We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Art Deco Charm, close to beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Art Deco Charm, close to beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent one night at the Essex. We had a wonderful room with large corner window looking down street toward beach. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the complimentary wine during happy hour out on their porch. The hotel is located just one block from Ocean Drive and South Beach. We had a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    430
    388
    108
    46
    38
See reviews for
131
386
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo, Suriname
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I tried this hotel based on the reviews I read here on Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. It is a basic hotel, so if you are looking for luxury this might not be the place for you. But I thought it was nice and comfortable.

Rooms
The hotel room was clean and that in my opinion is the most important thing. Our bathroom was quite small but not uncomfortable. The rooms have no microwave, but we were able to get hot water to make baby food from the restaurant. I cannot remember a refrigerator being there, but this hotel was the first of 3 hotels I was in during my trip, so details might be a be a bit fuzzy. My room had a view from the side street and that was quite nice look to at (people watching lol). Collins Ave was under construction so that might be different for people facing that side of the hotel.

Location
Best feature of this hotel!
We got there by taking the bus at MIA after we arrived. Really easy and really cheap! When we left, we took a taxi to the rental car company, which was not too far and then came back with the rental car to pick up our luggage.
We walked every where and really enjoyed South Beach. When we got tired or my little one fell asleep we took a taxi back and the price was never very high. At the same time the hotel is far enough from the South Beach partying that we could get a great nights sleep. The moment you get out of the hotel, just walk a block and you are at the beach, at the party, the cocktails and at the restaurants!

Restaurant
Which brings me to the restaurant. Although we usually had our meals at one of the numerous restaurants which are more or less around the corner, we decided one night to try the food at the restaurant in the hotel. Since my toddler was already asleep, the hubby went downstairs and brought the food up. (Also I think the restaurant setting was quite romantic and I did not want to mess up someones romantic dinner with a 3 year olds' tantrums LOL). Anyway the food was really nice, so try it!

Breakfast was included but I did not try it. The hubby did and he said it was not a lot.

Overall I had a great stay at this hotel I would certainly recommend it and I would surely stay again. NICE!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I just returned from my trip and stay at the Essex House. I can not say enough positive things about this hotel and the staff. They treated me like family from the moment I checked in until the time I left. This hotel was super clean! If you needed anything the staff was more than willing to do what was needed to make sure you were happy. I highly suggest everyone check this place out as I promise you will not be disappointed! The front desk staff, especially Quincy and Juliana, were the best! Like I said I cannot say enough positive things except please go to this hotel if you like to be pampered and feel special and not like some number like the big hotel chains make you feel.

Room Tip: If you can, I suggest getting a suite! They are absolutely amazing. Like having your own studio ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexHouseTeam, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Kimberly,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We will be sharing your comments with our entire company, and will make sure the associates you mentioned know how much you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you,

The Essex House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I just came back from a weekend trip to South Beach where we stayed at the Essex Hotel. This hotel is located right in the middle of all of the action of South Beach. We never had to walk far to get to anything on South Beach. The staff was very accommodating and provided great customer service. The front desk clerk, Quincy, was awesome! He gave us suggestions for restaurants and night spots, and acknowledged my birthday with well wishes! Great customer service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Upon check in we were upgraded to a King Suite which was incredible! After a long flight the jacuzzi bath was the perfect place to relax. The hotel is nice and quiet but as it is adjacent to the Clevelander you can get to a fun, party spot within seconds. The beach is nearby too which was great. The staff were so nice and helpful, we were really blown away by the level of service! I loved the hotel's facade too, typical Miami Beach Art Deco, it felt like it was right out of a movie! The Happy Hour was a nice bonus too, the wine was really nice and my husband enjoyed a few beers! The free sushi was gorgeous and we ended up eating in the japanese restaurant afterward as a result. We were only sorry we didn't stay longer, we had a great time at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Loved staying here and the attention to details of the staff. We got in before check in time to just drop off our bags, but the staff at the front desk checked and since our room was ready let us check in before which was awesome. The locality of the Essex can not be beat. The bed was so comfy. The sushi restaurant is also amazing. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I loved this hotel. Everything was great.
Well maintained with an old fashioned atmosphere. Great art deco design in lovely lobby area.My room was very nice and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was really helpful. I appreciated fresh lemonade in lobby area and the afternoon wine & beer!!
The location is perfect: in the heart of district and the beach is across the street.
Yes, it was a lot of noise, but.... it's Miami !!!
I enjoyed my stay and I would be back ....

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.