We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of Key West Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Orange, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“End of Key West Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Essex House for one night on our way back from Key West. This is a top notch managed hotel. The room was large and very clean and the staff was exceptional. We had some friends staying a different hotel and they moved to the Essex House after seeing our room. We are already planning a trip to South Beach and will definitely stay at the Essex House.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    378
    106
    46
    37
See reviews for
127
377
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrykeel, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We Just returned from a great stay in miami and in particular Essex House hotel. I Can't say enough good things. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and we instantly felt at home here. The location is top class, rooms are perfect , clean and stylish. The storage room in the bedroom itself was very handy and allowed us to keep our bedroom clutter free. A big concern we had was that the rooms had no safes, and given we had had a very bad experience on our last trip in a hotel not far from the Essex house , we found all the staff to be honest and had no issues with valuables such as iPads , phones etc left in the room. This peace of mind was priceless. There are small safes at the front desk where you deposit your passport, cash etc...
The free beach towels were also a great bonus as was the tasty breakfast that was sufficient to set you off for the day. Essex house sister hotel the cleavelander where we enjoyed the perks of being an Essex house resident was the most happening spot in south beach and we spent more late nights there than we had planned.Its so much fun , It's a tough spot to leave .
All in all you will not be left disappointed with your choice of hotel in the Essex house, all aspects of this hotel are top notch and I would return there again in a heartbeat. Thank you all for helping to make our much look forwarded to trip live up to its expectations..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed one night enroot to the Keys. The experience was awesome. Our rooms were clean and well furnished. The beds were comfortable. The hotel ambience was very relaxing. The staff that took care of us from the bell hop to the front desk clerk to the bartenders and everyone in between were the most courteous, polite and considerate people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They were over the top and made us feel like royalty. The Clevelander next door had a great happy hour during the lunch period and the food was fabulous. The night was filled with great music and a dance floor outside the Clevelander Hotel. The roof top views at the Clevelander can't be beat. We will be back for a vacation in South Beach at the Essex House and The Clevelander.

Room Tip: The Suites were very nice with huge bathrooms and jetted tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Essex House in late October. When we checked in, their computers were down, so they were unable to do much at the time. However, as we were talking to Quincy at the front desk, the Manager, Carlos, came by, and went out of his way to go ahead and check us in "old school style" without the computer. Quincy and Carlos were extremely helpful and polite, excellent customer service! Our room was great, very clean. Short walk to all the South Beach bars and restaurants and shopping. Also kudos to Jamal, who helped with our luggage and gave us good restaurant/bar tips! Will definitely stay here again next time around!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff,room plenty big enough for city break, would benefit in having a courtesy room to shower in either at essex or sister clevelander, would just add that extra touch to finish your stay. If your expecting South beach to be an upmarket, elite beach resort forget it! Its far from it, its a restaurant resort, all touting for your business. After half a dozen restaurants your fed up with the same question! Shop's shops and yet more shops. The sun does shine though. If I was asked to some the resort up its a Spanish resort in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The pictures provided by the hotel looks nice but the reality were an older building, average room and restaurant.We stayed in room 320. The room is clean, quiet and good location in South Beach.There is no safety deposit box in the room.

The restaurant is nothing to write home about. It's not a truly Japanese Sushi restaurant. It's more like fusion Japanese food with a nice presentation on your plates.

The happy hour is from 4:30 - 5:30pm (mon-fri) with free wine and local beer in the lobby for 1 hour. They clock it and shut down by 5:30pm.

I hesitated to give it as a 4 (very good) hotel but I also feel bad that I give them a 3 (average)..... And I just did!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Essex House Hotel for 4 nights. It was in a great location - just around the corner from the South Beach bars and restaurants, a two minute walk to the beach and a five minute walk to some great shops.
This is a very busy spot but the Essex House Hotel is a bit more quiet compared to the beach facing hotels. If you prefer to get away from the noise then this is perfect.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and modern. The only downside is that the bathrooms are very small and there is a lack of storage. There was only one small wardrobe and no drawers. Not a problem if it's a short visit.
We would recommend this hotel and would use it again if we were to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.