We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$25 bar credit
Ranked #39 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
“Very pleasant experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A friend and I visited South Beach the end of April 2013. She booked our stay at the Essex House on Collins Drive on the advice of a friend and the nightly rate was affordable for the area. The Essex House is an older hotel, with small rooms. We felt the hotel was clean and tbe staff was fabulous, especially Jermaine and Juan, the Bellman. We loved the attached sushi restaurant, made quick friends with the staff there, Kevin bartender was fabulous. Every time we went in, found easy conversation with other guests. The food was excellent. The hotel is in a great location, close to Ocean drive, beaches and lots of restaurants. The Clevander is a sister hotel, lots of partying and music going on there. We did hear music from Clevander during the nite, but it did not bother us. Miami is a fun place and regardless of your age, you will likely be out late.
My only complaint was that sink was small with no counter for toiletries,etc. Bottom line, for the area, this hotel was a pleasant experience, great location and great staff.
My only complaint is that there is little to none dresser space or counter stora

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    398
    115
    47
    40
See reviews for
138
399
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mol, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to Miami Beach in May and stayed at The Essex House.
Amazing hotel at a great location, 2 minute walk from the beach, just 1 turn away from Ocean Drive.

Service was great, "Julliana" was super helpful.

You do pay the extra dollar for the location, but it was worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Essex House at the start of our trip! It is a lovely Art Deco building just moments from the beach and walking distance to the shops. We had a lovely spacious room which was immaculate. The service was great and the staff really helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time at Essex. It's next to its sister hotel, the Clevelander, but a quieter version. Staff was great, great location. In the middle of things but not on top of everything. Great dinner at Zen Sai. Staff was great. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Was charged a $300.00 security deposit on a room reserved for me by my employer. I was there to work and am not a young kid. No one was advised of this charge before the room was booked and only upon check in were we aware we had to pay this. I will never use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexHouseTeam, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will use this opportunity to learn and improve. The happiness of our guests is always our highest priority.

We apologize that you had a negative experience. You are correct, we do place a $100 per day *hold* on our guest’s credit cards for incidentals. We apologize your employer did not inform you about the hold, but we do advise our guests about the hold when they book. If the booking was made online, we clearly note the hold as well.

We wish that you would have spoken with us about this during your stay, we always try and work with our guests to find alternative solutions when problems arise.

Again, we thank you for your feedback and apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way. We hope you will consider staying with us again in light of this information. Please contact us at reviews@clevelander.com, if we may be of further assistance.

Thank you,

Essex House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stay here in July 2011 with a bunch of friends for a bachelorette weekend. Rooms were super cheap, so can't complain there, but you get what you pay for. As other folks posted already, the bedrooms are TINY. I was sharing with a friend, and was originally told it was two beds, but all they had were 1 Queen bed rooms. Our room window faced the roof of an adjoining building, so the only view we had was of the A/C motor (though, I was worried about random men walking across and being able to look in, as there were also no sheer curtains, only black-outs, and you had to PULL to close). The place is considered "art-deco", but that might also translate into "outdated". The tiling in the bathroom was old, and company photos are a bit deceiving. The room was air-conditioned (THANK GOODNESS), and the lobby offered cold lemonade at all times.
Our friend was told there was free breakfast on Saturday, but the Essex house ad I saw says that breakfast is only available Mon-Fri, so double check with the hotel before you book if that's a deal-breaker. We did end up getting breakfast because we were sold it, and it came with a delicious smoothie AND my favorite brand of Harney & Sons tea.
It was a close walk to the beach and right next door was the Clevelender, where we were able to get our happy hour drinks on at the rooftop. Additionally, there were some great pool parties next door, but we didn't have time to go to those. While it;s quieter than the Clevelender, because it's right next door, you'll still hear the thumping music from your bedroom. Then again, you're probably not in South Beach for a quiet weekend anyway.

I didn't have the option of selecting this in order to post the review, but I ACTUALLY Stayed in July 2011, not June 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location very close to beach, restaurants on Ocean Drive and shopping area in Collins Avenue. Nice and spacious room. Staff great, very friendly and keen to help. Juliana and Eric were fantastic

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.