We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff. Great choice in South Beach. Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Save Saved
You added Essex House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essex House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 bar credit
Ranked #34 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Brighton, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Excellent staff. Great choice in South Beach. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights at the end of September. I paid £531 for a room with 2 double beds; booked via Thomas Cook’s website. I had a really good experience; and have no complaints. The hotel has a lot of history – we even saw a tour group looking round the lobby. Al Capone played cards here. The staff were excellent - very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The computer in reception was handy and we were able to use printer at the front desk. The complimentary water, lemonade and coffee in reception, and beer and wine at the bar was a nice touch. I used the small pool a couple of times which was a nice relief from the humid weather. The beach is less than 5 minutes walk away, the restaurants on Ocean Drive are even closer – this hotel is in the ideal location. I ate in the hotel bar a couple of times. The hotel shares a kitchen and a menu with the sister hotel next door (The Clevelander). The food was tasty, well presented and reasonably priced. The room was a good size. The only improvement I would suggest would be to add a safe and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The room backed on to an alley so there was some noise from delivery vans and workers, but not enough to spoil my stay. We could hear the music from The Clevelander hotel – but only very faintly. The TV had a very good selection of channels and the bedding and pillows made for a comfortable night. I looked at loads of hotels before booking this one – there were some good deals in downtown Miami – but I am glad I chose South Beach as downtown seemed to be just a business district and was very quiet at the weekend. If I returned to Miami I would definitely choose South Beach, and would be pleased to stay at The Essex House hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    394
    110
    47
    38
See reviews for
134
392
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Oct 2011. The hotel is in a great position; just 1 block from Ocean Drive where all the bars and restaurants are, and the beautiful South Beach. So it’s less than 3 mins walk to the action, but not on the main strip so not too loud at night. The sister hotel of the Essex is The Cleavelander which is on the same block with a big bar/nightclub, and fantastic roof top bar which you can have access to as a guest of the Essex. In my opinion this is the best of both worlds; all the benefits of the busy bar, but slightly removed from the noise if you want an early night. It’s also 5 blocks from all the shops, bars and restaurants of Lincoln Road Mall. Our room was big, and very modern. The lobby and communal areas are all wonderfully art deco. There is a small pool, but really as you’re 3 mins from the beach the size of the pool doesn’t matter. We really enjoyed the covered outdoor terrace for an evening drink especially when the tropic rain was making its presence felt.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the quite side, which was good. But our room had an adjoining door which did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice location, you can walk to beach but are not on Ocean Drive in the middle of party mob.
There is a bit of party noise, but this was fully ok in October.
Rooms + lobby nicely done, apparently all recently remodeled.
Front desk very welcoming and efficient. Free welcome drink, free beer + wine each night plus happy hour for other drinks.
Free wifi.
No coffee maker or fridge in room.
Valet parking I guess ok for this area, takes about 10 minutes to get car.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey, usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

The perfect art deco lobby greets you as you enter the lobby of the Essex. Look to the floor and follow the famed arrows to the best mojito you've ever had. Brogan, master of the bar, spins a cocktail full of freshness, made by hand each time. We spent a lovely evening waiting out the rain, cheered by his amazing cocktails. A great place!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear cape_may_black_dog,

Thank you for the feedback about your experience at the Essex House hotel bar. We are glad that you enjoyed Brogan’s amazing cocktails! Next time you’re in Miami, we hope you’ll join us again for happy hour which is 4-9pm daily. We look forward to your return and more fun!


Best,

Shana M.
Essex House Hotel Mgmt.
Clevelander and Essex House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

this hotel had excellent service and it was a great location to experience south beach. the ocean is very accessible, great complimentary coffee bar in the morning, and flavored water during the day in the lobby. I stayed in what is labeled a suite, king bed, large sitting area, very spacious bathroom. there are excellent bathroom amenities, nice water pressure, jacuzzi tub, flat screen television, what more could you ask for. it is on the beach and older, so there is a minor mildew type sent, but you quickly adjust to it, and it was not even noticeable. there is a full welcoming bar in the lobby and an outside area to lounge around. i would stay there again.

Room Tip: i would ask if it faces the courtyard, how recently was it renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear jlm456,

Thank you for your feedback about your visit to the Essex House Hotel. We are a historical art deco boutique hotel in the heart of Miami Beach and we are very pleased to hear that you loved all of our amenities. One of our core values is ensuring a clean, safe and fun environment for our guests, and we welcome you to stay with us again when you return to Miami!

Best,
Shana M.
Essex House Hotel Management
Clevelander and Essex House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the Essex house for two nights during our stay at Miami because our first choice hotel 'The Hotel' was not available for two of our 5 nights.
We were happy having chosen the Essex house as alternative to our first choice as it became some kind of a second first choice in Miami to stay at, relax and enjoy.
The booking, check-in and check-out happened without any problems and the service at the reception was excellent, (friendly and helpful, explained everything in detail so no open questions after check-in).
When we arrived we got for both of the nights free wine and beer during after hour from 5pm to 7pm, which is not common in any of the other hotels. Our room was placed in the corner, right beside the lift. It was very spacious (assumedly due to the corner), clean and modern with a splendid view out of the window down to the small pool. Against some previous statements about noise we did not hear either the lift nor other people talking, maybe they did not differentiate between The Clevelander and Essex house when writing about noise.
One negative thing is that there is no in-room safe available. Valuables would have to be given to the central hotel safe at the reception, which is a bit inconvenient and not really common for a hotel of this class. We travel a lot in the US as well as in Europe and we hardly can spot hotels with no in-room safe facility.
The bed was very comfy and large.
Although we could have used the infrastructure (roof top bar and pool, all the other bars and restaurants) of the sister hotel 'The Clevelander' we never went there as it's more something for party people than for having a relaxing holiday ;-)
Towels for the beach could be obtained at the reception for free.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel was in mint condition. The bathroom was spotless and so was everything else. I must say it would've been nice to have a small table in the room, next to the chair. The air conditioner was new, but for some reason it kept on going on and off no matter how much we adjusted it. The staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. The pool was very small, but who goes to the pool when the beach is a block away?! I recommend going to Dave's Cafe for Spanish coffee; Cafe con Leche!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.