We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE CAVALIER IS DISGUSTING!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier South Beach

Save Saved
You added Cavalier South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavalier South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE CAVALIER IS DISGUSTING!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Cavalier is by far the worst "hotel" I have ever seen. Yes, the location is great, but our room was dirty, dark and looked like a prison cell. There was mold on parts of the ceiling and walls. The pillows and sheets must have been used hundreds of thousands of times, as they were thin and dingy. Only about half of the lights worked. There were cracks in the ceiling and paint chipping off the wall. The room was just in general disrepair.

When we got back from dinner, we informed the manager about the despicable conditions and told him we were going to a different hotel. Fortunately, he agreed to refund the 3 nights we had paid for, so luckily we didn't have to spend a single night there.

Do yourself a favor and spend a little extra on a reputable establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    47
    47
    96
See reviews for
22
63
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

Having traveled to south beach a numerous amount of times I decided to stay here because of its close location and price. The hotel is on ocean drive and close to all of the excitement going on on the strip. A restaurant is located in the lobby area of the hotel which by the way have breakfast deals in the morning and great drink specials in the afternoon. The rooms were average, the AC thank goodness was working during my stay and the beds were not that comfortable. I had some difficulties working the TV (the tv seemed old ) and during the mornings the hot water would not run as often. Heck who needs hot water when you have the beach across the street right? Other than this my stay was okay. Additionaly I would recommend, if you are looking to travel to relax avoid staying on ocean drive around march. According to the hotel a music conference is in town during late march and it does get a bit noisy and crazy in the hotel and on ocean drive.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cavalier for one night while extending our vacation after a cruise ending at the Port of Miami. The property is located on Ocean Dr. directly across the street from South Beach and amidst the famous Art Deco district home to many cafes, restaurants, bars and night clubs. The room was clean and featured working air-conditioning, Direct TV and offered beach towels for use. Other than that, the amenities were non-existent so to speak. The staff was very friendly and didn’t mind storing our luggage in their secure storage room while we hit the beach prior to check-in time. Aside from showering and sleeping, we didn’t spend much time in the room so the price and location was perfect for us! I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to travelers who are looking for more luxury or who enjoy spending more down time at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at the Cavalier this past April while in Miami Beach for 4 nights before a cruise. We read all of the reviews both good and bad of this hotel and THOUGHT that we were prepared for the worse but were we? The front desk service was terrible at best. Rude young people with no personality was the norm. The location and outside appeal of the place is very good but then you walk inside....The lobby, bar and sidewalk cafe are not bad but the rooms, that is another story all together!
The view of the street and the beach was fine but you could not open a window and it was real stuffy with NO air conditioning at all. The room was worn out and the paint on the ceiling was just hanging in long strings of peeling paint. We literally laughed at how bad the room was but we were hell bent on making the best of it, we came fore warned. The second night night I awoke to a screaming wife that swore a "big bug" fell of her face while sleeping. We threw back the sheets and there it was, a huge roach looking bug crawling around on the bedspread. Our stay here makes for great stories to tell friends and family afterwards but would not do it again!!! Do what we were warned...spend the extra money and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on honeymoon on the way to ft lauderdale. Room was very basic and definitely had some cleanliness issues - floor had a super sticky feel, bathroom had it's share of mould, paint was peeling off walls/tiles. Price was cheap so we didn't really care about that stuff on this occasion as we planned to spend most of our time out and about. What I wasn't ready for however was the amour of noise that goes on at night here. Full on domestic in the hallway the first night that went uninterrupted for 20min at 2am. All other nights, noise from the front bar, adjacent places, and tenants partying pretty hard. Good for a backpacker style stay but couples and families (especially) should avoid.

Also, check your bills when dining at the surrounding restaurants. We ate in this area 6 times and 5 times there were issues with addition, promotions not being factored, tips calculated prior to '2-for-1', etc. We didn't eat at Cavalier so not a reflection on them - just be aware when in the area.

It wifi is also important for you, don't stay here also, or check that you can get it from your room first. Very flukey reception.

Room Tip: Second or third story towards the back of the building maybe to minimize bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We booked a trip to Miami for the Eagles/Dolphins game but also wanted to spend some time on South Beach the night before the game so we decided to stay at a place directly on South Beach. I knew from the star rating, price, and other reviews that most places like this aren't the best, but you get what you pay for basically. The only good thing about this "hotel" is the location. It's literally right on Ocean Drive with the beach directly across the street. It is on the South Beach strip which has so many good restaurants, clubs, bars.

The front desk lady was completely clueless and couldn't answer any of my questions regarding the $100 hold they put on your credit card. When I asked her for a copy of the form she said the printer was broken, how convenient. The elevator is completely scary and old. The room is small but its okay in size for those that wouldn't spend much time in there except to sleep. The bathroom is super tiny but thankfully clean. I read a lot of reviews about bedbugs so as soon as I arrived I immediately checked for them. While I didn't see any visible bugs, all I did for the two nights I stayed there was itch and got barely any sleep. The walls are so thin that at 4 or 5am you hear the people next door come back screaming and arguing or acting like complete drunken fools. If you want a good nights sleep this definitely isn't the place to stay. If you just need somewhere to rest your head and don't mind noise, then this place is okay to stay because it is cheap.

Do not expect internet because they do not have any available. The maids cleaned the room and were the only nice people there. It is just a run down "hotel" but decently priced if you're looking to be in the center of all of the action on South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Even though the price is right the service is horrible. The workers there don't speak english around you so it's really weird first of all. Secondly, the workers are rude, act arrogant (I don't know why really, it's just SouthBeach and they are 'workers".... they are not celebrities lol.)

Someone else mentioned a ratlike screeching sound coming from the vent system. This IS a problem constantly since the thermostat did not work at all. I tried turning it all the way up and all the way down but no response, it just kept running constantly. How annoying. The bathrooms are so very TINY don't even think about sitting on the toilet without rubbing up against the shower door and rubbing your elbow on the sink.

TERRIBLE Internet Service and most of the time NO INTERNET at all.

VALET Charges $25/day plus tips when you can park right behind the hotel for $20/day

On a positive note, the food was average but pricey and they have drink specials.... 2 for $10

Housekeeping Lady was the ONLY friendly one there that actually smiled.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavalier South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier South Beach

Address: 1320 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier South Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavalier Hotel is a historic boutique hotel in the heart of Sobe on Ocean Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Cavalier South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Miami Beach
Cavalier Miami Beach
Cavalier Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.