We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Art Deco hotel in very heart of Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Riga
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“great Art Deco hotel in very heart of Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

if you would like to enjoy some traditional Miami Beach hotels - stay at Essex House Hotel Miami Beach. It has been kept in traditional Art Deco style through years and I must admit it has been well preserved and maintained. Loby is charming, personnel on check in is friendly and helpful. I had excellent room with view to internal garden / pool and sidestreet. windows are double glass and you don't hear most of noises from the street. i got upgrade to superior room and its size was great for 6 nights stay. instead of watching tv, i can look through window and get a glimpse on Miami Beach street life and car-show! hotel offers complimentary breakfast, which was like traditional french style - pastry, jam, fruits, orange juice and coffee or tea. some draw backs of that beautiful hotel are - if you open window, you can hear ground floor restaurant music and bum bum noice from bar on Ocean Rd, room' carpet could be vacuumed better. but highly recomend this hotel due ambiance...

Room Tip: if you would like to have quiet rooms, than ask for rooms on ground floor 114... and around; but i l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    410
    113
    48
    38
See reviews for
127
374
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was delighted with my stay at the Essex House. Our suite was spacious, and extremely clean. The beds were fresh and comfortable. I loved the complimentary hors o'dourves, and wine
after coming In from the beach. One of my favorite things to do was sit on the inviting porch to read or just people watch. The Essex House staff was truly committed to making our stay comfortable and enjoyable, with a "how can I help you?" at every turn. Such a relaxing time, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Cheryl D,

Thank you for your review of the Essex House, we really appreciate it! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with us! We always strive to satisfy our guests, so our associates will be aware of your encouraging feedback. Also, we are glad that you enjoyed our location, porch and staff! We look forward to hosting you on your next stay with us at the Essex House!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days on South Beach, and had a great time at Essex House!
Its two blocks from the beach, and right on Collins and 10th; so its right in the middle of the action!
You can walk to either side of south beach within 20 minutes. We were able to walk to all bars, clubs and restaurants with ease.
With the stay at Essex House, you will also get free access to the Clevelander at night.
The staff is very helpful, and will give great restaurant and bar suggestions

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Vic R,

Thank you for your review of the Essex House. We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience with us and that you loved our location! Also, we are happy to hear that our staff was so helpful because we strive for excellent customer service. Our associates will be aware of your positive feedback! We look forward to hosting you on your next stay in South Beach!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greendale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From walking into the relaxing lobby to leaving four days later.was a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of Miami.The room was very clean and relaxing.The food at Zen Sai was great.All said.looking forward to the next time.The topping to a great stay is all the friendly staff couldn't have been better.Thanks, Zach.. Domingo , Jermaine , etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about the Essex House. We walked in and Domingo greeted us at the door with a welcoming smile and a helpful hand. Our room was very clean and neat, this is the first time I didn't feel the need to wipe everything down. The bed was so comfortable it almost made me wish for a rainy day to lounge and watch tv. Zen Sai, the in house restaurant, was amazing. Zack, our waiter, made some great suggestions based on our likes. I highly recommend the Alaskan King Crab Salad Roll! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Christina,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback of the Essex House! We are thrilled to hear that our staff was very welcoming, especially Domingo! Also, we are happy that you enjoyed your room and the restaurant. We are glad that Zack made your Zen Sai experience great. Thank you for recommending our hotel and restaurant! We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Started our vacation with 4 days at the Essex House. The customer service was excellent with Eric taking care of our car and luggage, Carmillo giving us a lovely room in the beautiful courtyard and the handsome bartender taking care of our drink needs (our son said "thank you" for the cokes!). The room was clean and very comfortable. The location was absolutely perfect in South Beach: a few steps to the gorgeous beach, the craziness of Ocean Drive, and the vast shopping choices of boutiques. After leaving and moving on to the next stop on our vacation, I wished that we had stayed the entire week at the Essex House. We now know about this gem of a hotel in South Beach for next year. Thank you, Ian, for making this vacation possible through your generousity. You have made customers and friends for life.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband & I stayed @ the Essex House for 4 nights in November 2012. The hotel was truly art deco and we enjoyed our stay here very much. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful to any of our needs. The rooms were on the small side, but very clean & ample. Great location to restaraunts and the beach. We booked through expedia and for $600 for 4 nights, this was great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Kwbc,

Thank you for your review of the Essex House. We are very glad to hear that both you and your husband enjoyed your stay so much! We always strive for excellent customer service so we are happy that the staff was so helpful and that the rooms were clean. We will let our associates know of your positive feedback. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to South Beach!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.