We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at the Essex for 4 nights and it was excellent. The staff is very helpful. Nice complimentary happy hour (beer/wine/sushi) daily and continental breakfast of fruit, croissants, coffee etc every morning. Rooms are small but comfortable. My only complaint would be the bathrooms. They are VERY small and in need of upgrades.

Essex House is quiet and relaxing but offers you free access to the Clevelander next door which is loud and lots of fun if you want to drink, dance, grab a pizza, or enjoy the rooftop deck. I would reccomend this hotel and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    429
    122
    48
    40
See reviews for
148
438
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

After researching the pros and cons of the Essex house my girlfriend and I decided to stay at the hotel for a six day getaway to miami beach. Let me tell you that any nerves or doubts I had about this little gem were erased right when we walked in the door. The service (which in my eyes is more important than the room itself) was exceptional from the moment we walked in until it was time to go. Juliana from the front desk was wicked awesome all week you could easily see that she takes pride in her job at the Essex hotel. This is not to take away from the other workers of both the Essex house and the clevelander because they were also great.

Good location, clean, and comfortable would defiantly book this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I cannot begin to express how happy I was to have chosen the Essex House for my birthday spot. Everything was impeccable from the Bell Hop to the Front desk staff. Concierge was aweseome - shouts out to Brad - the number one Rockstar Host/concierge in AMERICA! Brad catered to my every need and went beyond the call of duty to make my personal arrangements. I had no problem with credit card issues like some people have stated. I was able to check in my room earlier than the allotted time. I was able to even store my lugggage after checkout until my taxi arrived. The bonus was having access to the Clevelander Hotel and being treated like VIP by the staff. I was able to eat, drink, party and go back to the quietness of my King Deluxe Suite at the Essex. I will defintely book my next stay at the Essex when I return to Miami! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: I recommend the suite apartment. They are set apart from the hotel rooms more spacious and give grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have stayed in a bunch of hotels in the South Beach area. The Essex House can't be beat for the price. I was pleased from the moment I arrived and was greeted by very pleasant staff at check in. I was able to access my room a few hours before check in time and was pleasantly surprised by it's large size and cleanliness. Hotel is quite but near all the action. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I strongly warn against give this hotel your credit card they have been misusing our credit card and we are still fighting with our bank about all the extra rooms which we should not have been charged for.... Horrible experience

Room Tip: Just avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexHouseTeam, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Terri,

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. We searched our records for all of October 2012 and could not find any reservations in your name.

Please contact us at reviews@clevelander.com with the dates of your stay and the name the reservation was under, so that we can investigate this matter for you immediately.

Thank you,

Essex House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Essex house is in a great spot on Collins avenue which is close to south beach, shopping and lots of restaurants and bars. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The only negative is the air conditioning system is really old and really noisy which made it difficult to sleep. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Essex House was a very nice place to stay.......nice rooms, very clean, great location, friendly and helpful staff. JJ was was especially gracious and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here, and will definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.