We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 bar credit
Ranked #36 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Essex house is in a great spot on Collins avenue which is close to south beach, shopping and lots of restaurants and bars. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The only negative is the air conditioning system is really old and really noisy which made it difficult to sleep. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    396
    111
    47
    39
See reviews for
135
394
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Essex House was a very nice place to stay.......nice rooms, very clean, great location, friendly and helpful staff. JJ was was especially gracious and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here, and will definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The service at Essex House was fabulous - the staff members were very helpful and friendly.
The location was great as well. The beach was a 5 min walk away and there are plenty of food places and bars nearby.
Bed was very comfortable, great pillows and sheets. Air conditioning in the room worked very well too.
The bathroom was a little small and wasn't very clean. There was no proper drain fitting in our bathtub; the water drained into a big, dirty-looking hole. There was also no ventilation facilities such as a fan or openable window in the bathroom, which was a little inconvenient.
We also found the walls to be super thin... We unfortunately had a family/large group staying in 2 rooms adjacent to ours and could hear their doors slamming every time they went between their rooms. I could feel the bed shake every time it happened. It was hard to get a decent sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Isabella and Austin were fantastic from the beginning !!!
They are the solution to any problem you might encounter.. :)
The rest of the employees were very helpful, very nice, and allways in a good mood... Try the Sushi restaurant, zak will receive you with a big welcoming smile !! as for the rooms, we stayed in a suite and all was perfect..
the breakfast could be a little more incremented..
Thanks again for the wonderful service and time, you made our stay fantastic !!!
we stayed there for 10 days
Ronald & Tathy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at Essex House April 5-7 with a group of girls for my bachelorette party and we had an amazing stay. We are not a rowdy bunch (in case anyone is deterred by a bachelorette party group staying here.) They definitely like to keep things classy over there, which is what drew me to Essex House to begin with. There are a number of hotels that boast bachelorette packages and cheesy extras and the rooms come with cockroaches and broken showers. That's not what I was looking for. I was looking for a sophisticated, clean hotel, good reviews, good price, proximity to the beach and other nightlife, and that's what I got at Essex House.

You can visit their sister hotel just next door, The Clevelander, for a bigger pool and more of a scene, but return to the Essex for some peace and quiet, which is exactly what we did. Our rooms (the double double) were a perfect size, 2 BIG modern floor length mirrors, nice bathroom, big closet for hanging/storing luggage, and good AC unit and TV. If you didn't have the AC going all the time, the room tended to get a bit humid, but it didn't bother any of us. I wish we had tried the restaurant as well as the daily happy hour at the hotel, but we unfortunately missed it both evenings - next time!

From the time I was booking the rooms, to the evening we arrived, until check out, we were treated so nicely by the staff, made to feel very welcome and at home, and had an absolute blast. We were very sad to leave! Jamal, in particular, was so kind to us and went above and beyond to accomodate our every request. Thanks Jamal! And thanks so much Essex House for helping make my bachelorette weekend a success!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited The Essex House March 27-29 2013 and again Aril 1st before and after a cruise. We decided to stay at this hotel mainly for the location and partly price as it is rated very high and the price was better than its peers in the same area. We arrived at around noon on a Wednesday luckily our room was ready so we were able to drop off out bags and get change before heading out. We had a corner room on the 2nd floor facing 10th street which was large and nicely appointed. All of the staff who we dealt with were very nice and knowledgeable about the area. Happy hour with sushi tasting and free beer/wine was nice if you were at the hotel between 4:30-5:30. We did not eat at the in house restaurant but the samples tried where very good. I have two complaints regarding this hotel neither of which were a big deal for us just minor annoyances 1st we had a room with two double beds not really an issue but one the beds frames was broken so it sagged, I mentioned it to the front desk and he passed along the comment to management although another guest comment that a broken bed on vacation was always a good sign of a good time lol. The 2nd issue which many people commented on was the noise from other rooms and paper thin walls, it was not so much thin walls as the door that joined our room to our neighbours, the people staying next door might as well have been in our room when they got home at 4am the 1st night. We woke up for a few minutes than passed back out not a big deal for us but if you had something important to do the next day it might have been an issue. With that being said I would recommend this hotel for its location to ocean drive, the beach, restaurants and shopping we had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you stay at the Essex House it must be that you're a big fan of Art Deco. The outside of the hotel and the lobby are beautiful, but the rooms are quite average (only negative point, the noisy airconditioning)
Nevertheless it's a nice place to stay and here are some practical tips:

In the morning guests can enjoy a fresh cup of coffee, tea or cold water for free at the bar
For the breakfast we can recommend David's café, just around the corner.
The Japanese restaurant connected to the hotel is nice, but the amounts served are very small. So, it's nice for a snack especially during happy hour (the cocktails are also really nice)

Close to the hotel there is an art deco centre where you can make a reservation for a guided art deco-tour. To be honest we were disappointed. The guide spoke with a real heavy accent so it was really difficult to understand him and it seemed that he didn't really had his best day.
A good tourist guide and some searching on the internet about the most interesting buildings should do the trick. There is also an authentic dinner close to David's café. Don't miss that one.
And there is a nice and really quite walk in the old art deco area. Worth asking for it.

Enjoy it all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.