We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here pre-cruise in October of 2012. We had a wonderful time-service was fabulous. We enjoyed the amenities of the Clevelander also. We could party at the Clevelander next door, but still enjoy a quiet night's sleep. The beautiful beach was a just across the street. This hotel was convenient to the bars, shops, beach and cruise port. We will be staying here again this year. Oh-I almost forgot the free happy hour drinks!!!!!! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    389
    108
    47
    38
See reviews for
131
387
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Great location, great staff. Only one block from the beach, clean, convenient to shops, restaurants and nightlife. The rooms are very clean. The front desk team make you feel welcome and go out of their way to help. Juan the bell captain is the best! Highly recommended hotel and I will definitely book my next stay in South Beach at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I decided to head to SoBe for the first time ever in honor of our 20th anniversary. I let the Essex House know this, and as a result, the Rock Star Concierge not only upgraded our room, but made sure there was a bottle of wine and chocolates for our first night! Couldn't have been better!

The King Suite is great! The bathroom is the size of my first apartment and the HUGE tub was refreshing after the long (probably 100 yard) walk back from the beach...and the bed was very comfortable!

IF there was one negative thing about the hotel... It has raised the bar for every trip we take from now on! Thanks to Brad and the rest of the team at the Essex House for making this a weekend to remember!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As the title says, this hotel is perfectly located , As it is the closest you can get to ocean drive without getting all the hustle and bustle that come with it.

At first we had an issue with the check in process where it was stated that I should check in 3 days later as per my reservation , but after checking the confirmation email from hotels.com, the issue was sorted ..... Kind of, since we had to settle for an accessible room which I suppose was probably the smallest room in the hotel and not so visually appealing.

But we have to admit that nothing went wrong in Essex house hotel and things went very smoothly during our stay and they even offer complimentary breakfast which was supposedly not included in the reservation , but it is nothing fancy , just the basics.

I will also state the same issue which I could find in all US hotels i've stayed in so far, THE USE OF PLASTIC CUPS,PLATES, AND CUTLERY , that is not good for nature, we noticed recycling campaigns in Florida and then the next thing you know everything they offer you in hotels is made of plastic.....!!!!! A bit of dish washing won't hurt after all.

All in all hotel was good, staff were very helpful and friendly and we were also offered complementary 50$ voucher to spend on food and beverage at the clevelander, which is the main night attraction in SOBE.I might consider staying here again on my next Miami visit, price/quality ratio is ok for this hotel and I could not see any better hotels on or around ocean drive , and yeah, Parking will cost you much in Miami, leave your car home.

Room Tip: Avoid room 201, bed and room size are not comfortable.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

very kind and great staff, always ready to help
the room in this hotel was small but clean, comfortable bed and the hotel is in very good location , too close to the beaches, restaurants and not so far from the shopping

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Smaller boutique style hotel with a miami history, but none of the luxury you associate with todays major destinations in this town. Comfortable but not exactly luxurious. Price and quality wise, it's about what you'd get at RedRoof Inn, but with a local flair and a slightly more comfortable bed and roomier suite. The front corner suites are a nice size, but the traffic of Collins Ave at night is gonna keep you up.

There is a small pool outback next to a little sushi restaurant, but you're in Miami so why would you be wasting your time at a bar! On the first block off the beach, this is a great location if you're into the happy hour scene or smaller pool parties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were originally booked to stay at the Cleavlander during my bachelor party. The Cleavlander is an amazing hotel with non stop partying, however it's very noisy at night. When we expressed some conserns to the front desk they convinced us to stay at their sister hotel The Essex House. It's literally on the same property of The Cleavlander, plus you can enjoy all it's benefits. We stayed in a suite and had no problem sleeping. Service is great and very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.