We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Plaza Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added South Beach Plaza Villas to your Saves list
South Beach Plaza Villas
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have been bringing my family to south beach plaza hotel since 2007 and everytime we stay here the staff is great rooms are always clean!. Sabastian is the absolute best I have came back every year to the same hotel for seven yrs in a row an wouldnt go any where else. This hotel doesnt have a pool or hot breakfast but u have a friendly staff and the beach is less then 5 min away. Plus ocean dr is right there for your own convience. If your staying to party and see south beach! This Location is PERFECT!!! This is truely my second home will be back 2014!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    44
    53
    28
    36
See reviews for
29
61
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location, it's 1 block from south beach and all the sobe amenities. Good continental breakfast, the crew is excellent always willing to help. Free internet helps. Parking for $27 a day is reasonable given the parking situation in sobe.

I wish: rooms were little bigger, the internet login credential didn't need to be entered during every new login and the concierge was less salesy.

Overall happy with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent location, only a block from the beach, walking distance to restaurants and nightlife. Our room was clean, comfortable and cool. Room and bathroom updated. Had a nice bar in the lobby and a great porch to sit and enjoy. Staff was friendly and very accomodating. We arrived 3 hours prior to check in and the held our bags. Also held our bags when we checked out and had 2 hours kill. Would stay there again, and again...

Room Tip: Elevator is small. Recommend first floor room - no view but convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent location to the beach and various attractions. The hotel is currently going through a restoration in the courtyard, but this does not effect hotel guests in anyway, leaving the possibility of a nicer outdoor section. Construction along Collins, no fault to the hotel, makes it slower than usual to drive to the hotel.

Sebastian at the front desk shined at his guest service attitude, very professional,which reflected in every way possible in the most positive manner possible in his handling of guest services. A true asset to the hotel!

My only comment is the shades within the room- they could be better, in order to insure not so much light comes in; makes it harder to sleep. The rooms are nice, classic look and feel, but still modern.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, I think you will be very happy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our stay was very pleasant. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the proximity to the beach is great. Our room was clean. We appreciated the hardwood floors in our room as we were always tracking sand back to the room. The hotel is older, and if you come expecting it to be like a modern Hilton, you will be disappointed. The bathroom is smaller and less fashionable than new hotels. Breakfast was free and typical for many hotels: bagels, muffins, yogurt, juice, hot water for oatmeal, and coffee. If you need more than this to be happy, you need to plan on going out to eat or stay somewhere else. There are many restaurants nearby. You need to be aware that you are staying right on South Beach, which is a party kind of place on the weekends. Depending on your room location, you will hear outside noise (music, people laughing, etc.). It was not an issue for us, but we live in a house full of teens and are used to a bit of noise while we sleep. We did not hear much room to room noise, except while in the bathroom we could occasionally hear the neighbors. The front porch of the hotel is a nice place to sit, eat breakfast and watch people. Parking at South Beach is tough. We paid the $25/day valet parking at the hotel. It was well worth the expense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was very sceptical reading the negative comments about this place, we came hoping for the best. At the reception we immidediatly asked for a quiter located room, we were told our room was at the back by the garden. Our luggage was taken up to our room by a very polite bellboy! Our room was awesum! Its was large with a sofa and had a kitchenette in. I assume we got one of the villas of beach plaza. Everything was really clean and smelled fresh. The bathroom was a good size to.
We had a king size bed which slept very comfortably.
The place is located on quite a busy street so a bit of noise is normal and acceptable.
Its also close to the beach, just one block away, unfortunately we had lots of rain so had to keep busy doing other things.

One downside of this hotel is definatly that it has no free parking. They offer a valet parking for $27.95/day which you can use as you please. If you dont use the valet service you have to leave your car on the street and pay per hour. The streets are also very busy around the hotel. Do make sure you dont leave valuables or small change in the car. Though we only had under $2 in coins (for toll routes) it went missing. Not making a big fuss about the coins that got stolen, but seeing you pay so much money for secure parking you atleast expect your car and everything in it to be safe!

Other than that great place to stay! Would recommend to anyone on a budget!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa they are bigger, and located toward the back so less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The front desk staff were very pleasant and the porch overlooking the main drag is a nice place to do some people watching. Like many others have commented the place needs TLC. Peeling paint, dingy, dirty corridors and the included breakfast is pathetic. The only thing we could eat were the fresh oranges. The walls are paper thin so we heard all the drunken teenagers coming back from the bars.
South Beach is a very expensive destination and our friends paid 5 times what we did to stay at the Ritz-Carlton for an average room. Don't know what to recommend. Pay something in between and stay on the beach to really enjoy what this place has to offer.

Room Tip: Save up and stay someplace decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Address: 1411 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Plaza Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.