chris at the front desk greeted me by name each day when I requested his assistance for things like beach towels, ice or resetting our door key. Stephanie the manager, inquired about our stay and solicited our feedback. Ralph addressed me and my girlfriend by our first names when storing our luggage, obtaining a taxi for our departure, etc. Mykel spent sometime giving us the local’s insight on how SoBe changes during the holiday weekends, etc.

Some things to keep in mind when staying at The Essex House:

1) For breakfast and lunch we suggest the Front Porch Café which is fairly close and good.
2) For dinner we recommend Puerto Sagua which is fairly close and has great Cuban food.
3) You can obtain beach towels from the front desk.
4) The Essex House is within walking distance of most everything except Lincoln Road Mall and Espanola Way (For most people).
5) You can get a discounted rate on beach umbrella’s and chairs from Bouchette rentals at 9th street on the beach by mentioning you are staying at The Essex House.
6) The Essex House is about 20 – 30 minutes from MIA depending on traffic.
7) The Essex House and many of the hotels in South Beach are older which means they tend to be a little smaller than what you might be used too and may have some wear. With that being said, have realistic expectations.
8) The air conditioning unit is a bit loud, but it didn’t bother us. The noise from the A/C can help drown out any unwanted noise that may occur outside of the hotel so we would not view it as a problem.
9) The Essex House serves decent regular coffee in their bar area in the morning, but no food. If you’re a coffee snob or drink decaf, there is a Starbucks a couple streets North.

After our 2 night stay at The Essex House we can say our expectations were exceeded. Our standard room was clean, quiet at night for sleeping, in a great location, comfortable, with outstanding staff providing excellent customer service that made it a great value. We really enjoyed the Art Deco design of the building, cool veranda, courtyard and pool and will stay there again when we come back.

We highly recommend you consider The Essex House for your stay in South Beach unless you require a room with an Ocean view, a hotel that is 4 star or higher or a hotel that has a restaurant onsite.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    396
    112
    47
    39
See reviews for
136
394
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The Essex House hotel was selected at short notice for its availability and location.
The hotel is located one block from the beach on the corner of 10th street and Collins Ave, in the heart of South Beach, Miami. It is one of the many Art Deco buildings in the area that have been placed on the historic buildings register.
Reception was courteous & efficient. Our room was only average sized, with two double beds. Space was tight. It had been recently renovated, however the decoration was rather bland. It had a noisy airconditioner. Fortunately the weather was cool and it was not required.
It has a downstairs bar, with small outdoor pool.
Complimentary wireless Internet is available.
Breakfast was provided at extra cost.
An average hotel in a great location.
Given the number of hotels in Miami Beach area, I consider there must be other hotels offfering better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel is just perfect for a stay in Miami. I have stayed at this hotel twice. The location is fabulous, 2 min walk to the beach, all the restaurants and the shops. The swimming pool is small but ever so nice. After coming back from the beach its nice to just go and sit round the pool and relax. The hotel staff are extremley friendly and always happy to help. The rooms are well presented and comfortable with everything you need. They are cleaned regulary also. The breakfast is lovely with a choise of pastries, cerial and fruit. I would highly recommened this hotel to anyone visitng miami.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champaign, il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

The Essex House was a good hotel in a great location. The rooms aren't terribly fancy, but the price is reasonable for South Beach. The bed was comfortable, and the room was a good size. We were afraid our neighbors were going to keep us up at night (they were kind of loud), but it wasn't an issue. The lobby and lounge area were very nice.

The staff were exceptionally helpful. We got to the hotel very early (around 11 am) - well before check-in. The hotel staff took our luggage for us and said they would call us when our room was ready. Our room was ready in an hour, and they called me to let us know! We only stayed for one night, so we didn't have time to do much in the area, but the staff were very nice and helpful. They offered to suggest some good clubs in the area, but we were too tired. We did sit in the outdoor lounge area and have a few drinks, which was nice (they close the bar early, though).

They helped us get a cab back to the airport the next morning, too.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

The location of the hotel is great, it is 2 minutes walk from the south beach and from the ocean drive (where all the entertainment happens) Its price was very reasonable compared to other hotels with the similar location. Net, it is a great deal for the price you pay, but don't expect a gem. The rooms were comfortable and relatively spacious, but it is not the cleanest hotel. It doesn't have many amenities but the staff is very helpful and the wireless internet is free. If your priority is to stay right in the middle of the action while saving on the budget, Essex House is the place. If you look for relaxation or fine dining, you might skip South Beach all together, as it is a very noisy district.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed for one night before our cruise and since it was only going to be one night we decided to splurge for a king suite. It was amazing and the service was awesome. We spent part of the evening hanging out outside the suite smoking cubans and drinking. It was like paradise. Charlie and Brandon took excellent care of us, even letting us crash the premises (the lounge areas and storing our luggage) for the afternoon after the cruise before we left. The location was excellent and so was the staff. The room was great and next time we are definitely going to nix the cruise and just stay in SoBe.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is the location, one block from the beach and Ocean Dr. Check in was easy although they had my reservation wrong with too many rooms. We had to wait until 4:00 pm to get into our rooms so we had a drink on the very nice patio; the bartender was very friendly and informative about the South Beach area. Drinks were very reasonable for the area; however there is no food service. Rooms were a very basic and a little dingy and musty. I think the mattresses were very old and warn, carpet was dirty, but the bathroom was very clean and big for the size of the room. Checkout was a nightmare, mostly because they had my original reservation wrong. The front staff was a little young and inexperience which prolonged the checkout problems. I was over charged for three rooms which I had to dispute with my credit card company. I’m still trying to sort the overcharges, so be careful when you check out and make sure your bill is correct.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.