We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plaza Villa Good Value for your Buck” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Plaza Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added South Beach Plaza Villas to your Saves list
South Beach Plaza Villas
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Plaza Villa Good Value for your Buck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Good hotel for value. It is right behind the Ocean Drive strip so you get to enjoy the scenery without being bombarded by the noise and tourists. It is also right at the beach. Arrival at the hotel was on Sunday morning at 11 am and the check in was hectic with only one person working at the front to check in and check out all the guests, plus rent beach amenities and store luggages. There was no room to store the luggage at that time, so I was forced to leave my luggage out in the lobby. Thankfully, when I came back it was still there. The room has an old world feel with vintage lamps and hardwood floor. It was an upgrade from the lobby scene and quickly made me feel more welcome. The room contains a locker big enough to stow away your ipad. There was an extra socket in the washroom. If you need to plug in your device by your bed you’ll have to sacrifice a lamp.

This hotel is within walking distance to Lincoln Road Mall and Washington Street as well. It is clean, comfortable and safe. The workers are polite and attentive. There was a clog in the bathtub and someone came to fix it immediately. The continental breakfast is a no fuss quick meal. It was better than what I had expected. They offer fruits, coffee, milk, tea, muffins and quaker oat meal. Overall stay in Miami at this hotel is good and would recommend this hotel.

Things to note:
Hotel provides beach amenities, chairs, umbrellas, etc available for a rental fee
Beach towels are provided at no cost
Regular rooms do not have a fridge

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    47
    55
    30
    36
See reviews for
30
66
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed during spring break and I was very impressed with the customer service. I work at a hotel so I am all about how the staff treats the guest. To the front desk to the housekeeping to the concierge was amazing. The room was nice the only complaint would be that there is no fridge or microwave in the standard rooms. Otherwise its right in the middle of every thing you come to South beach for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The fact that this hotel was in the Art Deco area drew me in. I read mixed reviews and decided to take a chance. I was very pleasantly surprised that the positive outweighed the negative. I stayed in the king size room. There was a tub and it looked like it was recently renovated with fresh cauking, etc. It looked over the courtyard which was fine with me because it was quiet. I was on the 3rd floor.

The staff was so helpful and knowledgeable of local restaurants, sites to see, etc. Contrary to some reports about their 'FREE' contentinal breakfast, unless you like 2nd rate free cooked breakfasts, their selection was very health conscious and I appreciated this. There was fresh fruit, juice, blueberry & banana muffins, yogurt & oatmeal. For those wanting sweets, there was fruit danish, begals with cream cheese & butter. Their coffee was fresh & delicious. They also tea or milk if you wish.

The beach is a block away and the Ocean Drive scene is right there if you like a youthful crowd. Espanola Way is 2 blocks away if you desire a variety of latin cuisine. Lincoln Rd. is 3 blocks away for many boutique shops.

I have to mention their bar because of their selection of drinks and a barmaid with a personality and a half! Her name is Dali (forgive me if I spelled it wrong!) and she can make any top shelf cocktail you want.

Do not expect a brand new modern hotel, instead accept that this hotel is a piece of history artfully decorated to represent a long gone era and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I was in 307 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, helped us navigate and offer ideas for bike routes to Biscayne Bay. Our room on the 1st floor was beautiful and quaint. Our friends room on the 3rd floor was old and outdated. Loved having complimentary wine on the patio from 5-6 everyday. Walking distance to everything in South Beach. A couple of suggestions: have orange juice instead of sunny d for breakfast, invest in a waffle maker (cheap and good for business). Another suggestion to improve business and repeat customers is to consider having a hot tub or two in the courtyard area instead of having the cabanas that were never used when we were there. That would be an amazing addition!!

Room Tip: First floor has some nicely renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had to switch flights to beat storm in NY that never came. Since I was arriving at 9:45 pm, all I needed was a clean room with a good bed. Went on Hotwire and got Beach Plaza. Perfectly fit bill. Nice double room, clean, comfortable bed, good AC, decent breakfast. Lovely front desk staff. Great location. Good moderately priced choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Tiny rooms- dirty floors- but there was some road/ building construction going on.
Be sure to request a room away from the street! Collins is quite busy especially Friday and Saturday night. ( I am thankful I had ear plugs). Continental breakfast was a disappointment - sunny d for orange juice and publix bagels. Jerry's Famous Deli is just a block away-
Location is the best- 1 block from Ocean Dr Restaurants and beach - and Espanola Way and Lincoln Rd are easy walks. Great for people watching- that is for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I needed a great value to do business in South Beach. This property answered the call. For reasonable money I got reasonable value. The room was right. The bed was right. The location is terrific. You can be very happy here.

On arrival I spoke to the hotel manager and mentioned I wanted a very nice room. He supplied me with one. I was very pleased. The valet parking was a plus and only $5 more than self park. The people were very nice to a person.

The hidden value here is that the location is right next to the 14th St bathhouse on the beach. I think this is a big thing. It is also near a great Starbucks for breakfast and midday coffee. If you want South Beach this is a great value.

One warning... yes, breakfast is included. It is very basic and health nuts will not be satisfied. It is fine to fill up children and non-discriminating adults. Count it a plus if you don't want to buy your breakfast. Free is free and that is a good thing.

All in all I would be happy to recommend and happy to come back. Good job here by the hoteliers.

Room Tip: Ask the manager at the front desk for a plaza view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Address: 1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Plaza Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.