We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

this hotel is in a great location, walkng distance from ocean dr on south beach . rooms are very big , clean and comfortable . the staff is excellent thur out the entire hotel . julio sotelo manager at the zen restaurant and his staff is outstanding !!, the food and the drinks 5star , the happy hour there is a great way to start your evening . only 1 thing i was in room 222 great view but thin walls . i could hear the guy in the next room snoring lol

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    452
    127
    49
    42
See reviews for
153
469
42
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Essex House Hotel. 1st time in Miami and travelling alone I felt very safe here. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made my stay a real pleasure. The hotel is very central for all that South beach has to offer but was not noisy at all.
I would definately recommend this hotel and will stay here again if I am lucky enough to make it back to Miami.
I did a walking tour and this hotel was included in the tour, both inside and out due to it's original art deco structure and interior

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi jacqueline,

Thank you for the review of Essex House Hotel! We're thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and found our staff to be helpful and pleasant. We are big fans of the Art Deco Walking Tours, so we are happy to hear you had the opportunity to take one. The history behind our hotel as well as our neighbors is truly fascinating.

Safe travels!

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Really good location, just one block from the ocean. The hotel staff were very helpful and it was very clean. The daily happy hour in reception was also an added bonus.

The room was not huge and the bed not the most comfortable I have slept in, but all in all a great stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

What a wonderful location for the night before we cruised. It is located one block from Ocean Dr on South Beach, where all the action is. All hotel personnel were very helpful and the hotel itself is awesome. We will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We had spent forever looking through the reviews of the South Beach hotels and they were all very, very mixed until we found this one. The hotel is in a great location near the beach, near lots of shops and restaurants. The room wasn't overly big for the three of us but it was very clean and comfortable. The hotel wasn't noisy at all, this seemed to be a common problem in other hotel reviews.

The hotel has free wifi as well as a happy hour (=free drinks!) for an hour on week days.

I would definitely recommend staying in the South Beach area rather than downtown Miami if you're going to Miami.

We pre-booked a tour to Key West for a day and it was a highlight of the trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good location right near the beach park. A beautiful lobby welcomes the guest to the hotel. The rooms are smaller, but well kept. The elevator is ancient, but mobile! It is right in the middle of the action, and South Beach is a very walkable area with the Essex a great base to do this. Service at the surrounding restaurants is atrocious, but that isn't the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great hotel right in the middle of SoBe action. Whilst this might not be the W or the Setai the staff are excellent, the rooms are pleasant and the happy hour is a treat. The front desk staff were really brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly stay here again, particularly for the great price and location and typical Art Deco style.
Just one word of advice, the hotel is right next door to the Clevelander, a busy late night bar and there was some noise but nothing that a few ear plugs or just simply joining the action couldn't cure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.