We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$25 bar credit
Ranked #42 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location in South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We spent the weekend in South Beach recently and booked The Essex House after having walked through it on an earlier trip. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted warmly by every staff member we saw. The front desk staff were very nice and upgraded us to a suite (we had booked a king room). Our room was very large with a sitting area which was nice. After we discovered that the air conditioning wasn't working well in our room, we were immediately moved to a new suite. There is a complimentary guest happy hour in the bar from 4:30-5:30 every day - go early! They offer free sushi and other appetizers but when they run out, they run out. They also have drink and appetizers specials during happy hour which is from 4:00-7:00 every evening. The bartenders are AMAZING! Julio, Jose and Kevin all go out of their way to make happy hour HAPPY. They're great guys and we really enjoyed hanging out in the bar with them. There are a lot of great places to eat within a short walk. For good lattes and Italian coffee, try Pinocchio on 8th Street which is just 2 blocks away. And for great Cuban food, go to Puerto Sagua which is 3 or 4 blocks up Collins Avenue (towards 5th Avenue). Oh and another plus...the front desk has free bottled waters and beach towels for hotel guests, you just have to ask. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a suite, be sure to ask for Suite #1-8. They're located outside the hotel in an adjoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    407
    117
    48
    40
See reviews for
142
408
39
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We are a couple in our early 30's travelling from Australia. We are in the US to learn about the culture, rather than party, so we were initially hesitant when we realized that our 'sister' hotel next door was party central.

But our fears were unfounded. The walls and windows are amazingly sound proof, and we didn't hear a thing.

The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but is very well kept on the inside. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is a short walk from the beach and lots of restaurants.

I would definitely recommend the Essex House Hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. The staff were terrific - very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a clean and tastefully decorated art deco building in a convenient location that is within walking distance of all the South Beach area. The room was clean and comfortable. The daily inclusive breakfast was delicious and got our days off to a great start. Fun happy hour nightly as well. Was a treat to sit out on the spacious terrace beautifully landscaped and enjoy the passing rainstorms without feeling like were were on display to pedestrians walking by the property.
Will definitely be back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this gem to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

All I can say is hats off to this hotel. It's great. The staff are great, rooms a little outdated but very clean. I had to point out a few staff members who deserve recognition. First and foremost I'd like to thank Zabria (I asked her to pronounce it and spell it for me a few times haha) she was extremely welcoming and helpful, she made sure i had everything i needed when i needed it. i had to meet the girl behind the phone when i was checking out. Also a great young woman named Kara at the front desk was extremely professional and warm. she made my check out process very smooth. I also got the pleasure in having a bellman named Wally assist me when checking in, he told us many things we can do in miami and kept us laughing the whole time. the room was very clean through out our stay. my partner and i were so happy we decided to stay here for our little get away. I will definitely be coming back and recommending this hotel to my friends !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Excellent! Especially the concierge Germaine! He will help to make your stay incredibly memorable! Thank you! The Essex hotel is a great place to stay with clean rooms and a good location. You will have a great time! But make sure you talk to Germaine!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Essex House over the 4th July weekend and everything was amazing. The service and the location (right near the beach as well as the south beach shopping district) were great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to check in early and check out late. The cocktails at Zen Sai within the hotel were delicious. There was a great variety at breakfast. Basically there were no downsides to this hotel. A must if staying in Miami Beach!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I didn't book it, the best man did. We went for the WMC and I have to say i wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. Great staff, banging happy hour and the rooms were pretty good. Awesome art deco building with a great reception area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.