We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location in South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Escape to Miami Sale
Ranked #38 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excelent location in South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great location, clean rooms, friendly staff and good european style breakfast. I will continue returning if the rooms rates keep reasonable for a 3 stars hotel. No view though. Garage next door with 20% discount.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    484
    136
    49
    42
See reviews for
167
508
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I had a care package sent as a surprise for my fiancé upon check in and Domingo in the concierge was wonderful! Very responsive and got everything setup just perfectly. Fiancé had a great time and loved the hotel and area. Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The Essex House hotel was really nice and clean. The staff was friendly and serviceminded. We slept really well in comfy bed. Didnt hear any of the noice from the busy area around ocean drive. The breakfast was more and better Than expected, bagels or toast with Philadelphia, butter or jam only though but also Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, muffin and other sweet bun, orange juice and coffee served in Their bar/restaurant. All really good and enough to start the day.You could sit inside close to the bar where the breakfast is served or outside next to the street and poolside. One minus is the shower which sometimes took time to have warm water. Really close to a nice swim on south beach. I recommend you rent bicycles and go a bit north where the beach is cleaner and not as crowded but the hotel has a nice location. Close to shopping on Lincoln mall and other stores around and also some entertainment, restaurants, clubs, bars on ocean drive if you are in to that. We didnt like ocean drive that much, Busy, partying touristic etc but it didnt disturb us at all. It was nice to see. The hotel truly is priceworthy. Bus stop not far away to take you to down town, aventura mall or the AirPort!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I was here for a bachelorette party the second weekend in August. When I checked out we took care of our bill. The next week I saw a 170 charge on my card. I've been calling the hotel for 3 days and leaving messages but no one had returned my phone call for an explanation. I wanted to see if we could clear this up before I take the next step but as you can see from their unprofessionalism and scamming ways they do not care.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed there for three nights and the service standards were exceptional. Modest but perfectly acceptable room complimented by outstanding service by all staff. Would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment which is close to the beach and popular restaurant and entertainment strip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just returned home after a wonderful stay at the Essex House. The location is ideal for shopping, eating and beaching. No need for a car once you arrive.

First impressions: Great A/C on a very hot summer day, extremely friendly front desk service, and time-capsule-like (but somehow modern) lobby decor. Felt like we walked into the 1920's

Rooms were small and visibly old (for example, I imagine there are at least 20 layers of paint on those interior walls), BUT the furnishings are modern and very comfortable. And the room had a HUGE closet. The bathroom is small, but clean and bright. In short, this is not a dime-a-dozen chain hotel. It's a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel with history and character. And it was lovely! (The elevator in particular was like a time machine. Loved it.)

We purchased dessert in the hotel restaurant one night. Delicious treats, with excellent/pleasant service. We also took advantage of the free breakfast in the morning. It was the typical self-serve, "continental" fare and, in my opinion, a nice extra at this hotel. Not having to "hunt" in the morning is always a relaxing feature.

In closing, my absolute favorite aspect of this hotel was the outstanding customer service. Friendly, personable, helpful. I don't usually comment on this aspect of a hotel because I believe "good" customer service to be a standard requirement. But at the Essex House, it was exceptional and worth noting. No pretensions or fake-ness. These are real folks, enjoying what they do and making your trip memorable.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

It was a wonderful stay at Essex. The staff is awesome, and very nice ! We stayed 13 nights, our room was always cleaned. I liked the proximity from the beach, ocean drive and everything else. I definitely recommend it !!

It's also pretty quiet, what I liked, especially because ocean drive is not.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#40 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#53 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#89 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#34 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#23 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.