We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Art Deco Hotel, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Ghent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Art Deco Hotel, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you stay at the Essex House it must be that you're a big fan of Art Deco. The outside of the hotel and the lobby are beautiful, but the rooms are quite average (only negative point, the noisy airconditioning)
Nevertheless it's a nice place to stay and here are some practical tips:

In the morning guests can enjoy a fresh cup of coffee, tea or cold water for free at the bar
For the breakfast we can recommend David's café, just around the corner.
The Japanese restaurant connected to the hotel is nice, but the amounts served are very small. So, it's nice for a snack especially during happy hour (the cocktails are also really nice)

Close to the hotel there is an art deco centre where you can make a reservation for a guided art deco-tour. To be honest we were disappointed. The guide spoke with a real heavy accent so it was really difficult to understand him and it seemed that he didn't really had his best day.
A good tourist guide and some searching on the internet about the most interesting buildings should do the trick. There is also an authentic dinner close to David's café. Don't miss that one.
And there is a nice and really quite walk in the old art deco area. Worth asking for it.

Enjoy it all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    390
    108
    47
    38
See reviews for
133
387
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silkeborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and we were very happy that we chose this hotel.

We arrived quite early and the staff was very quick to help us in with our luggage. We were told that we would probably not get our room right away but they would keep our luggage. No need for that though - our room was already ready so we were happy.

We booked a queen room which was a corner room on the 3rd floor. What a view - and not a lot of noise although the room was facing Collins Ave. The bathroom was fine altough it would have been nice to be able to open the window since there was no ventilation. Amenities were great and the bed was really good. We spent quite some time in the two comfy armchairs just looking at people on Collins Ave. - they also looked at us since the facade of the hotel is very famous for the Art Deco district. We had our photos taken plenty of times. We missed a fridge in the room but no big deal.

The breakfast was too "continental" for us - just croissants and muffins, yoghurt, fruit, juice - no bread or "real" food (too much sugar) but great coffee and tea which we brought to our room and ate with some bread and cheese. We attended the happy our twice and the patio is absolutely great for people watching and a cold beer.

The pool area was quite small but actually very nice and we spent a couple of hours there one afternoon.

While we were there, there were really many young people in the hotel - some of them studying architecture, we found out. Young people can be loud but they were not - we never heard any noise in our room.

Everything is within walking distance - we went to Espanola Way for lunch a dinner a couple of times as this area was really nice. The restaurants on Ocean Drive and Lincoln road seemed more or less same-same. 11th Street diner was also a good option for breakfast and dinner.

One strange thing about Miami Beach is that there are no places where you can just sit outside and enjoy a beer or a cup of coffee and do some people watching. They put plates on all tables so you have to eat something (or at least it looks so).

Essex House lived up to our expectations and compared to some of the pricing we saw on South Beach hotels, it was really value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a queen room if you want a little more space and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good location, great service, and the in house restaurant was also good. Of the four nights we stayed there, three of them I woke up to someone either throwing up, fighting, or screaming in another room or in the hallway. Thin walls are an understatement. Otherwise the hotel service is really the highlight. Very helpful and friendly staff with tons of recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is right in the action and as such is a little noisey. Southbeach as a whole is busy and noisey which we had not appreciated. Staff acted quickly when we complained about our neighbours playing very loud music in the early hours. They also moved us when another issue arose. They were very friendly and helpful overall
Rooms are good with comfy beds
Pool nice and bar staff are great
Only saw the free afternoon drinks on one five days we were there and never saw the free breakfast?!?
This hotel is good value for money and has exceptional staff if you don't mind some noise you are in a central location
Free towels for beach and free wi if was also excellent

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Essex house just one night, before we left on a cruise. We had never been to Miami and wanted to experience South Beach. After reviewing many hotels on TripAdvisor we decided to go with Essex house. Yes, it is an older hotel and yes, the rooms and bathrooms are small. However, it is in an excellent location and the staff were always friendly and helpful. With the hotel not being on Ocean Drive, we did not have to worry about the noise and were able to sleep just fine. For us, we did not spend much time in the room, so the size did not bother us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elba, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Essex House for 4 nights for our first time in South Beach. The location is perfect if you want to be right in the center of the action on SoBe. The spot is however pretty quiet when compared to other Hotels right on Ocean Dr (EH is on Collins). It is connected to the Clevelander, which is party central and you get access to their amenities for staying at the Essex House. The staff was very nice and made sure we had everything we needed... very accommodating. Happy Hour at 4:30 weekdays with free Sushi and Beer/WIne... we hit this up every day. Great restaurant in the hotel (Zen Sai) which we tried twice and both times was great. I would recommend this spot for anyone looking to visit SoBe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Had some issues with my room on the first night, they upgraded it without hassle and treated us very well at their Clevelander next door! Staffs were very friendly and helpful. What else can you ask for on holiday but to be treated like VIPs? :) -AY

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.