We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy your stay in Essex house in miami south beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
South Beach Stay Sale!
Ranked #37 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy your stay in Essex house in miami south beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

very kind and great staff, always ready to help
the room in this hotel was small but clean, comfortable bed and the hotel is in very good location , too close to the beaches, restaurants and not so far from the shopping

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    465
    133
    49
    42
See reviews for
159
485
42
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Smaller boutique style hotel with a miami history, but none of the luxury you associate with todays major destinations in this town. Comfortable but not exactly luxurious. Price and quality wise, it's about what you'd get at RedRoof Inn, but with a local flair and a slightly more comfortable bed and roomier suite. The front corner suites are a nice size, but the traffic of Collins Ave at night is gonna keep you up.

There is a small pool outback next to a little sushi restaurant, but you're in Miami so why would you be wasting your time at a bar! On the first block off the beach, this is a great location if you're into the happy hour scene or smaller pool parties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were originally booked to stay at the Cleavlander during my bachelor party. The Cleavlander is an amazing hotel with non stop partying, however it's very noisy at night. When we expressed some conserns to the front desk they convinced us to stay at their sister hotel The Essex House. It's literally on the same property of The Cleavlander, plus you can enjoy all it's benefits. We stayed in a suite and had no problem sleeping. Service is great and very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A friend and I visited South Beach the end of April 2013. She booked our stay at the Essex House on Collins Drive on the advice of a friend and the nightly rate was affordable for the area. The Essex House is an older hotel, with small rooms. We felt the hotel was clean and tbe staff was fabulous, especially Jermaine and Juan, the Bellman. We loved the attached sushi restaurant, made quick friends with the staff there, Kevin bartender was fabulous. Every time we went in, found easy conversation with other guests. The food was excellent. The hotel is in a great location, close to Ocean drive, beaches and lots of restaurants. The Clevander is a sister hotel, lots of partying and music going on there. We did hear music from Clevander during the nite, but it did not bother us. Miami is a fun place and regardless of your age, you will likely be out late.
My only complaint was that sink was small with no counter for toiletries,etc. Bottom line, for the area, this hotel was a pleasant experience, great location and great staff.
My only complaint is that there is little to none dresser space or counter stora

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mol, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to Miami Beach in May and stayed at The Essex House.
Amazing hotel at a great location, 2 minute walk from the beach, just 1 turn away from Ocean Drive.

Service was great, "Julliana" was super helpful.

You do pay the extra dollar for the location, but it was worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Essex House at the start of our trip! It is a lovely Art Deco building just moments from the beach and walking distance to the shops. We had a lovely spacious room which was immaculate. The service was great and the staff really helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time at Essex. It's next to its sister hotel, the Clevelander, but a quieter version. Staff was great, great location. In the middle of things but not on top of everything. Great dinner at Zen Sai. Staff was great. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.