We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South beach vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalier South Beach to your Saves list
Cavalier South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“South beach vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The front dest was nice I didn't have to wait to check in took like 3 minutes bath room was small hot water all the time all rooms were ok if you go just to party nice location 2 minutes from the beach was noisy the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the noise that occurred during your stay, next time you come and visit please notify the front desk so we can take care of this immediately. We thank you for the kind words and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    51
    47
    103
See reviews for
25
69
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Of my great experience in south beach there is always a bad memory and this is the place. We decided try dinner here because a cute Brazilian girl offered a variety of seafood
But my first impression was not good the menus sheets were shabby and the board was handwritten like.......
No words
The waitress I can't remember her name zulyn or merlyn Evlyn has been the worst service in my life.
Food was different that we ordered she was to forced us to order drinks and she wasn't happy because we didn't do it. Never saw her again the food runner didn't understand English the other waitress said it wasn't her table and the bill added 18% tips
We weren't agree to pay her tip but in a grotesque rude way said it was mandatory.

I decided to make the review to the hotel because the guy at the front desk said that the restaurant was part of the hotel because they aren't more the crabshack.

Please people avoid this place

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to write a review on your dining experience. We have added wonderful seafood options to the menu and are clients seem to be extremely happy with our new choices. I apologize that you did not have a well experience here with us due to the water and how she was acting. The waitress that was assisting you, it was her 2nd day and she was in training and its unfortunate that you experienced this type of service here at our restaurant. The waitress is no longer working here for reasons of such and therefore we hope that you come back to join us one more time. We have great service and our food is amazing! Next time in Sobe reach out to me and I will make sure this never happens again. Thank you again for taking the time as we appreciate all feedback and are always wanting to improve to be the best in all of Ocean Drive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I and mi fiance stayed in this hotel only few hours, we just couldn't stay longer. We arrived late at night and at 9am we already were after check out. Location is good, but nothing else. Once I entered the room I knew that something is not right. Very uncomfortable beds, old bed linen, the bathroom was so small and dirty, disgusting toilet, this one was the worst, they never cleaned after previous customers, awful .... I couldn't imagine my 4 days vacation in hotel like this one.
The good thing is that they returned my money, they charged us for 1 day, and we were there 6 hours. I do not recommend this hotel to couples who want to spend a nice time in Miami.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your standards and that you never stayed with us. We are historical property on South Beach and hope to be the best 2 star hotel here. Our rooms are outdated however I can guarantee we are very clean. Our housekeeping department is very well trained and do extensive cleaning and detailing in all rooms for all our guests. Our bed linens and towels are changed on a daily basis for all guests so I am not sure that you saw old sheets since they are new and fresh. Our hotel has outdated furniture however we are very clean and we offer the best customer service. If you wish to further discuss anything with me please contact me at the hotel. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The 1 elevator was old school with a low weight max so only 2 people and luggage could get on it and you had to pull cross hatch gate. Let's just say we only used it once and walked the stairs up and down thereafter. Good things: the check in guy was cute and they held luggage 4 me and my 2 girlfriends behind the VERY small check in counter area when we 1 st arrived until our room was ready. Also the their friend green beans are really good. The room left a lot to be desired. The bathroom was worse. Tub seen many and much better days and the door to close off the bathroom from the room had a section cut out just so it would swing past the toilet and close...lol. lighting in the room was very dim and our view was of the building next door, right directly into another person's room. No microwave or fridge in the room. No swimming pool or amenities such as workout room. We had no clue how to control the ac... it seemed to be on it's own timer. This was my 1st visit to MIA and South Beach so I take 4 better rooms/hotel, you pay a hefty pretty penny. This hotel is right on Ocean Drive.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our service as well as the restaurant. Our hotel is a historical property on Ocean Drive and we will soon be undergoing renovations to make it even nicer for our guests and customers. We are working very hard in making sure our guests are happy and we appreciate your detailed feedback. We hope next time you come to South Beach and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My first greeting was a grotesque woman wearing sunglasses and tell us that we can park the car for 5 minutes to make the check in we explained that it was while we were doing the check in and then we moved the car but rudely told us that we had to move the car NOW

Juan the front desk guy and the waiter oscar helped us w our bags
The first impression of the room was a really old school tv guys we are in 2014 and the room smelled to Clorox and the bathroom are in are ugly

Next day at 7 am they don't had beach towels because the laundry opened at 9 am wth so no towels.

