We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paying for location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my second visit to Miami and so I suggested Essex House because I thought it was a good location just off Ocean Drive and behind the Clevlander bar.
September was much quieter in general than when I last visited in the April time and so the hotel was extremely quiet.
The rooms are basic and there is no hotel safe! The rooms also smell quite damp and musky. I know it is an older style deco hotel but they need to do some work in the rooms to get rid of this.
Breakfast is very ample and included. I would also highly recommend the Japanese restaurant downstairs where we had a fantastic meal.
I think if you want to be on Ocean Drive in a good location then you should opt for this but there is no hotel beach access and the pool is shaded so I would call this a party hotel in season!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    483
    136
    50
    42
See reviews for
167
509
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Only stayed for one night (post-cruise) but wish it had been longer! The room was small, but immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. Service at the front desk was exceptional - all staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Loved the location and will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights this week and had an absolute blast. Julianna (I hope that's how her name is spelled) ensured that my boyfriend and I were comfortable and even upgraded our room to the King Suite because it was his birthday. The room was clean, beautiful, spacious, quiet, and comfortable. Customer service was amazing all around and we had no complaints whatsoever. The fact that they're connected to the Clevelander is another bonus and we were able to access the property at any time. Sitting in the lobby, I saw how the whole staff worked diligently to ensure customer satisfaction! I've stayed at over 7 different hotels in South Beach and this was definitely the best by far! Can't wait to return for my birthday!!

Room Tip: King Suite is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you want to be close to the action but not right on top of it then this is the place for you. Located between Ocean Blvd with all the hustle and bustle and Washington and it's shops is Collins. Walking distance to everything one needs. Hotel is a wonderful Art Deco restoration with outstanding customer service. From the moment the cab dropped us off we were welcomed with smiles and a desire to make our stay an enjoyable experience. From the breakfast in the morning to the happy hour we were completely surprised on how nice everything was prepared. We were upgraded to a suite, which for the price we were paying was an excellent value, and the room was beyond our expectations. Huge with a nice layout of furniture and decore, the surprise was the huge jacuzzi tub. Overall a great experience and would recommend the Essex House to anyone visiting South Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night. Hotel right at the heart of South Beach. Sister hotel to Clevelander Hotel which enables you to beat the queues to get onto their pool and rooftop parties. By comparison, Essex House was then quiet enough to retreat to for a decent night's sleep when you're done partying. I'll definitely return when I'm next in South Beach.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chose Essex House for my friends Bachelorette Party based on location and price. There were 17 girls attending and Essex House did a fantastic job accommodating all of us. They were able to give us rooms very close to one another.The rooms weren't massive and the view was nothing, but they were clean and comfortable. The one thing the room was missing was a safe. I didn't love leaving my valuables in the room while going to the beach, but at least nothing was touched.

Every staff member went out of their way to make our stay extra enjoyable. They gave great recommendations and genuinely seemed happy to help us out. The hotel is located about half a block from the beach and the craziness of Miami. That extra block makes all the difference as it is peaceful and quiet inside even when the bar is still open at the Clevelander next door. The free continental breakfast and free happy hour were also a fantastic bonus. Our second night we had dinner at Zen Sai. The food was very good and they were able to accommodate all 17 of us.

I would highly recommend Essex House to anyone traveling to Miami.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent one night at the Essex. We had a wonderful room with large corner window looking down street toward beach. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the complimentary wine during happy hour out on their porch. The hotel is located just one block from Ocean Drive and South Beach. We had a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#53 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#91 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#34 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#25 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.