We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend Celebration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
wilmington, de
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend Celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in November for a long weekend. The location of the hotel is great. One block away from the main strip and on Collins Ave with tons of shops. I was a bit concerned about noise but the suits are located in a courtyard area and it was away from the street.
The building itself is beautiful and the common areas are very comfortable and keep in charachter with the hotels art deco style. There's a great front porch with seating and that connects to the resturant/bar and pool. Nice place to lounge around and have a drink.
The room is set up like a studio and is very large. There is a seating area with a loveseat, two chairs and a coffee table. Our room had a very small wet bar area with a sink, kurig coffee maker and small refrig below. I read some reviews that the walls were very thin and you can hear the people next to you.... This is true. With the tv off you can hear people talking pretty easily. Our neighbors were pretty quiet so it didn't present an issue for us.
The bathroom was large and bright but was showing some signs of use. Nothing horrible but the tub had some large chips and the grout probably needs to be redone.
Overall, the hotel is very nice and in a good location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    398
    115
    47
    40
See reviews for
138
399
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We rented two suites for a milestone birthday. The suites like many of other reviewers have commented on are small and do not include a separate kitchen / living area. Our suite was on the top floor and it was very bright and almost wall to wall windows. The hotel staff was friendly and offered numerous suggestions for the area. The room was clean although both my husband and I commented on how "springy" the bed felt. The people in the other suite said their bed was awesome, so this may depend on what room you get.

We did not participate in the hotel happy hour (most restaurants have pretty awesome happy hour specials) but did hear other guests commenting on how nice it was.

The best part about this hotel is the location. We were close enough to everything in South Beach to walk. As a group and for the price of this hotel we would all stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with friends from Seattle and absolutely enjoyed our stay. Great location, outstanding staff, very helpful, enjoyed the daily happy hour and the opportunity to meet with other guests. Great views of the beach and surrounding area from their sister hotel next door. Will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A lovely hotel in the "Art Deco" area of Miami Beach. The quiet "sister" hotel to the Clevelander. Happy hour / free beer & wine runs from 4.30-5.30pm and includes light snacks. All the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you & receptionists were very helpful, even arranging for a softer mattress to be brought to our room after the first night. The only drawback is no parking - it has to be paid for at $25 per day. One block from the busy Ocean Drive and the lovely beach. A smashing place to stay for "Art Deco" enthusiasts!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful recommendation! We are pleased that you enjoyed our historic Art Deco architecture. South Beach truly is a wonderful area to explore for Art Deco enthusiasts. We are proud to have preserved our rich history and wonderful architectural features.

Excellent costumer service is one of our top priorities, and we are happy to hear that our front desk associates made you feel at home.

We hope to make your next trip to Miami just as enjoyable as this one!

Safe travels and best wishes,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's clean, people are really nice and polite. We stayed for three nights at the beginning of august and we have appreciated the location: few steps from the beach and the very crowded ocean drive. The standard room is in the average, bed was ok in a european style, the bathroom quite little but with a bathtube. Don't expect a great room....but you are there to spend your time outside!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

On arrival at the hotel we found the staff to be very helpful indeed. We were checked in by Bella who was extremely friendly. She gave us a voucher for one free drink each which included anything from the bar including cocktails. Also included was free hot snack each. We were also told that between 4.30 - 5.30 was Happy hour where they served beer and wine to hotel guests for free. The first night we decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant as we were quite tired and did not want to go looking for a restaurant. Boy are we glad that we did because the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Just one block from Ocean Drive and the beach. Also it is actually on Collins avenue and one block from Washington which both have great shopping. Overall very clean, friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good time in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juiz de Fora, MG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Essex House is one of the best boutique hotels of South Beach. Great location and friendly staff made may stay very special. Happy hour from Monday to Thursday was a big plus. Sister property has a cool lounge and rooftop to party all night.
Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Very quiet hotel, no matter the room you will be assigned to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.