The restaurant the food is regular quality the breakfast is small portion for the price and the special lunch is bad 7.96 and next day 11.96 for the same is ridiculous and waited for 50 minutes.

The service is really good oscar explained us that the kitchen was delayed and was constantly w the water really good service because the restaurant was full and all the people was angry and he was talking to all costumers

Stephanie and Juan for the front desk excellent service guys well except for the lady w the sunglasses where is her education and please don't use sunglasses to talk w the costumers please.....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your detailed feedback and will work to make sure next time you do not run into any of those issues. We will soon be renovating the hotel in making sure it exceeds our customers expectations. Our staff offers the best service and cleanest rooms in south beach and we are always ready to assist our clients with anything they need. Our hotel is an older historical property and soon we will be renovating, right now we are focusing on being the best 2 star property on all of Ocean Drive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

arriving at this hotel, we thought it was okay. we got there at 1030 but check in wasnt until 3pm, however they had a room available by 1130. elevator was not working so we had to carry luggage, thankfully we were only on second floor.. walked into the room and it was soo tiny :/ two beds, a small closet and a small bathroom... also a tv that was no more than 13 inches big, and than they have the nerve to have it up on the wall. i'd be surprised if you would even be able to watch a show without squinting. we are in 2014 cavalier, where are your flat screens?! wasnt even a decent bathroom... paint on wall was all dirty and chipped. 1st day there i noticed almonds on floor, along with a cigarette burn on bed sheets. 2nd day we had sand all over the bathroom floor from our bathing suits. Now, although we had put out the "maid service needed" sign, the 3rd day the almonds were still on the floor, the bed sheets still had same cigarette burn, which means they didnt change the sheets(not sure if they do that on a daily basis or guest by guest, but would atleast be nice since nothing else was being cleaned) and sand was still on floor. Not to mention we didnt even get any new clean towels, we had to ask them for the towels on our own. overall experience was okay because we spent most of it outside of the hotel. Also our last day there, we decided to have breakfast just because it would be more convenient for taxi, breakfast was really good, however it was only a bacon egg and cheese sandwich with potatoes on the side. sorry to say i will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello and Thank You for taking the time to write a review. Recently there has been a new ownership change and we are in the process of tackling all these issues to make sure our guests are satisfied. We appreciate all feedback, and therefore make the changes necessary. We have excellent and professional front desk that can asset you with anything that you need. As for the housekeeping, we detail thoroughly all rooms and we change all linens on a daily basis and add new towels to your room as well. If you need more we can provide that to you as well. I am not sure why the housekeeping on that day was not up to par but we will find out and make sure it never happens again to any of our guests. Cavalier Hotel is a historical property on Ocean Drive and we are going to renovate it but yet restore its natural art deco beauty. We hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit as I am sure you will enjoy the hotel, the city, and our services. Thank You again for your comment and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I don't think the room has been updated since the building was built We stayed here after a cruise and I think the bathroom is smaller than what we had in the cruise. The TV was an old school tube TV. The towels they provide for the beach are regular white bath towels. The elevator did not work so we had to carry our suitcases up the stairs.

We got their early so, we where in the restaurant for a good two hours. The main waiter, Im assuming must be related to the owner in some way because, the way he was talking to the rest of the staff was horrible. I was so embarrassed for them.

We couldn't sleep do to other guest being so loud in the hallway. We where in room 210, it was impossible to take a nap. Their is a parking garage towards the back and car alarms kept going off.

It is towards the end of ocean drive, not as active as the middle but not too bad of a location.

Prefer to pay a little extra and stay at Congress.

Never again will I stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello and Thank You fro taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had here with us. We have recently taken over this property and are in the process of updating all the issues that you have mentioned. We appreciate your feedback so we can better the over all experience for our guests. We hope next time you come to Miami you chose to stay with us as we continue to work hard and improve the hotel. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalier South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier South Beach

Address: 1320 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavalier Hotel is a historic boutique hotel in the heart of Sobe on Ocean Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cavalier South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Miami Beach
Cavalier Miami Beach
Cavalier Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.